bf-blender / Windows (2005/01/19)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2005/01/19)

Post by gabio »

We had a lot of problem compiling since monday. Hope you will forgive me.
At popular request then.
Softbodies and some material stuff in the game engine.
Also there is some experimental option to use GL textured interface fonts. Dunno what it is now. need to try. but it look cool. ;)
-------------------------------
Relevant feature:
-bugfixes (2006, 2068, 2119, 2061, 2118, 2152, 2131,
-border render support through plugin (yafray)
-Improved functionality for Quicktime movie export.(speed)
-Softbodies.
Python:
-patch by Jonathan Merritt: new function Blender.Draw.Image() + its doc;
-patch by Campbell Barton: .users attribute for many types;
-tiny internal change in nmesh.hasVertexUV() method.
-New methods: Curve.isCyclic(), CurNurb.isCyclic()
-Added Blender.UpdateMenus() + doc
-Removed a long deprecated function from the Blender module (release dict).
-Make game engine materials use Zoffs in Materials.
-Now possible to use the normal +- to work with border select.
-Added experimental option to use GL textured interface fonts.


Commit:
-kester
Log:
Fix bug #2006:

Floating point imprecision made MT_Quaternion::angle return NaN, since acos(x) is NaN for |x| > 1.

Because of the way NaN's propagate through float math, the view pos would be set to [NaN, NaN, NaN] resulting in a grey screen.

-ton
Log:
Different integer overflow test for zbuffering, this due to mist+wire bug
that seems not to be solved on intel platforms.

Previously, a positive signed integer overflow addition was checked by
assuming it to become negative. Now it checks 'safe' with this version:

if(vergz > 0x7FFFFFF0 - dz) vergz= 0x7FFFFFF0;
else vergz+= dz;

Reason why using signed ints is cumbersome... overflows for unsigned are
much easer to find.

Log:
Mixup of vectors in VecAngle3 (caused by me switching order of args!)
Resulted in wrong angle display, especially in trias

-jandro
Log:
border render support through plugin. Working with current yafray CVS version

-ton
Log:
Somehow in 2.3x the file window collum display got cancelled. It even
pretended to be a user-preset, which it isnt yet.

Brought back collum display and wait for severe complaints to have it as
option in user settings. icon_smile.gif

-sirdude
Log:
This is for bug # 2068

I standarized the returns on a failed opening of the output file for
the above image formats.

I also cleaned up a couple of warnings.

Kent

-goofster
Log:
Bug #2119

The Separate option was missing from the toolbox and headermenu for curves,
Added it to both.

First commit in a loooooooooong time, have to start with something small ey icon_wink.gif

Roel

-phase
Log:
Improved functionality for Quicktime movie export.
Exporter now uses less memory and might be a little faster.

Needs tesing on OSX, there might be RGBA endian issues.

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #2061

On exit editing mesh being linked multiple times, and other object-users have
a deform, the displists were not recalculated.

Log:
bug fix #2118

Rendering wire didnt work;
- for edges that are not in face, with subsurf on
- same for new Edges block, subsurf or not

-phase
Log:
Reverting Quicktime movie export method for OSX.

Log:
Trying to make RGBA Quicktime movies on OSX, instead of ARGB.

Log:
RGBA Quicktime movies give codec compression crashes on OSX.
Reverting Quicktime export to ARGB for both OSX and Windows to
keep some consistency on Blender's output.

Log:
Let's keep Blender a monkey app. (hooohooo!)

-bjornmose
Log:
big softbody commit
some vertex group , weight painting stuff too
/me crosses fingers it does not break anything
p.s.: you can read about how to use here:
http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... Softbodies

-blendix
Log:
Softbody commit broke compilation of blenderplayer. There was a dependancy
from blenkernel/ to src/. Moved the offending functions to blenkernel...

-ianwill
Log:
BPython:
- patch by Jonathan Merritt: new function Blender.Draw.Image() + its doc;
- patch by Campbell Barton: .users attribute for many types;
- tiny internal change in nmesh.hasVertexUV() method.

Thanks to Jonathan and Campbell for the patches and the patience!

-stiv
Log:
New methods: Curve.isCyclic(), CurNurb.isCyclic() for checking if curve is cyclic ( closed ). Both methods are boolean.
Patch contributed by Toni Alatalo. Thanks.

-sirdude
Log:
Did some checking to make sure a variable exits before trying to use it.
(Submitted by Vidarino on irc)

I also cleaned up a couple of warnings in the file.

