Page 2 of 4

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:44 pm
by lucky3
thanks for the build, gabio. A long list of changes yet! Blender developpement is really fast, i'm almost sure faster than Maya or 3dsMax and all commercial software.
Usagi wrote:The "use alpha" problem with image textures which I reported in the threads for the 2004/07/05 and 2004/07/09 release still exists.
Try to report that in the Bug Tracker.

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:53 pm
by jesterKing
lucky3 wrote:Try to report that in the Bug Tracker.
This has already been noted. It'll be worked on whenever someone gets to it.

/jesterKing

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:14 pm
by blendix
pildanovak wrote:The Lscm is perfect, only when there are more seams(eg, if you select all faces and make them all seamed, so, in fact each face=1 UV island), the uvs get scaled down to little points.
You just found a bug! I have it fixed now. Also made packing a little denser. But this still isn't really what it is supposed to be used for, of course.

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:53 pm
by Usagi
jesterKing wrote:This has already been noted. It'll be worked on whenever someone gets to it.

/jesterKing
Thanks! :D

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 9:54 pm
by OTO
Sure I like what you're doing!!!

I only hate you a bit, cause you don't post LINUX builds :)

Thank you

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:45 am
by ElBarto
Great Gabo! I have been waiting for that!

Just a question How does all th mixing of material, ramp and textures work? What is the first and what is the last?
I created a Ramp for diffuse that simulates old rusted metal and using a image as a bump map (nor) and set the mode to darken but the bump is anywhere and not only at the darken areas of the ramp.

Morde modes for the ramp needed like the texture now has:
Screen, Lighten, Darken, Div, Diff

Small interface bug:
at the Ramps Multiply called "Mult", at texture "map to" called only "Mul"

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:01 am
by birras
its getting better and better
with the new ramp shader I had a aluminium lookalike material wthin 3 seconds

as for LSCM :shock:

just in case somebody missed the tuhopoo thread:

http://www.blender3d.org/cms/lukep_test.323.0.html

bit + info bout LSCM
I must admid, (I´m not puttin down the other developed improvements NO), on a personal level this seems to be the gratest improvement for artistic texturing, as it´ll save u a lot of time. A lot of time!

I´m most impressed by the speed the development has taken place-

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 5:29 am
by gabio
Well, give it two more years at this speed of development and Blender will actually become usable!! icon_wink.gif
What is "usable" for you? :wink:
Thanks gabio for the build and the short novel
Bof :oops: it look like long. but it's only 17 day long.
gabio, your binary release is practically secondary. The work you do on the summary is a must have. Thanks.
Yes, pp seams to like the the resumé stuff. as it's so easy to go and read the commit yourself. It's more of a "release note". so pp know what they have to test now.
*Continues to wait for DoF and real glows*

seriously, they should be part of blender, not a plugin....
You know Ton don't want. But the dof support for yafray has just been commited. look for the next build!
Blender developpement is really fast, i'm almost sure faster than Maya or 3dsMax and all commercial software.
Everything is relative.
Sure I like what you're doing!!!

I only hate you a bit, cause you don't post LINUX builds icon_smile.gif

Thank you
I tried to install a linux system in vmware on windows to get a working linux environement(and a build environement too) but i got problems with the X server. the mouse is not found.. anyway. try to run gentoo or fedora2 on vmware, that's a chalenge.If i have time,i'll reinstall redhat9, at least i know it's working (I can't dualboot so I'm limited). So in a near futur you may see: bf-blender Windows Linux (2004/0x/xx). I hope.

And for everyone else: thanks for feedback:much apreciated.[/quote]

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:25 pm
by thoro
The LSCM system is so useful - thanks for that!

And I tested the creases on one of my models. I replaced some of the 'looped edges' (2) by merging the vertices and creating a crease there (1). I set the sharpness to 1.

Image

As you can see, even with sharpness=1 the creases don't get as sharp as the looped edges. In my opinion it would be good to increase the maximum sharpness.

Thorsten

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 2:19 pm
by @ner
Carl wrote:GREAT!

But...when trying yafray, it asks for cygwin.dll. I do not have cygwin installed, do I need that??

Carl
here also.....

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 2:59 pm
by gabio
must have the latest yafray. that's all i can tell.

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 4:39 pm
by jesterKing
gabio wrote:must have the latest yafray. that's all i can tell.
built from CVS, of course. Those should be built with MSVC, so they don't need the cygwin1.dll. AFAIK it is necessary even for the plugin to work, that yafray is built with the same msvc version as blender.

/jesterKing

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:15 pm
by solmax
it seems this build has some difficulties displaying images with alpha channel in the viewport and in the UV-editor.. see the screenshot.

Image

the "original" is word (in german) which is clearly readable.

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 8:21 pm
by jesterKing
Usagi wrote:
jesterKing wrote:This has already been noted. It'll be worked on whenever someone gets to it.

/jesterKing
Thanks! :D
This should be now fixed in current cvs (5 mins ago commited):

from log:

"Rewound changes done in alpha calculus for texturemapping. This
worked OK for alpha coming from antialising (rendered) but failed to do
in other situations (alpha as blending, painted in gimp)"

/jesterKing

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 5:34 am
by gabio
jesterKing wrote:
gabio wrote:must have the latest yafray. that's all i can tell.
built from CVS, of course. Those should be built with MSVC, so they don't need the cygwin1.dll. AFAIK it is necessary even for the plugin to work, that yafray is built with the same msvc version as blender.

/jesterKing
yea... ok i see the message here. i'll do yafray too next time. i got msvc7, if interested.