bf-blender / Windows (2004/11/29) Official RC1 2.36

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2004/11/29) Official RC1 2.36

Post by gabio »

Update, Near the release of 2.36. The past weeks was mainly for bugfixes. Congrats for all the bugfixes! Continue testing.

*EDIT* update to reflect the now official B-con 4, cause here i'm not allowed to post my build. So the link is now for the official one on blender.org
-----------------------------------
Relevant update:
-bugfixes 1839, 1851, 1800, 1880, 1887, 1636, 1844, 1889, 1806, 1890, 1883, 1893, 1882, 1780, 1807, 1841, 1842, 1902, 1903, 1897,
-AL+Z (potato) texture view now draws objects without Texture Faces compliant with (new) default in engine.
-Render with ray trace improved about 10-15%.
-Added nearly full support for Blender's procedural textures in Yafray plugin.
-Added more support for lasso select; it now does:UV FaceSelect, Editmode curve, surface, lattice.

Commit:
-ton
Log:
Potential fix for Sun glCopyPixels problem.
It's an ifdef, copying pixels with offset of 1 pixel.

Log:
Fix for #1839

On large changes of the Lattice resolution button, the undopush crashed.
Reason was that the push happened for buttons before the actual event for
buttons was executed.
Solved by creating new event UNDOPUSH that's being added to the queue by
by buttons now.

- Made button undo texts for number buttons more clear
- Added undo push for missing Add lamp/empty/lattice/camera

-eeshlo
Log:
Possibly related to bug #1851:
orco coordinates were assumed to be valid when pointers were non-null,
this seems to have been a wrong assumption, pointers were probably unitialized
(but only for some objects like surfaces?), so when the export code tried to
access them, it crashed.
Now the rendermaterial texco flag is tested instead, which probably is how
it should have been done in the first place...

-kester
Log:
Fix for bug 1800: mouse over sensor doesn't work for ortho cameras.

The camera -> world transform wasn't being calculated properly for 'ortho' cameras: getOrigin()[2] should be scaled by 100 (like the render transform in KX_KetsjiEngine)

-ton
Log:
Patch provided by Yann Vernier

This patch should make gettext return unicode, which is what freetype
expects (also explicitly set in the same file). It makes translations
that support non-ascii *and* non-unicode encodings, such as latin 1 for
western european languages, draw correctly. The problem only occurs for
platforms where those encodings are default, i.e. in Linux if
/etc/locale.gen looks like this:
sv_SE ISO-8859-15
If it were to read UTF-8 this patch doesn't change the behaviour at all.
This is probably the case for Mac OS X and perhaps Windows.

-hos
Log:
Making the C++ stuff work for the MipsPro 7.3 compiler.
Kester might want to check this for correctness
Kent might want to test if this breaks the Sun compile.

-ton
Log:
Uncommit changes for "bind_textdomain_codeset". Apparently windows gettext
doesn't have this function, needs to be updated in lib/ dir.

We also dont have official maintainer for internationalization...

Log:
Bugfix, based on Stefano IRC report.

Nkey panel in IpoWindow, the "Xmin" and "Xmax" buttons had a much too
narrow range, causing weird results when trying to fill in larger values.

NOTE; the button range method in Blender is still totally insufficient..

Log:
Bug reported on IRC by Chris Want

Remove doubles, editmode Mesh, returns short. doesnt work nice on large
meshes! Is int now.

Log:
Made sure exporting files (any, ranging from dxf to python scripts) signal
FileWindow to refresh on second usage, to show new file.

Log:
Bug fix #1880

Two accumulating errors, causing 'scanline' errors too, but now based on
using different filtering values for transparent shadows.
Was another 2 cases of unused variable render as well. :)

-kester
Log:
Make the material colour the default colour for objects if textures & vertex colours are not available (instead of white)

-ton
Log:
Fix for #1887 and #1636

Old code in displist.c caused crash on OGL "render this view" option for
3D windows. No idea why this exception was in displist.c... must be for
old engine or so?

Log:
Bug fix #1844

Joining Meshes, with the active Mesh having no vertexgroups, and other
Meshes having them didn't work.

