bf-blender / Windows (2005/03/23)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2005/03/23)

Post by gabio » Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:42 pm

Quick note:
-now it's ctrl to switch between g-r-s in widget
-There is now a 4th rotation widget styling rt=4)


For more info on new tranform: http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... efactoring
Done with MSVC 7 and scons!
-----------------------------------
Relevant feature:
-bugfixes
-creasing support to new subsurfs.
-New, experimental, hotkey to switch between g-r-s in widget: CTRLKEY!
-The grid function (transform translate, snap-to) now uses the grid step as displayed in the 3d window

Commit:
-ianwill
Log:
BPython:
-- Stephane Soppera (thanks) reported libc stat function fails for paths ending with "\" under win with free VC++ compiler toolkit 2003:
removed final '/' (BLI_make_file_string changes the '/' to '\\\\' for win) slashes from relevant paths, that should take care of it . Note: here (linux, glibc, gcc 3.3.3) stat doesn't have this problem. Also checking if U.pythondir ends with a slash and, if so (as long as its length > 2 to), removing the slash, for the same reason.
-- small cosmetic changes in BPY_menus.c for debug msgs and in header_scripts (added a separator in the Scripts win -> Scripts menu).

-zuster
Log:
- Hacked in blender style creasing support to new subsurfs.

I would like to have proper creasing (following what appears to be
the informal standard in the subdivision surface literature) but
I do not know when I will get to this or how complicated it will
be. With this patch CCGSubSurfs should now have the same capabilities
as regular subsurfs (barring possible bugs) and so replacing the
old implementation is a reasonable possibility.

-ton
Log:
Added call in creating transform data Mesh editmode to calculate vertex-
normals for the ALT+S "shrink/fatten" option.

-sirdude
Log:
Reordered some of the includes to fix STL issues.

For details, see:
http://www.blender.org/modules.php?op=m ... pic&t=5867

Kent

-ton
Log:
- Removed temporal hack that switched manipulator type on G, R, S hotkeys.
That was blocking immediate hotkey access for normal blendering.
- New, experimental, hotkey to switch: CTRLKEY! Added code in such a way
it detects a CTRL key press and release without using it as modifier.
Pressing CTRL will cycle through the 3 manipulator types.

- Fix for yesterday's commit; click on centerpoint for switching
orientation happened too on a click for other widgets. Not nice...

-ton
Log:
Small fix; when pulldown menus are too large to display (they get aligned
with top/bottom to active button) the menu aligns from bottom of blender
window.

This already happened for File->Export menu

-desoto
Log:
Small fix; when pulldown menus are too large to display (they get aligned
with top/bottom to active button) the menu aligns from bottom of blender
window.

This already happened for File->Export menu

-ton
Log:
Transform stuff for TEST!

- 4th rotation widget styling, activate with Scene buttons, Anim panel, "rt"
on "4".
- drawing constraint lines replaced with widget compatible styling.
(functionality unchanged)

Fix;
- click on center for Rotate widget didn't switch to local/normal in all
cases

Log:
Bug #2444

Jkey, for showing spare render page, didn't work when using ztransp
material, or buttons F5 open or shaded view.... quite strange eh!
Caused by init-render-material setting R.flag to use Ztransp render.
Globals causing havock yes...

Log:
Monkey got accidentally 'recalcnormalled'. Causing eyes to have normals
pointing inside. Fixed!

Log:
New feature, since long on todo;

The grid function (transform translate, snap-to) now uses the grid step as
displayed in the 3d window, so it depends on how much you zoomed in/out.

The threshold for it is a bit tricky... it follows the drawing, but the
blending in/out of grid makes it sometimes not obvious. might need slight
tweak?

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #2349

Outliner click on mesh in screen without 3d window crashed. NULL pointer!

Log:
Bug fix #2375

Akey in ipowindow didn't deselect anymore. Or worse... each main refresh
in ipowindow selected all ipos!

