Tuhopuu3 / Windows (2005/01/13)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Tuhopuu3 / Windows (2005/01/13)

Post by gabio » Fri Jan 14, 2005 2:11 am

New build! some tweak in the interface. and the new Minnaert shader.
done with msvc 7 and scons.
--------------------------------
Relevant feature:
-Some uv selection tweaks and code cleaning:
-bugfixes
-Experimented some with zooming in the image window
-Minnaert shader.

Commit:
-blendix
Log:
Some uv selection tweaks and code cleaning:

- When selecting one uv from a group of uvs that are in the same
position, it now selects the uv belonging to the face the mouse
is over, instead of just a random uv.

- Made Select Linked more consistent with the way it works in edit
mode, also making it more efficient imo:
- L: select linked uvs/faces under the mouse
- Shift+L: select/deselect linked uvs/faces under the mouse
(like shift+click for selecting single uvs/faces)
- Ctrl+L: how L worked before

-theeth
Log:
Stoopid uninitialised pointers.

Fixes crash when cancel transform with metaElements, Lattices, Armatures edit mode.

-broken
Log:
* Hopefully a fix for the Enter-acts-as-Tab in number fields
problem, reported on the forums

* Slight tweaks to the shading of round shaded theme

Log:
* Fixed a problem where Tab wouldn't proceed to the next slider if
the mouse pointer was in the wrong position

-blendix
Log:
Experimented some with zooming in the image window:

- now does smooth zooming (as opposed to only power-of-two levels)
- ctrl+mmb works now, as in 3d view
- added max zoom limit (to prevent the gl error message from
glaDrawPixels, that only shows if you're zoomed in really far)
- added functions for quickly getting power-of-two zoom levels:
- 1:1 -> Numpad 1
- 1:2, 1:4, 1:8 -> Numpad 2,4,8
- 2:1, 4:1, 8:1 -> Ctrl + Numpad 2,4,8
- these are also under the View > View Navigation menu

-broken
Log:
* Fix: Display the dashed circle illsutrating Dist on lamps with
Sphere enabled.

-lancelet
Log:
Very tentative initial commit of Jorge Bernal's Minnaert shader.

Currently, two different versions of this shader are implemented: an
"original" Minnaert shader, and an "nVIDIA" shader. The main difference
between the two is the direction in which the shader's "darkness"
parameter should be moved to achieve a particular effect. For the
"original" shader, darkness should lie in the range [1,2], with
increasing values showing increasing limb darkening. For the "nVIDIA"
version, darkness should lie in the range [0,1], with decreasing values
showing increasing limb darkening.

This is just an initial commit pending some discussion on the issue on
the tuhopuu mailing list.

Log:
Version 2 of the Minnaert shader.

Now the "darkness" parameter goes from negative values to positive
values. Positive values darken the "glancing edges" of an object, which
point away from the viewer. Negative values darken the "facing parts"
of an object which point toward the viewer. This is an attempt to get
the best out of both the original and nVIDIA Minnaert models.
---------------------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

blendman
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:53 pm

tuhopuu

Post by blendman » Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:25 am

Hi
Thank you very much for the all new release and the stuff :)))

I just have a bug (?) :
After "installing" each new version of tuhopuu, at the 1rst opening, on the scene panel (F10), dimension menu : I have the choice of the presets,
but I can't save (I have the message on the console :
File "<string>", line 54, in ?
zipimport.ZipImportError : bad local file header in C:\blender\tuhopuu\blender-2.36-windows\python23.zip

So I quite blender, and when I reopen the same tuhopuu version, I have the menu preset with just : "custom" for choice.

I don't know why.

Sorry for my bad english.

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Re: tuhopuu

Post by lguillaume » Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:53 pm

blendman wrote:
I just have a bug (?) :
After "installing" each new version of tuhopuu, at the 1rst opening, on the scene panel (F10), dimension menu : I have the choice of the presets,
but I can't save (I have the message on the console :
File "<string>", line 54, in ?
zipimport.ZipImportError : bad local file header in C:\blender\tuhopuu\blender-2.36-windows\python23.zip
Hello, I think the problems is the python23.zip, can you open it? If not get this file from the official blender 2.36 and perhaps change also the zlib.pyd.

blendman
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:53 pm

Post by blendman » Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:07 pm

Hello
I replaced the python23.zip by the official python23.zip (because, I could not open the file).
I replaced the zlib.pyd too, but I still have the bug.

thank you for the answer.

