Page 1 of 3

bf-blender / Windows (2004/10/29)

Posted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 3:56 am
by gabio
Here is an update. The fact i'm now on linux doesn't stop me doin' build here too.
----------------------
Relevant feature:
-Bugfixes
- Duplicator object which is being deformed now gives deformed duplicates too
-in Solid draw mode:
----curves without faces draw as wireframe now
----curves without faces don't get fat outline on select
----editing curves shows filled now!

Commit:
-ton
Log:
Fix for report #1671

When you load sound in sequencer, most buttons for the sound where not
displayed (game engine usage only). But half of these buttons are useful
for renaming file paths or make relative paths. Just brought back the
entire panel, with clear info in tooltip what settings apply engine only

Log:
Fix for #1666

There's a conflict between global undo and editmode undo. The first one
reloads a .blend actually, so pointers change all over. The latter still
uses the object pointers for checks. To resolve that the editmode undo
system cleans its stack based on object names, not pointers.

In previous code I tried something smart to prevent undo stacks being
reused when you delete an object, and add new object with same name.
That didn't go OK in all cases... so I accept this little quirk for now
(rename object still works though, wont clean the undo stack)

Log:
New 'visible only' select didnt work correct when parts of faces were
hidden. The drawing function needs to return the actual face total, not
the amount that was drawn

Log:
Report 1659
Delete object, after selecting it in Oops (not outliner!) crashed blender.

Log:
Changed order in evaluation for common_instertkey menu, to enable posemode
key insterting working on unselected armature.

Log:
Render with backbuffer, using border, crashed... was commit of many months
ago by self. Tsk!

Log:
Duplicator object which is being deformed now gives deformed duplicates
too. Feat request & discovered by S68. :)

-hos
Log:
Related to gameplayer png bug: cygwin needs to find the zlib library
too. (Thanks Richie)

-ton
Log:
Brought back overkill of displist creation for armatures and deform...
Got some testfiles that I cannot get to work quickly, better do this
after release (again)

Log:
bug fix 1698

- border render + backbuf crashed (!)
- escape from border render didn't put half-rendered result in final pic

Log:
Potential fix for #1684

Buttons (editingbuttons) flicker when adding armature bones. Added proper
redraw event extra for buttons menu

Log:
Bug fix #1606

Pulldown menu in action window "View All" didnt work

Log:
Bug 1702

Holding shift, while in extrude transform mode ('n', along normal) popped
the extrusion back to beginning, this due to storage of printing value
in dvec[3]. Simple fix :)

-sirdude
Log:
Added an #ifndef PRINT
to get rid of this: "../../blenlib/BLI_blenlib.h", line 332: warning: macro redefined: PRINT

I know pathetic but hey...

Kent

-ton
Log:
Two more wavk bugs (help he's pestering me!)

- 1702; edge selection should be evaluated properly before adding face
- 1704; crash in separate, two causes here:
- separate didnt make selection flags consistant (needed badly
there because of evil code)
- after adding quad (Fkey) the face was not selected, but its
vertices were... that can give bad bad crashes

Log:
Fix for #1706 (Wavk again!)

- Undo in texteditor didnt work, event (ALT+U) was swallowed by new undo
menu (ALT+U too)
- global undo doesnt restore UI's as we know... so undo-ing with a text
editor active cannot always restore correct text block you were editing.
As extra service I added that when no restore is possible, it links to
the first block available.

Log:
Finally something new!

- in Solid draw mode, curves without faces draw as wireframe now
- in Solid draw mode, curves without faces don't get fat outline on select
- in Solid draw mode, editing curves shows filled now!

Log:
- Two fixes:

1) Sound window displays 'frs/sec' value correct now (found a 25 hardcoded)

2) LeftMouse click in sliders of IpoWind, NLA, Action allows to make
sliders smaller/larger, for quick zoom. Used to work but disappeared in
early this decade or so :)

Log:
Menus like 'edge' or 'game engine framing' could get flipped whilst the
alignment of buttons was still active, resulting in garbish.
----------------------------------
a new build is available

Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:17 pm
by adrian
Thanks again for the build.
I appreciate you taking the time to compile for windows users.

Do you know what time scale the proposed updated gui is on.
All the best.

Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:36 pm
by gabio
I dont know. It's planned for blender 2.35 though. maybe the wiki can give some hint:
http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... chitecture

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:01 am
by adrian
Yea, I've checked that, there's been no change for a while.
There's some interesting stuff coming through real GI, soft shaddow ray lamps & I also saw somewhere the instinctive blender guys' proposal for improved layer management which would be an organisational god send.

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:26 am
by intrr
Hey, that was not a proposal, but screenshots and documentation ;)

Also I'm happy to announce that after the hard disk crash, I've completely reimplemented the Layer Manager, and it'll be in for 2.36 with all probability...

Feature shortlist: Clipping values per Layer (for doing manual LOD, etc.), Layer names, selecting/moving between layers directly in layer manager, smart Auto-Naming of layers, Layer locking (make things unselectable), "Always Render" flag per layer, "Never select" flag (for example for ` not to select a layer that only contains unwanted objects).