Kent

-ianwill
Log:
BPython:
- Added Blender.UpdateMenus() + doc: so scripts can automatically update Blender menus when they create (or download or whatever) new scripts to be registered.
- Removed a long deprecated function from the Blender module (release dict).

Matt (broken) mentioned the UpdateMenus function a couple weeks ago. I also updated the Save Current Theme script to use it. This is all related to his ideas to use scripts to save and restore themes and e.g. render presets.

-phase
Log:
Made Suzanne speechless again... what was i thinking.

-kester
Log:
Advanced MT_assert macro.

It will attempt to break into the debugger instead of aborting the program. On Windows you have a nice MessageBox function, so you can choose to break, ignore, or permanently ignore the assert.

Log:
Added getDistanceTo Python method (thanks Charlie C)

Log:
Unified KX_BlenderPolyMaterial & GPC_PolygonMaterial into KX_PolygonMaterial.

Make game engine materials use Zoffs in Materials.
Added Python material hooks.

-kester
Log:
Add an Python Material example

-ton
Log:
Fix for bug #2152

Using File->Save Image menu didn't work while Stars were drawn... the used
method to save an image (mainqenter F3 key) is a bit awkward anyway, so
replaced with proper BIF_xxx call.
Reason for mainqenter not to work was RE_draw_stars() function calling
a blender_test_break(), swallowing queue events. Very bad and need review.

Small tweak in previewrender; preview type Cube now displays texture
coordinates better (it showed a bit too much)

-aphex
Log:
Added new files to VC6 project (KX_PolygonMaterial.cpp | h)

Log:
Fixed #define for snprintf on win32

-stiv
Log:
remove gcc compiler error using -pedantic flag:
comma at end of enumerator list

If this change causes problems, feel free to back it out.

I am trying to get gcc to complain about mixed declarations and
code since that breaks on platforms that only support C89/C90.

-kester
Log:
Use the default windows assert for VisualC
Update Scons

-sirdude
Log:
This hopefully fixes things for Joeedh for mingw/msys windows builds.

Kent

Log:
The non scons specific stuff for bug tracker bug #2131

Basically removed #include <iostream.h>
from some files that didn't need it (and I'm assuming it caused problems)

I'll leave the scons stuff for someone else to look at since I don't really
use it.

Kent

-ton
Log:
Render lens flare works again. Didn't work due to wrong value for zbuffer
passed on (zbuffer values changed with previous commit)

Also fixed previewrender for lens flare.

Log:
Using halo (particle) render with OSA and gauss had error.

Removed it in OSA from special thread loop now, making it unthreaded but
render OK. Main reason; subpixel-based adding with gauss doent work
for halos yet.

Unified render does that though, but result is just filter, no real
subpixel.

-sirdude
Log:
Jacques patch to get things compiling on windows.
basically it returns NULL for two functions that had their entire body
commented out.

Kent

Log:
Melchior FRANZ's patch to allow the normal +- to work with border select.
Currently it doesn't conflict with anything and I think it makes sense.

Kent

-phase
Log:
Added experimental option to use GL textured interface fonts.
Set preferred method in userprefs->language & font.
Kinda requested by Kaito, i'm sure he regrets after seeing
my code changes.

This commit includes a patch provided by Jacques Baurain,
which seemed nescessary to handle font sizing properly.
Thank you !

--------------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum »

Hmm. Just noticed that bjornmose's test-blends for softbodies don't work for me anymore:/ Is it just me? I hit alt-a, and stuff start to move around, just without the softbody-effect. It might all be due to lack of sleep, though :roll:

Edit:
Ok. Tried with BM's old unofficial build, and it worked. Must've made some changes that made the files obsolete:/ I'll have to go check that wiki again, and see if I can get it working.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

bjornmose
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 5:27 pm
Location: Denzenberg, could walk to Hölderling-Tower
Contact:

Post by bjornmose »

Bellorum wrote:Hmm. Just noticed that bjornmose's test-blends for softbodies don't work for me anymore:/ Is it just me? I hit alt-a, and stuff start to move around, just without the softbody-effect. It might all be due to lack of sleep, though :roll:

Edit:
Ok. Tried with BM's old unofficial build, and it worked. Must've made some changes that made the files obsolete:/ I'll have to go check that wiki again, and see if I can get it working.
Just checked. This build is O.K.
I made some changes since testing build. Mainly when and how the internal softbody structure is created. This is to make sure that the springs rest lenghtes are set according the rest position of the mesh. So as written in wiki you'll get "Zombie" prints on the console for each object thats supposed to be soft but was not created yet by entering and leaving edit mode.
I know that's stupid, but since data structs are subject of further changes ( e.g. for "edgeless" springs ) i would not want more the one spot in current code where SB creation is called.

