bf-blender / OS X 10.3 (2004-09-24) Face select edge select

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

matt_e
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by matt_e » Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:56 pm

It's already been fixed in CVS, and the result is, well, awesome :)

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Thu Sep 30, 2004 5:26 pm

Sounds good Broken - eager to try it out:

Anyone have a compiled OS X 10.3 version for little moa to test?

"hint...I'm not a programmer...I read the compile thread and
went hastily back to creating organic animatable characters".

zbgump
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:15 pm

Post by zbgump » Sat Oct 02, 2004 5:08 pm

I compiled BF yesterday, and it seems that vertex loop select isn't working.
Anyone have a compiled OS X 10.3 version for little moa to test?
Joongle, I don't have space to host, but I can email it to you. PM me if you want it.

edit: I see that theres no PMing on these boards.

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:22 pm

zbgump - thank you. Don't worry about it though, I keep testing it
on my windows machine as well. It was just a bit impractical in
the weekends because my windows computer have to be at work
and at home I only have the Mac powerbook to test with.

Thanks anyway though :)

stratacator
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:45 am
Location: Los Angeles

Selected edges not displaying as selected

Post by stratacator » Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:50 am

As the subject says, selected edges don't appear to be selected, sometimes. I was testing out the new selection modes (which, by the way, are what I have been waiting for before really diving into Blender) on the default cube from the top view, and when selecting one of the edges, it seems, I think, that the bottom edges are only ever selected, after which the top unselected edge is redrawn, giving the appearance that nothing's been selected. After rotating the viewport, though, I realized that an edge truly was selected. Maybe I'm mistaken, but this probably should not be the case. Other than that, though, everything seems to be just dandy. I can't wait for the release version.

cekuhnen
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

Post by cekuhnen » Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:39 pm

pretty nice selection tools! in the current tuhopu version there is a function to show edge lengst face angel and face area. pretty neat things when you some more precise measurments!

this new selection system was due since a long time! while i work with maya more and more, now doing facial modeling with multi nurbs patch technique, i realize how powerfull blenders polygone tools are already compared to maya or lightwave. still many tools are missing but for a free tool blender is well heaven! keep on the good work!

claas

scuozz
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 3:49 am

this test build doesn't work on dual g5 mac os x 10.3.5

Post by scuozz » Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:37 am

tried everything but blender wont start.

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Post by solmax » Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:47 am

what includes "everything"? did you check the console?

osxrules
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 6:34 pm

Post by osxrules » Sun Oct 17, 2004 6:10 pm

Love the new select features but I'm experiencing a crash - this is with Ton's binary. It occurs when I have a subsurf mesh in optimal mode and editmode. After I render, then close the window, Blender freezes and then quits with the following error:

Command: blender
Path: /Applications/blender/blender.app/Contents/MacOS/blender
Version: 2.34 (2.34, 2004-Sep-28, Blender Foundation)
PID: 4256
Thread: 0

Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000000

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x00058a90 drawmeshwire + 0x120 (crt.c:300)
1 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x0005b2ac drawWireExtra + 0xa4 (crt.c:300)
2 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x0005be8c draw_object + 0xa58 (crt.c:300)
3 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x00061a94 drawview3dspace + 0x34c (crt.c:300)
4 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x0008eca0 scrarea_do_windraw + 0x58 (crt.c:300)
5 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x00092570 viewmove + 0x710 (crt.c:300)
6 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x00063fe4 winqreadview3dspace + 0x714 (crt.c:300)
7 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x00004f18 scrarea_dispatch_events + 0x94 (crt.c:300)
8 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x00005bc8 screen_dispatch_events + 0xa0 (crt.c:300)
9 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x000061f0 screenmain + 0x55c (crt.c:300)
10 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x0000339c main + 0xa30 (crt.c:300)
11 com.nantechnologies.blender 0x000021c0 _start + 0x188 (crt.c:267)
12 dyld 0x8fe1a558 _dyld_start + 0x64

Happens everytime but only when the optimal subsurf mesh is in editmode. Otherwise it's ok.

I'm using a 700MHz g3 ibook, 384 MB Ram, Radeon 7500 16MB.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:24 am

osxrules wrote:Love the new select features but I'm experiencing a crash - this is with Ton's binary. It occurs when I have a subsurf mesh in optimal mode and editmode. After I render, then close the window, Blender freezes and then quits with the following error:
AFAIK this has already been fixed in current CVS. This is a rather old build.

/Nathan

osxrules
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 6:34 pm

Post by osxrules » Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:11 pm

jesterKing wrote:
osxrules wrote:Love the new select features but I'm experiencing a crash - this is with Ton's binary. It occurs when I have a subsurf mesh in optimal mode and editmode. After I render, then close the window, Blender freezes and then quits with the following error:
AFAIK this has already been fixed in current CVS. This is a rather old build.

/Nathan
Thanks Nathan. I just noticed it was a couple of weeks old. I might try compiling one of the CVS trees. I really want to get using the new select modes and the vertex hiding features. Not to mention the new OOPs hierarchy mode - I've been wanting that for ages. Do you know if someone is going to release an OS X version with those features soon? If so, I might just wait for someone who knows what they're doing to compile a version first :wink:.

Dracarys
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:57 am

Post by Dracarys » Thu Oct 21, 2004 6:46 pm

Whenever I try to run these, I ge an error about a missing freetype lib. Where do I get this?

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Post by solmax » Thu Oct 21, 2004 6:49 pm

use fink

Dracarys
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:57 am

Post by Dracarys » Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:09 pm

:P is there any other way? That's at a school computer, and while installing a library is acceptable, installing something like fink isn't.

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Post by solmax » Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:15 pm

:)

not sure if fink was like drag'n'drop, but i'd rather say no.. which might bring you in a compromising situation if you're not the admin at that school.. i can send the libs to you via mail. just drop them in

harddisk/sw/lib/

if not there, create the directories (if you're allowed to).

marin

Post Reply