bf-blender / Windows (2004/06/28) and YafRay Windows

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

bf-blender / Windows (2004/06/28) and YafRay Windows

Post by jesterKing »

Hi,

jandro has done a great job in finding and fixing the bugs holding good cooperation between yafray and blender through the plugin interface on Windows back.

There's a newer build!
http://www.letwory.net/cvsbuilds/bf_ble ... yafray.zip
(this time zip, but I don't like it, so next build by me will be packaged tar.gz again).

This package has all of newest CVS (update a few minutes before the day turned 28th on me), including jandros fixes. The package also contains a subdir with the yafray executable, which I built from yafray cvs, also the few minutes before the day turned 28, with MSVC.

To be able to use this you must have already yafray installed. Make a backup copy of your current yafray dir, and copy the contents of this packages yafray directory over your current installation. Then use blender, choose yafray to be your renderer, and disable XML. And marvel at the updating yafray render, where you can see the fake pass with photons etc.

BTW, only one processor is supported for this, don't try the multiprocessor thingy, it won't work.

Enjoy!

/jesterKing
Last edited by jesterKing on Mon Jul 05, 2004 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

A2597
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by A2597 »

I got the error "zlib.dll not found" when trying to use yafray as blender's renderer.

and does this have the focal blur added to it?
The man with his head stuck in the Blender.

wavk
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:58 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wavk »

Same here, zlib.dll not found, so I searched for that file and found it in a couple of places on my hard disk. So I copied that to the yafray dir, but then it gave me another error:

YafRay:Render: blender.exeEntrypoint not found

Could not find entrypoint of function __getreent in DLL-file cygwin1.dll.

OK

When pressing the ok button, this message keeps popping up.

EDIT: Hey, that's strange, immidiately after dismissing all those error messages, I again rendered, and it just worked, perfectly!

kencanvey
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:54 am
Location: Smethwick West Midlands UK

Post by kencanvey »

In the first post it says disable XML, then you wont get the error :D


Ken

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

A2597 wrote:I got the error "zlib.dll not found" when trying to use yafray as blender's renderer.

and does this have the focal blur added to it?
Oops, forgot to add that one. You should have this with an existing blender install.
A2597 wrote:and does this have the focal blur added to it?
Nope.

/jesterKing

@ner
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 7:47 pm

Post by @ner »

thanks JK

------------edit-------------------->

sorry - not working for me.

------------edit-------------------->

works fine - pics soon
Last edited by @ner on Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Luis
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 2:04 am

Post by Luis »

Hi.

I have a YafRay installer package available for download:

YafRay-20040627.zip

Maybe somebody find it more easier than "copy and replace" old YafRay installation.

Luis.

JA-forreal
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:45 pm

Post by JA-forreal »

Luis wrote:Hi.

I have a YafRay installer package available for download:

YafRay-20040627.zip

Maybe somebody find it more easier than "copy and replace" old YafRay installation.

Luis.
Oh Snap!!!!!! Thanks Luis and jesterKing for this good stuff!

Blend on!

infinder
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 8:58 am
Contact:

Post by infinder »

Where should i unzip the python23.zip file?
Blender freeze while starting rendering with yafray.
Win98se
Python2.3.4

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

infinder wrote:Where should i unzip the python23.zip file?
You are not supposed to unzip it.

/jesterKing

GFA-MAD
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 7:59 pm

Post by GFA-MAD »

Great ! Now we can seed the render in progress ! I like it !

Thanks for this special built jesterKing

GFA-MAD
French user, visit www.blender.clan.st !

kencanvey
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:54 am
Location: Smethwick West Midlands UK

Post by kencanvey »

Starting scene conversion.
Scene conversion done.
What follows is all that happens when I try to render either a simple or complex scene.
-
No export directory set in user defaults!
Yafray found at : C:\PROGRA~1\YafRay\
Writing textures
Starting YafRay ...
Loading grammar ...
Trying open grammar C:\Program Files\YafRay\gram.yafray
Starting parser ...
Parsing OK

Loading plugins ...
Registered arealight
Registered basicblocks
Registered basicshaders
Registered blendershaders

-
It just stops there and does nothing else, yafray is in my path and all that, any ideas?

Ken

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

Looks like you're using the xml exporter. You have to disable XML in the yafray render panel. Have you also made sure that you use the yafray that comes with the package?

/jesterKing

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Post by solmax »

very cool :) 8)

reminds me a little of mental ray, or maya's internal renderer..

great job!!

mairn

kencanvey
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:54 am
Location: Smethwick West Midlands UK

Post by kencanvey »

Yep everything is as it should be, yep still the same :?


Ken

Post Reply