bf-blender 2.34 pre Linux glibc 2.2.5

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Michel
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:27 pm
Location: Somewhere below the rivers in Holland (but not Limburg)

bf-blender 2.34 pre Linux glibc 2.2.5

Post by Michel » Tue Aug 03, 2004 11:14 pm

Hi,

finally Linux binaries for blender 2.34 pre testing.
Note that the package names are renamed by me, but the directory content of the package actually still refers to 2.33a. So beware not to overwrite any existing blender installation.

Please give it a test and report any misfeatures or possitive results back in this thread! Thank you in advance.

Location: is here

With regards,
Michel
Last edited by Michel on Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
You can have one of two things: Progress or Progress Reports.

homebody
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 9:46 am

problem with libstdc++

Post by homebody » Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:09 am

it replies:
./blender: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

donn't know which version of libstdc++ can work with it, i'm using debian.

Mario1981
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:43 pm

Re: problem with libstdc++

Post by Mario1981 » Thu Aug 05, 2004 10:01 am

homebody wrote:it replies:
./blender: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

donn't know which version of libstdc++ can work with it, i'm using debian.
I'm using debian sid and it works well. The file libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 is in the package libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2 .

Generally, if a binary says that it cannot open a shared object file in debian you can search which package contains it from packages.debian.org

marpa
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:40 am

works mostly

Post by marpa » Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:45 am

Used the static version which seems to work fine. Yafray plugin did not work and crashed
blender, but i guess that is a blender bug.

Loading plugins ...
YafRay plugin loaded
Image allocated
Segmentation fault

used the new debian packages of yafray.

Michel
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:27 pm
Location: Somewhere below the rivers in Holland (but not Limburg)

Re: works mostly

Post by Michel » Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:00 pm

marpa wrote:Used the static version which seems to work fine. Yafray plugin did not work and crashed
blender, but i guess that is a blender bug.

Loading plugins ...
YafRay plugin loaded
Image allocated
Segmentation fault

used the new debian packages of yafray.
The version of Yafray needs to be 0.0.7 which is to be released real soon, or has just been released. If that's the version you've used, and the problem still exists, you've found a bug! Please report back which version of yafray you've used. Thanks in advance.

With regards,
Michel
You can have one of two things: Progress or Progress Reports.

marpa
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:40 am

bug

Post by marpa » Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:11 pm

Wanted to write it's probably a yafray bug, but i guess blender shouldn't crash too.
I'm using the new 0.0.7 debian package. Can't seem to compile yafray, i'll look into that
later this week,if needed.

amd 2000xp
debian sarge

aspifox
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 5:37 pm

Post by aspifox » Thu Aug 05, 2004 5:39 pm

Thanks for providing this build.

I do see one real bug, I believe. Keyboard fails to respond in the UV editing pane. Works okay in the other subwindows. Most odd.

aspifox
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 5:37 pm

Post by aspifox » Thu Aug 05, 2004 5:54 pm

aspifox wrote: I do see one real bug, I believe. Keyboard fails to respond in the UV editing pane. Works okay in the other subwindows. Most odd.
Looks like it's not 100% reproducable... that's a bummer.

Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Post by Apollux » Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:00 am

Post Mortem Question, for Michael. (already asked in the Maillist, but got no definitive answer -not even close to definitive).

Michael, was there any specific reason why the Linux faq was not included in the 2.34 bundle?

http://www.blender.org/pipermail/bf-com ... 07109.html

Michel
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:27 pm
Location: Somewhere below the rivers in Holland (but not Limburg)

Post by Michel » Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:07 am

Apollux wrote:Michael, was there any specific reason why the Linux faq was not included in the 2.34 bundle?
Hi,

yes, the reason why the Linux faq was not included was because I had forgotten about them :o
I will try to remember to include them for the next release.

With regards,
Michel (not Michael :wink: )
You can have one of two things: Progress or Progress Reports.

Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Post by Apollux » Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:25 am

Michel wrote:because I had forgotten about them :o
I will try to remember to include them for the next release.
Hmmm... uploading it somewhere into the CVS tree would help?


(I don' t have CVS access, but I guess you do).

Thanks for the replay, Michel :P

Tochiro
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:11 am

differences between linux version and windows version

Post by Tochiro » Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:46 pm

Hi!
why the version for linux not have the blenderplayer?
why save runtime it does not work?

why???
sorry for my bad english

Khiraly
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:18 am

Blender crash, if I use directly yafRay

Post by Khiraly » Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:29 am

Hi,

blender crash with segmentation fault, if I use yafray directly from blender (wihtout using the .xml file)

I have downloaded this:
http://download.blender.org/release/Ble ... 386.tar.gz
and this:
http://www.coala.uniovi.es/~jandro/nona ... 86_sid.deb

I use debian sid.

Here is the backtrace (which I have obtained with gdb):

Code: Select all

Starting scene conversion.
Scene conversion done.
(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
Loading plugins ...
YafRay plugin loaded
Image allocated
(no debugging symbols found)...
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 16384 (LWP 2551)]
0x0842f310 in basic_string<char, string_char_traits<char>, __default_alloc_template<true, 0> >::replace ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0x0842f310 in basic_string<char, string_char_traits<char>, __default_alloc_template<true, 0> >::replace ()
#1  0x084c581c in yafrayPluginRender_t::writeMaterialsAndModulators ()
#2  0x084e83a8 in yafrayRender_t::exportScene ()
#3  0x084a028b in YAF_exportScene ()
#4  0x082563e1 in yafrayRender ()
#5  0x08256414 in render ()
#6  0x082572e2 in RE_initrender ()
#7  0x081889f9 in calc_renderwin_rectangle ()
#8  0x08188bd6 in BIF_do_render ()
#9  0x081c546a in do_render_panels ()
#10 0x081ac7c3 in do_butspace ()
#11 0x0819780d in winqreadbutspace ()
#12 0x0819b469 in scrarea_do_winhandle ()
#13 0x0813569a in scrarea_queue_redraw ()
#14 0x081361b0 in reset_autosave ()
#15 0x08136860 in screenmain ()
#16 0x080ee742 in main ()
#17 0x403a0dc6 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6
(gdb) 
If I can help it more, let me know how (with which program, or which command of gdb)

Best regards,
Khiraly

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Tue Aug 10, 2004 8:27 am

Yes, the crash is due to different compilers used for the two packages. This problem has already been noted several times and we're looking into a solution.

/jesterKing

Michel
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:27 pm
Location: Somewhere below the rivers in Holland (but not Limburg)

Re: Blender crash, if I use directly yafRay

Post by Michel » Tue Aug 10, 2004 8:29 am

Khiraly wrote:blender crash with segmentation fault, if I use yafray directly from blender (wihtout using the .xml file)

I have downloaded this:
http://download.blender.org/release/Ble ... 386.tar.gz
and this:
http://www.coala.uniovi.es/~jandro/nona ... 86_sid.deb

I use debian sid.
Hi,

this is a known problem. Yafray is compiled with a newer gcc and glibc than Blender. We're currently looking into solving this issue. The most likely outcome will be that Blender will be built with the same versions of gcc and glibc.
Until that time you'll have to recompile Blender and/or Yafray yourself to get this working. Sorry for the inconvenience.

With regards,
Michel
You can have one of two things: Progress or Progress Reports.

Post Reply