Log:
Bugfix #1889

Reporter found omission in editmode undo. When you convert objects from Font
to Curve and/or to Mesh, the stack wasn't cleared (same object pointer!)
giving crashes on undo-restore calls. Nice discovery. :)

Log:
One free too many on shading displaylists, causes material-less objects not
to render.

Log:
Fix for #1806

View3d windows have 'unlock' option and 'localview', which was also
supported on render (F12 with mouse in window) to render only what is
visible there.
This didn't work very nice, with even code in render module to read from
interface variable. Removed that from render, and coded the exception
where it belongs, in renderwin.c

Log:
Small tweaks to make 3d drawing a tad more interactive, and; something
for our interactive 3d artists!

- AL+Z (potato) texture view now draws objects without Texture Faces
compliant with (new) default in engine. Meaning lit faces, using
Material RGB for diffuse and specular. It used to draw these as 'shaded'
which is quite useless.
Per definition, Potato mode is supposed to show what engine draws.
(Note; this only for Mesh objects)

- Added a couple of more calls to ensure Shaded drawmode updates on
changing RGB sliders, moving lamps to layers, or switch layers

This based on feedback from Mal, who'll also give it all good tests.

Log:
Two fixes;

- Bug #1890. While render subsurf in editmode, orco coordinates were
incorrect (subsurf vertices in editmode have different ordering)
Bug was oldie.
- IRC reported by Stefano; oops (not outliner) didnt show lamp textures
nor material ipos correctly.
Found error in oops curved lines too (the ones starting at right side)

Log:
Fixes in reading .dxf (bug #1883)

- fgets() doesn't recognize DOS strings in unices, made my own fgets
- reading polyline didnt support 3d lines
- reading polyline didn't create edges

All in all, this code isn't very nice and badly structured... a code
review or test (yes sirdude!) could have been useful. :)

Log:
Bug fix #1893

Option to switch left/right mouse didn't work for floating panels. It then
still selected stuff behind the button.
Was due to using wrong variable for events.

Log:
- Bug fix, reported by Stefano;
- Ztransp material didn't raytrace at all (now just traces it entirely,
remember too set the transp depth for it)
- tramsparent material reflected wrong in mirror material, due to
specular being added without alpha.
- Cleaned up some code to improve raytrace speed some. The old conventions
from before the AA recode were still there, this allowed coherence for
octree traversal. Current AA doesn't allow this anymore.
Added is improved check for 'first hit' on shadow render, per lamp this
now is stored
All in all, render with ray trace improved about 10-15%.

Log:
- draw compatibility with engine; without lights texture-less objects
draw shadeless
- buttons for physics in Material menu lined up

-ianwill
Log:
BPython:
- fixed bug #1882: http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?fu ... group_id=9
Crash / hang when changing meshes that had edge data. The mesh->totedge value was not being set to 0. Reported by jms, thanks.
- fixed bug #1780: https://projects.blender.org/tracker/in ... 9&atid=125.
Deleting a Text that was being used as script link crashed Blender. Added a check to unlink the Text from eventual script links when it gets removed. Reported by kaito, thanks.
- doc updates (one related to bug #1807: http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?fu ... group_id=9 , actually a little misleading word in the NMesh doc: you can get the subsurfed mesh with NMesh.GetRawFromObject, but it's the display subdivision level that counts).

-ton
Log:
Report #1841

Crash in this situation;
- one blender file with more scenes
- render image
- goto another Scene with no camera and larger output size for image
- render

Render buffer has to be freed then :)

-eeshlo
Log:
Added nearly full support for Blender's procedural textures, with the exception
of 'envmap', 'magic', and 'plugin' modes.
The stucci texture also is not exact match, since it cannot be fully
emulated in yafray because of implementation issues. It will work best
for low turbulence values (which is actually not taken into account
in the export code).
Also, since Blender's static noise is basically just direct random number
output, don't expect the exact same result when rendered in yafray, but in this
case that probably shouldn't be that much of a problem...
(needs yafray from cvs)

(btw, on a side note, I put this in the comments once when working on the noise
stuff for Blender, but noise is affected by the 'depth' parameter, and there
is no way to control this directly from the GUI, can only be done by temporarily
switching to 'clouds' for instance.)

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #1842, "black scanlines appear in render on windows".

Thanks to Brecht & Valgrind, found 2 cases for unitialized variables in
the render code. Both were for 2D texture input (Window and Sticky) which
didn't initalize a the third coordinate. Goes fine for 2D textures, but not
for 3d ones :)

Log:
Not really bug, but fix for report in tracker;

Added more support for lasso select; it now does:
- UV FaceSelect
- Editmode curve, surface, lattice

Missing: MBall and Armature; these make use of opengl selection still.

Log:
Fix for unified rendering;

Gaussian sampling/rendering now supported too!
Also corrected gamma corrected adding of colors, which gives better alpha
and blending with sky than normal render does. The latter I could check
once too...

Log:
Fix for #1902

For composting sky behind alpha, a gamma corrected alpha_under was used,
but Blender didnt make the gamma tables unless OSA was set.
Old bug!

Changed; while rendering with "Backbuf" that doesn't exist, blender still
renders, but without backfbuf now. It used to stop render and return, with
only a print in console... confusing.

Log:
Bug fix #1903

Bug in Nurb Surface orco, causing illegal pointer to be set, and crash.
Another oldie, pre-2.25!

Log:
Fixed something that annoyed me for ages;

In Object mode, Solid drawing, selection was just always not what you
wanted, the rules for wireframe (cycling) can't be used then.

New rule is;
- it always selects the frontmost visible item (wires in solid too), unless
- frontmost is active already, then it picks the 2nd
- mouse didnt move 2 pixels while selecting, then it starts cycling

Works nice :)

Log:
Improved rule for selecting objects in solid view, the old method skipped
selection when clicked object was already active (didnt deselect others,
nor select active when it was not selected).

Log:
Ack, previous commit (4 hr ago) cancelled out recalculating lookop tables
for Gaussian filter.

-eeshlo
Log:
bug #1897: Added check to make sure plugin actually loaded correctly.

-ton
Log:
Bug reported by Wavez;

Leftmouse select option doesn't work with "Emulate 3 button mouse" option.
The latter maps middle mouse to ALT+leftmouse, frustrating loop select for
example.

Add tooltip to say this, made option to disable automatic on load (version
check) and made buttons redraw to show option being disabled.

Note; wrapping middle mouse to ALT+RMB will frustrate 1 button mices... the
current code for leftmouse-select is a hack at best, better do this good
when we have proper event handlers system.

Log:
Fixed fgon issues;

- removed rule restricting to co-planar fgons; isn't useful anyway. Now
allows to fgonize the entire surface of a tube :)
- Hide/Reveil fgons cleared fgon flags
- Reveil ended with wrong selection status for verts/edges... solved with
correctly using EM_select_edge and EM_select_face

---------------------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:31 am, edited 3 times in total.

trogdor
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 2:30 am

Post by trogdor »

Bug fix #1893

Option to switch left/right mouse didn't work for floating panels. It then
still selected stuff behind the button.
Was due to using wrong variable for events.
mm, thanks!

malCanDo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:44 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by malCanDo »

Hey guys,

these changes are very cool... when the code gets modified so that they get lit by any existing lights in the scene ( so that the objects get more definition, and are easier to see in the game engine ), this will be extremely cool! :)

Mal

=============================

-kester
Log:
Make the material colour the default colour for objects if textures & vertex colours are not available (instead of white)

-ton
Log:
Small tweaks to make 3d drawing a tad more interactive, and; something
for our interactive 3d artists!

- AL+Z (potato) texture view now draws objects without Texture Faces
compliant with (new) default in engine. Meaning lit faces, using
Material RGB for diffuse and specular. It used to draw these as 'shaded'
which is quite useless.
Per definition, Potato mode is supposed to show what engine draws.
(Note; this only for Mesh objects)

- Added a couple of more calls to ensure Shaded drawmode updates on
changing RGB sliders, moving lamps to layers, or switch layers

adrian
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 1:31 pm

Post by adrian »

Thanks for the build Gabio.

I noticed that on both of your builds since 2.35a the AO for sky colour and sky texture gives speckled results when using the unified rendered.
It was fine for 2.35a and is fine on this build with plain setting.

