bf-blender / Windows (2004/10/26) updated

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2004/10/26) updated

Post by gabio » Tue Oct 26, 2004 5:34 pm

Calming down after the conf all around the world. We can now sit down and restart blending new stuff. B-con 4 is appoaching. This mean even more test and blabla about workflow improvement. :wink:
-------------------------------------
Relevant features:
-bugfixes
-New stuff in bpython.
-work on gameengine
-Port stereo stuff from tuhopuu2: anaglyph, vinterlace
-work on yafray exporter:
--Material 'TexFace' mode now works
--The new noise functions for procedural textures are now supported in yafray,
--The 'power' button has been renamed to 'EmitPwr'
-eyecandy: Enabling transparent pulldown/popup menus in Blender.

Commit:
-ton
Log:
Two reported issues with undo #1667 and #1168

- press TAB without object active cleared undo stack
- typo (another!) in variable name, causing undo stack from wrong object
to be used (when have edited more objects)

Plus i found:
- rule for preserving editmode undo stacks, while using global undo, made
stricter now. Before it only checked name, now it checks for existance
of pointers extra.

-aphex
Log:
Bug fix for #1493 -

- Changed shortcut of "Align Active Camera to View" to
Ctrl+Alt+Numpad0 to make it Windows-friendly.

- Old shortcut of Shift-Numpad0 still works (until we find some other
use for it!)

Could use testing on KDE/Gnome, etc - incase we make X do somersaults or something equally daft! :P

-ianwill
Log:
BPython:
- Blender.Window: added function GetPerspMatrix() (Tom Musgrave's patch, thanks);
- added Chris Want's patch to tell argc, argv to the Python interpreter (thanks, Hos);
- Blender.Image: added image.glFree() to free textures bound by the recently added
image.glLoad() (both suggested by Campbell Barton -- thanks, with these Blender can
be used to load textures for scripts);
- Blender.Sound: removed for now at least a few get/set methods of vars that can't be
accessed via interface;
- renamed Get/makeActive to Get/setCurrent in Blender.World (actually added alias for
now), same in Blender.Sound: renamed makeActive to setCurrent. Stephen Swaney
pointed this some weeks ago, we should stick to one naming convention.
- added documentation for Sound and Window.Theme modules and the other added
functions, made other small updates.
- Blender.Object: made 'worldspace' become the default output of .getMatrix and .mat/.matrix:
after reading a discussion on blender.org's Python forum where eeshlo mentioned the
pre 2.34 default was worldspace, I took a better look at Blender's relevant code,
confirmed, talked to Theeth about this and as he suggested am changing the default
back to 'worldspace'.

-ton
Log:
Fix for better flushing up/down of hide flags in the selection modes. Still
tricky to find the perfect rule. This version should satisfy I think ;)
Aim is to have ALT+H and H doing always the same, regardless selection mode.

Log:
Better pointer check in outliner.c for actions, for bassam :)

Log:
Two fixes!

- undo system didn't work in editmode AT ALL!!! (stupid me)
- Lattice deform on non-subsurfed objects did not update

-kester
Log:
Fix makeScreenshot for blenderplayer

Log:
Port stereo stuff from tuhopuu2: anaglyph, vinterlace

Log:
Do a complete physics timestep each step instead of some per frame

Log:
Tweek the stereo settings: allow negative eye separation.

-eeshlo
Log:
Bugfixes:
Blender hemilight shadow flag now ignored (reported by varuag).
Texture axes were not exported for procedural textures.
Duplicate armatures were not handled correctly (reported by richie).
Triangle uv-coord splitting (reported by anael, richie & Alvaro).

Additions:
Material 'TexFace' mode now works too, as in Blender it functions as an extra
first texture channel, replacing the base color.

The new noise functions for procedural textures are now supported in yafray,
but is not quite completed yet, still undergoing changes.
(needs yafray from cvs).

The 'power' button has been renamed to 'EmitPwr', since it controls background,
arealight (including lamp with radius) & material emit power.
This button can now be used with the 'SkyDome' method as well to control
background lighting.
To control indirect lighting power, a button called 'GI pwr' has been added,
only use this when really necessary, first try modifying 'EmitPwr' instead.

Removed:
The 'gradient' button. This includes the python code to set
this parameter as well.

-ton
Log:
Enabling transparent pulldown/popup menus in Blender. Speed of drawing is
not affected when using standard (alpha=255) settings.

Only the backdrop for menus and unselected items can be transparent, the
highighted (active) item remains solid colored.

Just fun eyecandy tho :) but the recode of menu enables this easily.
****************************
update:
-ton
Log:
Added glBlendFunc() in draw menu, but that's zealotic... anyhoo, who knows
it solves issues with transp menus

Log:
Bug #1670

Just one simple report, 4-5 hours work...
reported was that selecting in action+nla window is slightly off. Quite
annoying. It appeared to be a wrong usage of View2D facilities, causing
part rewrite of a lot of stuff here. Mainly did it as excercise, to get
better understanding of all of this. Would need some testing though!

PLus; fixed crash while using "single user" menu with Ipos in Object.

