Page 1 of 2

bf-blender / Windows (2005/05/06) Multiple Monitor patch

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 1:18 pm
by jesterKing
Hi,

a build with a small patch which allows you to open blender stretched over 2 or more monitors at start. This zip contains only the blender.exe. Further this is a cvs build from against CVS this day 1200 EEST.

To test: make sure your desktop is stretched over all your monitors, then start blender with:

blender -w -p 1 1 x y

I start for instance with: blender -w -p 1 1 2560 768

Note that this will work only if you have a gfx driver with accel support for all monitors. Bad drivers result in performance degradation in the interface. I have a NVidia FX 5600, and Blender stretched over both monitors works like a charm for me.

Link: www.letwory.net/downloads/multimonblender.zip

Please report in this thread your results. NB: also people with only one monitor are invited to test - if blender starts without problem, then everything is fine :)

/Nathan

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 2:08 pm
by joeri
jesterKing! Hooray!

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 2:44 pm
by Nomadigin
I have two monitors and before I get too far with patching blender I have a question: Does this build work if the monitors are set to different resolutions? They aren't greately different but they are different.

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 3:04 pm
by jesterKing
The bounding box for the entire virtual area will be used, so give the smallest height and you should be able to use blender quite well. Before using this I suggest you backup the original blender.exe :)

/Nathan

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 3:05 pm
by jesterKing
joeri wrote:jesterKing! Hooray!
Does this mean it worked? :)

/Nathan

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 3:10 pm
by jesterKing
I must add that this most likely won't work on win 95 and winnt 4.0 I'm not sure about either... So test results please :)

/Nathan

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 4:42 pm
by LeeQid
No go here.
Win XP Pro
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (Catalyst 5.4), dual head
Monitor 1 1920x1200
Monitor 2 1280x1024 (pivoted)

Monitor 2 is _left_ of Monitor 1 with the top edges lined up.

called blender with:
blender -w -p 1 1 2944 1200

As soon as I open up a menu everything goes wild until closing the menu again.

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 4:46 pm
by jesterKing
Thanks for the info. I'll look into the different monitor setup possibilities when I get home.

/Nathan

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 5:24 pm
by alltaken
jesterking a nice sollution to the whole backing up the blender.exe file is to rename the new one.

from the same directory you can have as many different builds as you want.

i commonly have blender.exe (as the BF build)

then the intel optimised one i will just call blenderintel.exe

etc....

i hate to think what the b.blend file is like if their are differences in writing to that, but it generally works well.

/me wishes he had another monitor right now, this feature looks good

;-)

Alltaken

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 5:24 pm
by joeri
jesterKing wrote:
joeri wrote:jesterKing! Hooray!
Does this mean it worked? :)

/Nathan
It means I'm glad to you're back.
I don't have a dual display setup. :(
Actualy I have a dual display output on my card, I just don't have 2 monitors.

Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:56 pm
by meestaplu
This might just be me being stupid, but what exactly is the issue with Blender and multiple monitors? I used Blender 2.23 on 19 inch CRTs in high school -- that was two and a half years ago. It worked great then -- what's the issue right now?

While we're on the topic of multiple monitors, has anyone had any luck getting Blender working on a 30 inch Apple cinema display?

Matt

Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 4:33 pm
by Aaltje
Thanks works great on a Geforce 4. Now I don't have to resize every time I start blender. Just be sure it is included in 2.37!
Thanx
Alex

Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:08 pm
by RRuiz
Nop, It do not work for my NVIDIA QUADRO4 550 XGL :( :(

I see in the second monitor the typical Black part for the blender window

Un Saludo

Re: bf-blender / Windows (2005/05/06) Multiple Monitor patch

Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:15 pm
by kidb
jesterKing wrote:Hi,

a build with a small patch which allows you to open blender stretched over 2 or more monitors at start.
Could you supply the patch? I use blender under Linux and MS Win stretched over 2 Monitors, hmm?

Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 8:21 pm
by SirDude
Jesterking and I made some modifications. I'll post the
latest in the patch tracker. Jesterking still might
not be online all that much currently and asked me to work on it.