Plus color coding layers for showing if they're empty/not, contain selected objects/not, active/not ...

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:10 am
by Blendorphin
gabio wrote:I dont know. It's planned for blender 2.35 though. maybe the wiki can give some hint:
http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... chitecture
Well, that's what we were initially planning on (i'm Jason Saunders).
However, things sorta slowed down, and then with both Matt and William gone at the conf, we just didn't have time to finish ;)

However, i gather that matt and william got some good discussions and feedback on our WIP stuff at the conf, so we'll be able to put together a really good, justified layout and also have a longer feedback period from users.

So, hopefully things will get moving again in the next week or 2 :)

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:50 pm
by Mel_Q
I'm still having the texturing problem, which all builds for the last 6 days have had. Hopefully eeshlo will see this, but it until someone can duplicate this problem with the file below I'm looking into other possibilities. I do not have the current Yafray cvs, and on win98se I don't have a consistent way to build both apps. It's very possible that's the problem, but I have no way of knowing unless someone checks the .blend file out and duplicates it.
To save time, I'm just going to quote my last text from the previous build's thread, just remember the same problem exists in this build, and that it only applies to using the yafray plugin. Other rendering methods are ok.
Mel_Q wrote: As soon as I can get something more tangible, I'll report it.
Almost there. I'd greatly appreciate if someone could confirm this problem using the .blend file below.

First, some screen shots of the texturing problem.
Image
Figure 1 showing layers one and two, the sword is the only object on layer two, everything else is on the first layer.

Image
Figure two showing just layer one, with the textures appearing as expected.


Here's the file in both .zip and .blend formats:
Zip file
Blend File

Finally, a couple of notes.
This only happens when using the Yafray plugin, it doesn't happen using the internal renderer or Yafray export.
The texture distortions appear to 'follow' the camera. Different camera angles give different distortions.
Thanks for being patient, I've had trouble duplicating this consistently. :oops:
**edit
Almost forgot- this does include trying the updated (20041027) build, and all files were created using that build.

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 3:18 pm
by Tommy5
Hi,

Thanks for the build!
I will like to point , that very large number of options are added to Blender.
It is possible that one day overload will happen. So I think that we need to be careful to avoid it.
Not to mention that too many options reflect new blender users.

For a example, in new builds there is 'Passepartout' function which draws darkened passepartout in camera view.
Think that should be by default on, and not a option to choose.
Or at least it should be transferred in camera options panel.

Also the 'Dump 3Dview' and 'Dump Screen' function in the file menu are not needed by
mine opinion. We already have 'Render this Window' in 3Dview header and most of the OS-es support 'Print screen'.
Do you know what time scale the proposed updated gui is on.
I hope soon, im really looking forward to it.

tommy5
Cheers!

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 9:15 pm
by ZanQdo
Common, have you tried Maya? :? Blender's UI is a paradise, also for newbies, I have teach blender to some of my friends and they learn so fast (1 hour and they are already making funny models and working with hotkeys) Do you wan't an easy program that lets you learn the basics without the distraccions of "too many" butons? -> Anim8or

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 9:27 pm
by eeshlo
Mel_Q wrote:I'm still having the texturing problem, which all builds for the last 6 days have had. Hopefully eeshlo will see this, but it until someone can duplicate this problem with the file below I'm looking into other possibilities. I do not have the current Yafray cvs, and on win98se I don't have a consistent way to build both apps. It's very possible that's the problem, but I have no way of knowing unless someone checks the .blend file out and duplicates it.
I'm sorry Mel_Q, I did fix this a few days ago, but had no chance to commit it yet. I have been having some problems with Blender cvs, and now I'm having problems with yafray cvs, after that is sorted out I will commit as soon as possible.

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 1:20 am
by Mel_Q
eeshlo wrote:
I'm sorry Mel_Q, I did fix this a few days ago, but had no chance to commit it yet. I have been having some problems with Blender cvs, and now I'm having problems with yafray cvs, after that is sorted out I will commit as soon as possible.
Whew...Thanks. I don't mind waiting for a fix, I was worried that either a serious problem was going on on my end, or that the win98se OS on my rig was finally suffocating (which would be a blessing in the long run :lol:).

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 1:35 pm
by Actarus
Tommy5 wrote: For a example, in new builds there is 'Passepartout' function which draws darkened passepartout in camera view.
Think that should be by default on, and not a option to choose.
Or at least it should be transferred in camera options panel.
I agree !

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 5:01 pm
by Bellorum
Hrmm. It feels weird that vertices and edges don't have the same extrude behaviour as faces. They should extrude along their "normal" too.

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 5:57 pm
by Pablosbrain
I agree that vertices, edges and faces should all transform with identical behaviors.
I would prefer that when they are extruded they get extruded along each individual normal vs a calculated average normal. Thatway if you have a loop around an object selected it will extrude outward on all parts vs in one direction.

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 6:47 pm
by Bellorum
And while we're at it - I noticed you can set the face dot size. Any change of having a zero value? :wink: