Tuhopuu3 / Windows (2004/12/30) *update*

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Tuhopuu3 / Windows (2004/12/30) *update*

Post by gabio »

Fresh tree, ready to be hacked, Tuhopuu is ready to live again!
*note* all previous feature is now lost as this is the 2.36 source.*
---------------------------
Relevant feature:
-New Transform commit
-the new GLEW stuff by kester
-Shear for new Transform
-Proportionnal Edition for all current transformation.

Commit:
-theeth
Log:
New Transform commit

To enable, uncomment the following line in source/blender/src/transform.h

#define NEWTRANSFORM

This replaces grab, scale and rotate with the new code and add To Sphere with the hotkeys Ctrl-Shift-S

The following page in the wiki highlights the progression of the code.

http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... efactoring

-kester
Log Message:
Import GLEW 1.2.5

-theeth
Log:
Shear for new Transform. Really basic, works like the old one except that the no change value is 0 now, not 1 (1 didn't made much sense anyway).
No constraints yet, trying to figure out how that could work (you need to define two axis).

Shear has a new global (object and edit) hotkey: Ctrl-Alt-Skey. Old edit mode Ctrl-S still works.
(All those new hotkeys WILL change, they're there for easy testing only).

Log:
Some fun proof of concept coding again!

Proportionnal Edition for all current transformation.

Even better, the implementation is generic, so it will work regardless of edit mode/object mode.
For now, it only works for object mode because that's the transData conversion code I know the best (since I did it from the ground up) and because I thought this would be the best proof.
Others should follow shortly.

Since the PET is now accessible in object mode, I had to mode the Subsurf toggle to another hotkey (now Ctrl-Okey) to have Shift-Okey for the proportional mode toggle.
---------------------------
a new build is available.
Last edited by gabio on Mon Jan 03, 2005 9:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.

-efbie-
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:47 pm

Post by -efbie- »

cool !
I have to say that i don't like so much the way the new transform works :
The grab method to select the transformation axis confused me for a little time, but when i got used i didn't find that it gave significative improvements. Why change if it doesn't improve something ? Maybe i can't see the reason of this behaviour now. Secret feature planned ? ;)

This new system has what seems to be a bug : it is extremely difficult to select the a deformation axis : further the selected thing is from the origin, further i have to move it to grab the axis.

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

I have to say that i don't like so much the way the new transform works :
The grab method to select the transformation axis confused me for a little time, but when i got used i didn't find that it gave significative improvements. Why change if it doesn't improve something ?
The way it selects an axis right now is no good, I'll have to recode it. It will select the axis closest to the mouse cursor (unlike what it does now) and interactively highlight the nearest axis to show which one would be selected.

For now the changes aren't really visible to the user (except if they try the new To Sphere). The code is pretty much all new and neatly split to leave a lot of room for improvability.
Secret feature planned ?
Lots...

Martin
Last edited by theeth on Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

theeth wrote:Lots...
I like the sound of this.

oyster
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:41 pm
Contact:

Post by oyster »

bug in 'to sphere'?
add a cube, ctrl+shift+s, move the mouse, the number is changed but the cube is still a box even when lmb is pressed.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

oyster wrote:bug in 'to sphere'?
add a cube, ctrl+shift+s, move the mouse, the number is changed but the cube is still a box even when lmb is pressed.
Try a random clicked polygon.
The "sphere" shape of a cube is a cube (all 8 verteces on same distance from the center).

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

the RMB cancel button don't always work. If I want to cancel with RMB while i'm moving sometime the transforme get accepted.

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

Just as an aside, To Sphere is not limitted to mesh. It's not even limited to edit mode.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

-efbie-
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:47 pm

Post by -efbie- »

I think i'm falling in love with your new transform code :)

oyster
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:41 pm
Contact:

Post by oyster »

I made a mistake, the 'to sphere' works only in editmode. :oops

JA-forreal
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:45 pm

Post by JA-forreal »

I don't see the Tuhopuu interactive edgeloop cutting features anymore. I only use Tuhopuu for my character modeling and modeling details with the interactive loop cutting features. I must be able to rotate my models while I cut details across the mesh faces. Well, I hope to see these features back in Tuhopuu.

Blend on!

lucky3
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 6:08 pm

Post by lucky3 »

I've also noticed a lot of tuhopuu features have disappeared, as the merge-loop (or something like that), the softbodies, the bridge tool... All of the features actually (except the cool 'ToSphere') :? . Hope they'll be back!

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

Ok for the poeple not following: Fresh tree.
This mean new and empty.
in fact Hos just copied the 2.36 source over.
it's the responsability of the code owner to port the code, i suppose

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

Just commited Shear. Remember, I plan to make every transformation works regardless of edit mode/object mode, if you get what I mean... ;)

Gabio: I did some changes to the cancel checking, can you see if you can still reproduce your bug?

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

Mats78
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Post by Mats78 »

I'd be happy to try this. But all get is:

cvs server: Updating tuhopuu3/extern/glew
cvs server: failed to create lock directory for `/cvsroot/tuhopuu/tuhopuu3/extern/glew' (/cvsroot/tuhopuu/tuhopuu3/extern/glew/#cvs.lock): Permission denied
cvs server: failed to obtain dir lock in repository `/cvsroot/tuhopuu/tuhopuu3/extern/glew'
cvs [server aborted]: read lock failed - giving up

huh?

It's the same (similar errors) with bf-blender/scripts

Thanks,
mats

Post Reply