Log:
Put back frontbuffer drawing for link-lines, used in the logic editor.
No quick & nice method can be found to prevent using frontbuffer for now.

Log:
Fix for #1679

When rendering from localview, the lamp layers were not evaluated properly
for "Layer" option in Lamps. This because localview uses layers 24-31. :)

Fix is simple; just not use localview layers for lamp while render.

Log:
bug #1681

Using a too short string for a file path (plugin) caused crash

Log:
Bug #1686

Subsurf, optimal; the outline-selected-draw now uses a normal wireframe
(not optimal) giving a nicer outline.

Log:
Fix for #1691

Using octree resolution 512 easily could overflow fixed sized array that
holds all node branches. Had to jack that up...

Log:
Bug #1690

Crash on large mesh while vertex painting. Was combo of using shorts
(signed) and just a too low limit (64k).
Now it uses integer for main lookup table and max is 512k. Still an
artificial limit, but this wont crash when you exceed faces, just give
nice warning :)
--------------------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Sat Oct 30, 2004 3:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:41 pm

Great stuff. 2 things that bother me. In optimal, subsurf faceselect mode the facedots hover above the actual faces instead of residing on them. Not critical, but disturbing. There's always some trouble with those facedots, an option to not display them? :roll: In my UI I have one modeling window and one "camera"-window displayed at the same time. When I align camera to view in the modeling window, the "camera"-window doesn't update.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

Napoleon
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Napoleon » Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:52 pm

How does one enable transparent pulldown/popup ?

Mel_Q
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:00 am

yikes!

Post by Mel_Q » Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:35 pm

I'm getting some texturing errors when using the Yarfay plugin. I'm going to try to duplicate the problem on a simpler blend file, but it's affecting all my texture mapping- uv, flat, orco, .etc...
Using the internal renderer seems to be ok, and I havent checked to see if this happens with a Yarfay export instead of the plugin.
I'll try to get more info asap. Lunch is too short :(

One quick note to Napoleon- the setting is in the "UI and Buttons" section of the themes interface. Only Menu background, item and item highlight are affected. Along with the usual RGB sliders, there is now an A (alpha) slider as well.

Napoleon
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 6:08 pm

Post by Napoleon » Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:51 pm

I don't know if its only me but i don't have any A(Alpha ) slider bar in the "UI and Buttons" in the themes interface. I run windows.

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Re: bf-blender / Windows (2004/10/26)

Post by malefico » Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:52 pm

gabio wrote: -Port stereo stuff from tuhopuu2: anaglyph, vinterlace
What does it do ? I thought it was some kind of stererographic rendering... :?:

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo » Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:08 pm

Hi malefico, you can see your blendergames in stero now, y use cross eye only because y don't have any kind of 3d glases and it works great...... mmm just that I'm seen double now :D

Zsolt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:39 pm

Post by Zsolt » Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:15 pm

How about an option to render the whole interface while working in one of the stereo modes? Would be great for better visual feedback while modelling, etc!
PS: It might need a different coloured theme to work properly, for such methods as red-cyan anaglyphs.

TheSquire
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:23 pm

Post by TheSquire » Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:55 pm

Thanks a bunch!
procedural textures can only be used with the current yafray CVS, so can you compile that, too?
I'd do it myself but my intelligence doesn't go past "compile stuff on windows".

Thanks again!

Christoph

kerosene
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:46 pm
Location: Freiburg (germany)
Contact:

Post by kerosene » Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:20 am

great one! :D

the alpha on the menus is very eye-candyish.. but unfortunatly it doesn't work on all the menu points.. some just keep their alpha of 1...

(if u can't reproduce what i mean, i can take a screenshot)


.georgeblunt

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico » Wed Oct 27, 2004 1:14 am

ZanQdo wrote:Hi malefico, you can see your blendergames in stero now, y use cross eye only because y don't have any kind of 3d glases and it works great...... mmm just that I'm seen double now :D
Thanks ZanQdo ! You're always enlightening me ! :D

BTW, wouldn't it be great to have an option to actually render this stuff ?

halibut
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:02 pm
Contact:

Post by halibut » Wed Oct 27, 2004 3:57 am

PLEASE add in the functionality to "grab" the 3d cursor when no items are selected. That feature was brilliant.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Wed Oct 27, 2004 4:14 am

halibut wrote:"grab" the 3d cursor
I'm pretty sure that will not be added. Grabbing is only for objects, and the 3d cursor in Blender is no object.

/Nathan

oyster
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:41 pm
Contact:

Post by oyster » Wed Oct 27, 2004 4:17 am

Please, can anybody report this bug?
I can not register on "Bug Tracker", everytime I get an empty confirm e-mail from the "Bug Tracker"
when Shift-LMB the icon (Tooltip: "Render this window [...]") which is on the right of the header of 3d-view, then press ESC, I get this screen, please note that the messy header:

this occur on 2 PC:
win98+TNT2 model 64+DirectX 9
win2k+sp4+Nvidia GeForce2 MX/MX-400+DirectX 9

Image

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo » Wed Oct 27, 2004 4:39 am

Always the same problem with the links betwen logic bricks. I'm tired of erasing the controlers and doing the conections again if I want to change something :lol:

Post Reply