bf-blender / Windows & Linux (2005/05/02)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo » Tue May 03, 2005 7:43 am

This are my mirrors for bf windows, bandwith is insane, my last build got almost 800 hits :shock: so if anybody can help with mirrors would be good :D

http://www.3developer.com/bf-builds/

kencanvey
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:54 am
Location: Smethwick West Midlands UK

Post by kencanvey » Tue May 03, 2005 8:38 am

Could you let me know what the SB bake feature is for, I am not quite clear?

Ken

kidb
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by kidb » Tue May 03, 2005 8:57 am

ZanQdo wrote:This are my mirrors for bf windows, bandwith is insane, my last build got almost 800 hits :shock: so if anybody can help with mirrors would be good :D

http://www.3developer.com/bf-builds/
http://blendertestbuilds.kidb.de/index. ... 502_gabio/

tuxbot
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Another mirror

Post by tuxbot » Tue May 03, 2005 10:10 am

You can also download the new build from my site:

Windows: Download

Tomorrow there will be a new Video Tutorial for SB baking. ;)

Greetings
Tuxbot

tuxbot
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by tuxbot » Tue May 03, 2005 10:13 am

kencanvey wrote:Could you let me know what the SB bake feature is for, I am not quite clear?

Ken
Once you have set up your softbody animation and you press Bake, the calculation for SB is done only once and then stored in internal keys. So there's no need to recalculate the SB animation each time you press alt+a, unless you change the parameters of SB.
So, (almost) no matter how complex your SB animation is, it will be played back in realtime once you baked it to keys.

Hope that clears things up a little bit.

Greetings Tuxbot.

bjornmose
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 5:27 pm
Location: Denzenberg, could walk to Hölderling-Tower
Contact:

Post by bjornmose » Tue May 03, 2005 10:33 am

SamAdam wrote:i get a bad softbody think.

the object seems to swell and bounce strangely.

try this blend:
http://www.toxicx.toxicengine.org/personal/sbprob.blend
The edges of the cube have a lenght of about 0.2 .
The error allowed to the ODE solver (RKL) is set to 0.1 .

So either scale up the model or adjust RKL to 0.01

BM

Doc_Holiday
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:03 am
Contact:

Post by Doc_Holiday » Tue May 03, 2005 10:59 am

I hope somebody noticed that the GameEngine is currently in an unusable State. Please see the Bug Tracker. I'm afraid we get this damaged Engin in 2.37.
Doc

kxs
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Poland

Post by kxs » Tue May 03, 2005 11:05 am

But you will implement Autofocus in Zblur in the 2.37 release? What makes Zblur useful is that you can conect it with empty. Then you`ve got great control. Maybe you could make something similar to that one. When you activate Zblur and turn on camera`s Show Limits there could be an Empty on camera`s Limits line. You could then slide the Empty along Show Limits line. The Empty would be of course connected with the Focus distance.

kencanvey
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:54 am
Location: Smethwick West Midlands UK

Post by kencanvey » Tue May 03, 2005 11:16 am

Thank you tuxbot, that was very clear :D good feature!

I suppose I should have just waited for you video tutorial :D

Thanks again

Ken

thoro
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by thoro » Tue May 03, 2005 11:20 am

I agree with kxs, it would be great to have the Zblur's empty connection in this implementation.

The new UV editor smooth zoom is very useful.

DYeater
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Enon, Ohio USA

Post by DYeater » Tue May 03, 2005 1:53 pm

Here's a question on usage of the soft body baking capabiltiy. Is it possible to select more than one soft body and bake them all at the same time? In one pass? Just curious ... and hopeful ...

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Tue May 03, 2005 7:45 pm

bjornmose wrote:
SamAdam wrote:i get a bad softbody think.

the object seems to swell and bounce strangely.

try this blend:
http://www.toxicx.toxicengine.org/personal/sbprob.blend
The edges of the cube have a lenght of about 0.2 .
The error allowed to the ODE solver (RKL) is set to 0.1 .

So either scale up the model or adjust RKL to 0.01

BM
okay, that works, but what causes the bouncing size?

bjornmose
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 5:27 pm
Location: Denzenberg, could walk to Hölderling-Tower
Contact:

Post by bjornmose » Tue May 03, 2005 8:24 pm

SamAdam wrote: ....
okay, that works, but what causes the bouncing size?
If you allow the ODE solver to take too large steps the systems looses stability and usually simply _explodes_ . The limit when this happens depends on the dimension of the system. Your example is close to the edge, so it starts to go chaotic but catches itself again.

BM

SamAdam
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Contact:

Post by SamAdam » Tue May 03, 2005 10:48 pm

bjornmose wrote:
SamAdam wrote: ....
okay, that works, but what causes the bouncing size?
If you allow the ODE solver to take too large steps the systems looses stability and usually simply _explodes_ . The limit when this happens depends on the dimension of the system. Your example is close to the edge, so it starts to go chaotic but catches itself again.

BM
cool beans

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico » Wed May 04, 2005 2:01 pm

Thanks Gabio as always !

I'm trying to figure out how to move a vertex constraint to a plane using the widgets. Apparently it only works for scaling (I mean planar constraint using SHIFT key).

Is it so ? :?

PS: BTW, the normal alignment JUST ROCKS !!!

Post Reply