bf-blender / Windows (2004/08/02) Pre Release 2

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2004/08/02) Pre Release 2

Post by gabio »

Relase minus 3 days. Enjoy this one as if it was 2.34...

New stuff:
-help menu!

Commit of bugfixes:
-broken
Log:
A hopefully less weird way of doing the selection mouse
button user preference
Log:
Help menu!

Thanks to Willian for integrating the webbrowser module.

Some of the URLs (Python reference, Release notes) will
need to be updated upon release. These are contained in
http://www.blender3d.org/Help/index.php

-ton
Log:
Circle select (B+B) had drawing error, a missing segment in the circle.

-broken
Log:
Panel layout tweaks courtesy of Chris 'Desoto' Burt, and
Emilie 'hmetalcowgirl' McDavid

-eeshlo
Log:
Reflection caustics did not work, fixed.
Note to users: even when you only want reflection caustics (metals/mirrors)
you have to set a IOR value higher than 1, similar to glass materials.
The higher, the brighter the caustics.

That should be it...

-siredude
Log:
Willian's patch for enabling the menus again.

-ton
Log:
Attempt #3 (or so) to solve the "weird buggy" hardness slider updates. :)

-ianwill
Log:
First of all thanks Kent Mein for committing the fix to space.c and Peter den Bak for reporting and testing it.

- making Blender not warn about 2.34 scripts, as Ton requested. Will turn this on again before release;
- small fix to the new helpwebsites and helpsystem additions in BPy_menus.c, should solve problem reported by Jean-Luc Peurière about empty menus on startup;
- updated version info of a few scripts to 2.34, since they use recently added bpython api functions.

-ton
Log:
Moved the drawing of size and diagonal of border select into the chunk
that draws the XOR border as well, this prevents unnecessary updates, and
makes sure all drawing uses a single glFlush()

Should solve redraw errors as reported by Goofster

-broken
Log:
Menu item for the sequence editor properties panel wasn't
showing in some circumstances - fixed and simplified.

-ton
Log:
Fixed small annoyances with drawing selection circle and paint brush.
With glflush() change as committed before, updates weren't that good
anymore. Solution is actually just flipping drawing order.

-aphex
Log:
Czech translation crashed blender on Windows - this file was committed
to cvs as text not binary (twice! :P)

-ton
Log:
- calculation of position within HSVCUBE button (picker) had wrong Y
coordinate, only noticable in Panel versions of picker

- the fix to give Transform properties new name "Paint" can't
work with this code... this due to fact that panel positions are saved
in files or looked up on re-open based on their names. Giving the Panel
a new new name then causes it jump to another position, and back on end
of painting.
Needs to be solved in another way. Not feasible for 2.34...

-ianwill
Log:
Script kloputils:
- translated tooltips from Spanish to English.

-broken
Log:
Tiny tweak to the selection mouse button prefs- put the
'left mouse' button on the left side, and vice versa :)

-eeshlo
Log:
Values for spherelight sampling were using incorrect blender lamp parameter.

-jesterking
Log:
* make sure all contents of bpydata are included in installer and archives

-broken
Log:
Smallest commit ever: Make the OB: text entry field in
transform properties floating panel maximum 19 characters rather than 18, to bring it in line with the
similar field in buttons_editing.c

----------------------
2.34 is up. Get you copy as soon as possible.
Check www.blender3d.org for download and release.
Last edited by gabio on Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

kencanvey
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:54 am
Location: Smethwick West Midlands UK

Post by kencanvey »

Thanks Gabio for this build.

Great work


Ken

Monkeyboi
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Post by Monkeyboi »

Outline Selected Objects is still off by default.. :(


However, the Help menu works like a charm! This is already one of my favourite new features of 2.34. Previous Help menu experiments were very slow on Windows, but this is speeding fast - excelent!

rednelb
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 1:34 pm

Post by rednelb »

hi there,
the turntable bug i wrote about some days ago is still present.
with turntable on: the more off centre i start orbiting the more slant gets the global z axis.
or this isn't bug?

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

rednelb wrote:or this isn't bug?
It's not a bug, it's a feature. ;)

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

matt_e
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by matt_e »

Monkeyboi wrote:Outline Selected Objects is still off by default.. :(
Ton promises it will be on when the version is updated internally to 2.34. It's apparently due to the way the code that ensures compatibility between versions of .blend files works.
However, the Help menu works like a charm! This is already one of my favourite new features of 2.34. Previous Help menu experiments were very slow on Windows, but this is speeding fast - excelent!
Good! It got into CVS just in the nick of time :)

@ner
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 7:47 pm

Post by @ner »

reflection causticsw still won't work for me...

KRUChY
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 5:13 pm

Post by KRUChY »

8) thx - i love yours builds... so when BLENDER 2.34 is coming ?? :D

I can't wait

thoro
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by thoro »

Thank you very much for this build.

Monkeyboi
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Post by Monkeyboi »

I had a thought regarding Subsurf Creases: Since it works like scaling now, how about it drawing a dotted line from the cursor to the center like normal scale? This would make it much easier to edit creases. Oh, and you can't edit crease value by hitting Tab after Shift+E for numeric values. How about it?

kalysto
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:26 am

Post by kalysto »

When I use yafray Gi with Area light there is no Area light, only Gi.
And sorry but where is that pink outline of selected object?
:?: :?:

ByeBye

:D
Good luck for the development :wink:

kalysto
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:26 am

Post by kalysto »

Ok for pink outline, i find it.

Sorry :oops:

But for area light i don't find.

:cry:

fritzman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:13 pm

Big flicker prob

Post by fritzman »

Hi,

thanx for the build!
I've got a big flicker problem when e.g. animation is played in the 3D view window or when I add armature/bones. GUI elements are moving in strange ways, things seems to go in and out of place very quick on and off.
This is on my PC with an ATI 9600 pro card with windows XP pro, on my other PC with a crappy I-dunno-card (XP home) there's no flickering.

Thanx in advance.


All the best, FRitz

CubOfJudahsLion
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 4:44 am

Post by CubOfJudahsLion »

Hey all. Long time blender-er but only yesterday decided to jump in.

I've found that the rendering of backgrounds seems to disagree with displacement mapping. For some reason, when I map a cloud texture to the background AND add displacement mapping in a simple scene (just a displaced sphere, camera and light), the background is rendered as a flat color. I disable disp.map. in the sphere material, and the background renders correctly.

Additionally, I'm using the new ramps for the sphere, ray-transparency w/fresnel and some diffraction, but the conflict is only apparent when disp.mapping is enabled/disabled.

Other than this, I feel like a kid in a candy store that just opened this morning and has new deluxe swiss caramels in the shelves.

Way to go, ppl. G'blez.

Mel_Q
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:00 am

Post by Mel_Q »

@ner wrote:reflection causticsw still won't work for me...
*edit: related image can be found at Elysiun.

If it's rendering like it's working harder, but you still don't see the reflective caustics, the photon lamp may just be to 'dim' to see. This drove me nuts all day. I thought mine wasn't working or I was missing something. It's working for me now, but only after increasing 'dist' or 'energy' to levels that don't seem 'correct'. Don't forget to adjust the 'ior' like mentioned in the notes above.
It does seem rather awkward to have to set the photon lamp to such high settings, but I have barely used them. Is this normal?

Post Reply