Yours,
Adrian.

adrian
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 1:31 pm

Post by adrian »

The above was on win xp pro sp2, geforce mx440,

harkyman
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Post by harkyman »

I'll post this to the bug tracker, too, but just in case...

Tested on both OS X 10.3 and Windows 2000. Repeatable crash in pose mode, also present in 2.35.

http://www.harkyman.com/crashonmove.blend

Blend file shows a rig in pose mode with several bones selected. Pressing G to move causes immediate crash, i.e. you can't move the whole rig at once. This rig worked fine in previous versions of Blender. Remove any of the bones from the selection and the crash doesn't happen.

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo »

Hi, the unpack problem persists, it doesn't create the samples folder, only the texture folder, the bug traker just doesn't work for me :cry:

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

harkyman wrote:I'll post this to the bug tracker, too, but just in case...

Tested on both OS X 10.3 and Windows 2000. Repeatable crash in pose mode, also present in 2.35.

http://www.harkyman.com/crashonmove.blend

Blend file shows a rig in pose mode with several bones selected. Pressing G to move causes immediate crash, i.e. you can't move the whole rig at once. This rig worked fine in previous versions of Blender. Remove any of the bones from the selection and the crash doesn't happen.
Fixed today.
http://projects.blender.org/pipermail/b ... 02747.html

venomgfx
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 8:57 am
Location: Rio Gallegos, Argentina

Post by venomgfx »

*Bug

Try this:

1. In the video sequence editor, add an Scene, add an effect (like glow or wipe)
2. Select Panoramic render in format panel.
3. Press Do Sequence button, then Render.

Blam!

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

I could reproduce it. Just a couple of notes. X or Y parts must be > 1. Crash after rendering.

BTW: I just reported in the bug tracker. Use the Bug Tracker ! :D

kisolre
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 7:48 pm

Post by kisolre »

Don't know is it a bug but...

Add cube, subdivide twice, turn on subsurf level 2 (most visible), select only one side of the cube but all of the vertices (including middle ones) and try to crease them. When you move the mouse there is a sudden jump along middle edge vertices, when sharpnes is over 0.5 there is another. On subsurf level 3 these happend over 0, 1/3, 2/3.

This happends also when you crease more than three edges whith one common vertex. The subsurfed vertex corresponding to that vertex has only 2(3, 4, 5...) fixed positions depending on subsurf level.

I think that sharpness value of the vertex is sum of edge sharpneses but seems more natural to me to be an average.

adrian
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 1:31 pm

Post by adrian »

Possible Bug?
When rendering in x-y parts with Gauss setting on, the output render shows a grid surrounding the parts ( pixels missing - not joined correctly).
Whilst this does not happen every single time it does occur 90% of the time.
Origionally this didn't happen while using the unified renderer, but as the U.renderer now supports Gauss I've narrowed it down to the Gauss setting.
Win xp pro-sp2, geforce mx440.

FourMadMen
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:13 am

Post by FourMadMen »

Possibe Bug?

When rendering with the camera in Orthographic mode there appears to be a small amount of perspective still applied.

Win xp pro (without sp2), ati radeon 7500.

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam »

kisolre wrote:Don't know is it a bug but...

Add cube, subdivide twice, turn on subsurf level 2 (most visible), select only one side of the cube but all of the vertices (including middle ones) and try to crease them. When you move the mouse there is a sudden jump along middle edge vertices, when sharpnes is over 0.5 there is another. On subsurf level 3 these happend over 0, 1/3, 2/3.

This happends also when you crease more than three edges whith one common vertex. The subsurfed vertex corresponding to that vertex has only 2(3, 4, 5...) fixed positions depending on subsurf level.

I think that sharpness value of the vertex is sum of edge sharpneses but seems more natural to me to be an average.
i dont believe that this is a bug, just an imperfectly implemented tool.

CDI3D
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 1:31 pm

Verify bug? OBJ importing still working oddly.

Post by CDI3D »

Ive checked this with a complex model Im working on (humanoid figure) and a simple cube.

Blender creates extra edges in an OBJ imported from Wings 3D.

This also happened in the complex model when I tried to import it as a straight wings file.

Post Reply