;)

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:26 pm

update the script menu.
this realy drive me crazy everyone tel me this file is corrupted.
gonna erase it then :x :?

Delta
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:59 am

Post by Delta » Fri Jan 14, 2005 8:37 pm

ah, thanks for the tuhopuu update

i like the new interface very much, thanks to matt ebb's design.

i'll see to it that i keep looking for new releases

Regards,
~Delta

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:34 pm

grab errors:
in standard scene track the lamp to the box, then grab the box.
and now i notice that is it completely incorrect?

that has to be an error.

and can someone explain the new contstraint system for grabbing? I couldn't find a pattern to figure out how to get what i wanted. Control and alt appear to not work either.

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:12 pm

SamAdam wrote:grab errors:
in standard scene track the lamp to the box, then grab the box.
and now i notice that is it completely incorrect?

that has to be an error.
Just tried on a comp at the university, it seemed to be OK. What do you mean by completely incorrect?
and can someone explain the new contstraint system for grabbing? I couldn't find a pattern to figure out how to get what i wanted.
With the middle mouse button you mean? Don't mind that, it's going to change.
Control and alt appear to not work either.
As in?
AFAIK, Alt never did anything and Ctrl works for both Gear motion (in steps) and planar constraints (Ctrl-X/Y/Z).

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Sat Jan 15, 2005 2:23 am

oh, and the lamp type selection radios jitter when selected.

the grab problems seem to stem from something with the control-2,4,8 i think.

when i try to grab sometimes, there is a direct motion correlation, other times there is a 1:2, so the cube only moves one half from its original place in respect to the mouse, other times it seems to be like 10:1, so when I move the mouse a little the cube flies off the screen.

any thoughts?

[edit]
Okay, it really is a bug. it doesn't follow a strict pattern that I can find yet, but it seems to switch between the three ratios randomly, relating to the following series of events.
when I press cntl-4,8,or 2 and then change the view by using a numpad button without control the problem appears sometimes, and then pressing cntl-2,4,8 fixes it.
win ME (god help me!)
[/edit]

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:53 am

Tried everything, can't reproduce. If you could make a blend file that show the wrong behavior 100% of the time, I would appreciate greatly. That or a precise procedure that always reproduce the bug.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

Marty_D
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 11:16 pm

Post by Marty_D » Sat Jan 15, 2005 1:48 pm

The new interface is looking very good. Very elegant indeed. Just keeps getting better.

One thing though: when the Buttons window(?) is configured to a vertical display the Effects panel is always much wider than the other panels. So if the window is arranged to fit the width of, for instance, the Shading array (F5) and then the Object button (F7) is pushed, the Effects panel will overun the width of the window. Just detach the panel to see.

This isn't new to the updated display, the problem has been there for a while. Kind of a bother when adding new effects. Apparently not a lot of vertical display users out here. : )

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Sat Jan 15, 2005 6:28 pm

okay, here is a .blend:
grab.blend

just select the cube (it may be already selected) and press g.

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:28 pm

gabio wrote:update the script menu.
this realy drive me crazy everyone tel me this file is corrupted.
gonna erase it then :x :?
yeah, i did all of that, and I still get the same error. just so you don't think i am a whiner, here is what i did:

i updated the script menu
i made a new window, made it a scripts, and then updated.
i found an old copy of the python23.zip, zipped it and put it into the folder
i updated the script menu
i made a new window, made it a scripts, and then updated.
i using, first the last tuhopuu,
i updated the script menu
then the last bf-blender,
i updated the script menu
i made a new window, made it a scripts, and then updated.
then the 2.36 official
i updated the script menu
i made a new window, made it a scripts, and then updated.

and nothing worked. could you tell us exactly what to do?

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:30 pm

Got it. Perspective mode problem. Not sure what's causing it though and you're quite right, it seems to happen randomly.

Thanks for the bug hunting.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:40 pm

Fixed. It was missing an init function.

Commiting soon after I'm done with some other stuff.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

Post Reply