BM

llunasol
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:09 pm

Post by llunasol »

Thanks for the new build, but wouldn't be time to make a bigger and more usable (and test-able) softbodies panel? :wink: Uhmm, well, at least IMHO is too small and things are too close.

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

The new weight paint panel is very apreciated.
The new gl texture is speeding international a lot. Now that's usable. we could start to have a look at the translation. btw, japonaise translation crash on load.

thoro
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by thoro »

Yes, the new weight paint panel is a real enhancement - I like it very much. By the way, why are the Softbodies still 'hidden'? It's a CVS build, isn't it? :wink:

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum »

Where do I find this weight painting panel?
Last edited by Bellorum on Thu Jan 20, 2005 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

pinhead_66
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:09 am
Location: Belgium

Post by pinhead_66 »

the new gl texture speeds up international, but I do have to say it looks a bit blurry on my monitor (I have an Hercules 3dProphet 9600 Ati 256MB)

The normal international fonts are much better readable then the new textured ones

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

pinhead_66 wrote:the new gl texture speeds up international, but I do have to say it looks a bit blurry on my monitor (I have an Hercules 3dProphet 9600 Ati 256MB)

The normal international fonts are much better readable then the new textured ones
and it's a know issus.

Actarus
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:34 am

Post by Actarus »

Since the 13/01 build, it's impossible to render an animation in .jpg format !.

.tga, .bmp etc ... file format are ok for animation, but if you select ".jpg" and press the ANIM button you get this error message in console :

c:\render\essai\0001.jpg : no such file or directory
(sorry for my poor english, I'm french)

venomgfx
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 8:57 am
Location: Rio Gallegos, Argentina

Post by venomgfx »

well, this bug again, it doesn't crash blender or something like that, but is kind of annoying..

the problem is this, when you select a few vertices in edit mode, then go to the object mode, coming back to the edit mode, the vertices are still being selected!.. but with edges it doesn't happen, the selected edges are lost when you coming back from the object mode =(
is very annoying to select aaaall the edges again if you go out to the object mode by mistake..

note: this doesn't happen with the edges that conform a face.. just the simple edges..

i hope you understeandme..
do i should post this in the bugtracker? though.. i don't see this as a real bug..

blendix
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:00 pm

Post by blendix »

venomgfx wrote:the problem is this, when you select a few vertices in edit mode, then go to the object mode, coming back to the edit mode, the vertices are still being selected!.. but with edges it doesn't happen, the selected edges are lost when you coming back from the object mode =(
is very annoying to select aaaall the edges again if you go out to the object mode by mistake..
Edge selections are only preserved when edge data is stored, and Blender doesn't do this by default, to save some memory. So by pressing the "Make" button next to Edges in the Mesh panel, Editing buttons, will allow you to keep the selections.

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio »

blendix wrote:
venomgfx wrote:the problem is this, when you select a few vertices in edit mode, then go to the object mode, coming back to the edit mode, the vertices are still being selected!.. but with edges it doesn't happen, the selected edges are lost when you coming back from the object mode =(
is very annoying to select aaaall the edges again if you go out to the object mode by mistake..
Edge selections are only preserved when edge data is stored, and Blender doesn't do this by default, to save some memory. So by pressing the "Make" button next to Edges in the Mesh panel, Editing buttons, will allow you to keep the selections.
isn't that automatic as soon as you use it? :? all other extra info(like uv) are auto enabled.

blendix
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:00 pm

Post by blendix »

It is auto-created when you create seams or creases, not when you enter edge select mode.

scooterl
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:11 am

Post by scooterl »

I would really love to test the softbodies feature, but the wiki explanation (the only explanation in existence) is so unintelligible and poorly written that I can't figure out what's going on ("a bang - bang (0,1) painting"? What does that even mean?).

Can anyone on this board explain, in a series of complete and clear sentences, a step-by-step procedure for activating and animating soft bodies?

I won't even ask anyone to translate "bang - bang (0,1) painting".

Post Reply