Was related to trying to fix mess from jK's commit last year... now its
scientifically ok again! :)

-sirdude
Log:
a fix for: https://projects.blender.org/tracker/in ... 9&atid=126

blender now does a little more homework to figure out what type of avi file is
being loaded.

Kent

-ton
Log:
- Fix for CTRL (and possible ALT, SHIFT) as hotkey; now also works while
moving mouse around :)
- Shift+D duplicate uses new transform

-zuster
Log:
Fix for bug #1444
- this changed creasing behavior at vertices with >2 adjacent creased
edges. Hope no one minds (new behavior should be nicer).

-ton
Log:
bug fix #2367

Activate object in oops, while in posemode (or even editmode) was possible,
potentially causing all kinds of nasty stuff.

Log:
Moved init of new gridview variable, for adaptive grid steps, out of
function that was only called in ortho... grid snapping otherwise can
not work. Thanks i-Alexander for reporting!

-phase
Log:
Removed a couple of redundant "FTF_api.h" includes,
removed leftovers from Freeimage/Imagemagick experiments
and removed stuff from a Quicktime for linux implementation.

Also removed the (win32) Fullscreen button from the UI and
disabled the corresponding commandline option. The code is
still present to reenable the option whenever the ATI issues
get solved.

-ton
Log:
bug fix 2353

Mesh object with hooks, which was used as duplivertor, didn't render the
duplicated objects on correct locations.
It did show OK in 3d window though, was due to not synced drawing and
render convertor code.

Log:
Bug fix #2337

SHIFT+Z shaded view could display Shadeless overflows, due to lack of
clipping float to a char. :)
--------------------------
A new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:34 am

Ok, let me be the first one to say:
-New, experimental, hotkey to switch between g-r-s in widget: CTRLKEY!
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Also removed the (win32) Fullscreen button from the UI and
disabled the corresponding commandline option.
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
- 4th rotation widget styling
Nah.



:(
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

William
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:07 am

Post by William » Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:57 am

My thoughts exactly Bellorum. Cycle through translation methods with ctrl? Hmm..

Previous version was great where g, s and r activated the corresponding widgets.

HiNMity
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by HiNMity » Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:35 am

Please dont remove fullscreen.

Is it possible to snap when using axis constraint using the widgets? I know you use ctrl otherwise but since shift is used for dual plane constraint ctrl dont work simultaniously.

About the style of the rotation handle. Number 2 is the cleanest but why not try something more simple like this.

http://www.realsoft.fi/news/v45/skel3.gif

Just non-shaded lines. Perhaps making it bit more thicker will make it look more solid and robust but shaded might not be the answer, give it a try.


Please use different hotkeys for swithing widget mode. Ctrl is not logical and takes lots of more steps than necassary for switching between modes.

Good thing you added proportional falloff for the widgets and a visual indicator for rotation degree.

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:12 am

I personnally like the 4 better. Feel more convincing; when i want to turn on this axis, i grab *this* axis. Think about that and the others will start to be sensless or at least a "ok i need to grab this one to turn there".

ctrl for switching just kiled the beauty of it. As I saw it. Wdget was a completely other way of working. It was the thing all the pp asking for "click & drag" wanted for. So on one side you had the old way using g-r-s and middle mouse to constrain and all -- and on the other side a widget based transform system where you press g-r-s not to actually tranform, but to enhance the widget experience, a side where all the work is a "click & drag" (cause a lot of pp is thinking this way), a place where you don't grab a vertice by press G, but by clicking the center of widget an drag it! Just trying to keep g-r-s as action is imho too concervative.

JA-forreal
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:45 pm

Post by JA-forreal » Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:39 am

William wrote:My thoughts exactly Bellorum. Cycle through translation methods with ctrl? Hmm..

Previous version was great where g, s and r activated the corresponding widgets.
My thoughts also.

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:40 am

HiNMity wrote:Is it possible to snap when using axis constraint using the widgets? I know you use ctrl otherwise but since shift is used for dual plane constraint ctrl dont work simultaniously.
You can release Shift when the transformation is started. Also, you don't have to press Ctrl when starting the transformation, you can press it while transforming.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

Pierre-Luc_Auclair
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 1:57 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Contact:

Post by Pierre-Luc_Auclair » Thu Mar 24, 2005 5:55 am

I'm going to say the same as Bellorum.

leander
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:18 am

Post by leander » Thu Mar 24, 2005 7:56 am

Same too, i hate the new CTRL key for switch between g-r-s. WRONG WAY!!!!!!

And i need FULLSCREEN!!!

:?

crsrma
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:47 pm

Post by crsrma » Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:03 am

Ctrl won't work for me either, I have my systems hooked up with a KVM switch that uses a double-tap ctrl method to flip between. I can see this being a problem when switching modes.

Maybe instead of doing it this way just make it easier to toggle out of widget mode, wouldn't have immediate access to standard GRS but, uh.. you're in widget mode for a reason, right? Sort of seems it should override the standard behavior.

PaicCitron
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:12 am

Post by PaicCitron » Thu Mar 24, 2005 9:14 am

Same thoughts as everyone : don't like the new Ctrl -> you always forget the order, you somtimes have to press Ctrl twice to change from a mode to another, etc.

Why don't keep the previous behaviour ? GRS activate old style transform, and for those of us who want the new widget transforms, they just activate the option in the header, and then GRS switch to corresponding transform widget ... That's how all the modellers I know of work, and that's the natural way of doing it (in my mind ^^)


Appart from that, I noticed that the button to activate the transform widgets only work for a viewport now, and that if I change to rotate transform in a viewport, the widgets in the other viewports are not updated (e.g. still translation transform for example)
Is it normal, or a bug ?


.:: Paic Citron ::.

bullx
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 9:25 pm

Post by bullx » Thu Mar 24, 2005 9:38 am

thank you for ging us so many choiches but i still prefer rotation widg nr° 1

Zsolt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:39 pm

Post by Zsolt » Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:30 am

I'd also like to say: NOOOOOOOOO!!!!

We need fullscreen!

Ctrl: the old G/R/S was better, and more consistent with the rest of the UI.
As a side note, how do you know which widget mode you're in??? With G/R/S, you know which button you pressed. With Ctrl, the only way to know is by the shape of the widget. All a new user sees is: Arrows (thats for grab), cylinders (rotate style 4) and cubes (scale). Now which is which, why is scaling a cube, and not an arrow, or why is the arrow for grab not scale? The visual clues aren't clear enough.

OR: add a button in header for switching the widget modes. Even better for the point and click types! We already have one new button for the widgets, this could be extended as a pop-up list of widgets: Grab, Rotate, Scale and Off.

Rotate style 4: maybe a few people work like this, but I believe more people want to see how it will rotate (ie: plane of rotation) instead of selecting the axis of rotation. Anyways, these different modes could be kept as a setting up in the info panel (ie not in render buttons). I'd still go with style 2, if a small handle would be added as in style 0.

And a good thing: Thanks for the update to the snap to grid functionality!!! That is really good, I use snap to grid all the time, but until now I had to switch the grid settings from 1.0 unit to 0.1 or even 0.01 unit when zoomed in extreme.

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:49 am

Rotate style 4: maybe a few people work like this, but I believe more people want to see how it will rotate (ie: plane of rotation) instead of selecting the axis of rotation. Anyways, these different modes could be kept as a setting up in the info panel (ie not in render buttons). I'd still go with style 2, if a small handle would be added as in style 0.
Quoted for total agreement. I don't see why widget style couldn't be a customizable option, which would please everyone. Maybe remove style 3 - I don't think anyone like that one?
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:44 pm

echo

Post Reply