Page 3 of 5

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 12:00 am
by gaiamuse
I love the timeline! One of my earlier request. Thank you so much!

About the Audio Editor: I cannot get sound to play in this CVS version or even version 2.36.

Timetime: When I press play and have an audio file in the sequencer it will not play the audio even when I have all 3D windows, animations windows ticked, however if I use alt+shift+A in the timeline, it will play the audio in the sequencer. It would be useful if the timeline played the audio with the animation when pressing the play icon.

I have windows 2000 version.

Thanks again for another great version with hot new features!

gaiamuse

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 7:29 pm
by Howitzer
Another bug...

Vertex and texture coloring is at fault. When ever I paint my mesh in CVS, the faces seem inverted inward, yet when I paint the mesh in 2.36, everything works fine on the same mesh. This makes it difficult for me to paint. The same thing happens when I want to texture paint.

Screenshots:
2.36- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/Howitzer/236.jpg

2.36 CVS 5/11 bug- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/ ... 236CVS.jpg


Windows XP
256mb
Geforce 4- 440MX 64mb
1024x768 32bit res

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 7:47 pm
by Pierre-Luc_Auclair
Howitzer wrote:Another bug...

Vertex and texture coloring is at fault. When ever I paint my mesh in CVS, the faces seem inverted inward, yet when I paint the mesh in 2.36, everything works fine on the same mesh. This makes it difficult for me to paint. The same thing happens when I want to texture paint.

Screenshots:
2.36- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/Howitzer/236.jpg

2.36 CVS 5/11 bug- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/ ... 236CVS.jpg


Windows XP
256mb
Geforce 4- 440MX 64mb
1024x768 32bit res
..huh

That's not a bug. Just flip your normals...

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 8:36 pm
by Howitzer
Nice. I knew that. And I tried that. And you know what?

It does'nt help

So thanks for your help. :roll:

In any case, I have it set to double sided faces, so it shouldn't matter in the first place. Not to mention that they are the same file. Why would CVS open it any different?

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 11:26 pm
by Caronte
Howitzer wrote:Nice. I knew that. And I tried that. And you know what?

It does'nt help

So thanks for your help. :roll:

In any case, I have it set to double sided faces, so it shouldn't matter in the first place. Not to mention that they are the same file. Why would CVS open it any different?
Try to adjust the clipstart of the 3D view.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:36 am
by Howitzer
Unfortunatly... this did not work.

Clipstart is at 0.10, which is the program default. If you'd like, I can submit more screenshots. And I can even run it on a different computer. But the fact remains- this is a bug.

I hope you don't release 2.37 with this error.

Once again, more screenshots:

2.36- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/ ... r/b236.jpg

CVS bug- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/ ... r/bCVS.jpg

(yeah yeah, the name is weird... it's the 7th save of a project named fatbelly)

EDIT:

Ok, I think still think this is weird, but the first suggestion actually worked. What I did was Recalculate Outside. What I didn't know, was the the Flip command actually has nothing to do with recalculating outside... it was already correct outside, so nothing changed. Sorry Pierre-Luc_Auclair , your suggestion works. However, I don't understand why CVS does this in the first place. 2.36 does not have this problem, yet in CVS, I'm forced to flip normals- which turns my mesh black in the non vertex paint views.

Also, the mesh is joined this time, so that huge black spot is gone. But the mesh is still inverted. At your request, I can post the project file or even better- email it to you.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 6:11 am
by Howitzer
I have something better for you. How is this:

Image

Now, hopefully, you will understand what the problem is. (problem does not exist in 2.36)

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 8:03 am
by theeth
We have a bug tracker there:

<----


You can upload the blend file there, with bug description and all.

Martin

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 8:45 am
by crsrma
Howitzer: Just a guess here, it could have something to do with the new subsurf code that has been put in after the 2.36 release. I saw you had it enabled in the screenshots, may be the culprit.

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 8:17 am
by Sutabi
hint for the python api team.... the appendNurb() error "Expected better stuff" isn't a helpful error

ack also when you moves stuff in a curve the transform axis flickers even its not on

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 6:56 pm
by RRuiz
Excellent build. I been folowing the new sb options and only I have one quiestion, how can I convert the result of a SB calculation or baking to a real mesh? I will love to have something like an Alt+C that when done, copy the result to a new mesh even pass the baking information to vertex animation on the mesh. The bake is greate but I think is not enough

For example I will like to create a curtain over a window with some wing afectig it from the outside, rigth now I have to model the curtain bended then aply all the efects to the animation an let the magic beging . Insted I want to create a plain with subdivision and weights, aply the sb and the result will be my begining object and then put every thing else.

Thank you

Un Saludo

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 8:09 pm
by CJD
Howitzer wrote:Another bug...

Vertex and texture coloring is at fault. When ever I paint my mesh in CVS, the faces seem inverted inward, yet when I paint the mesh in 2.36, everything works fine on the same mesh. This makes it difficult for me to paint. The same thing happens when I want to texture paint.

Screenshots:
2.36- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/Howitzer/236.jpg

2.36 CVS 5/11 bug- http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/ ... 236CVS.jpg


Windows XP
256mb
Geforce 4- 440MX 64mb
1024x768 32bit res
It happens to my me slightly similarly
to run engine, view mesh normals inverted (idem this but on engine http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/ ... 236CVS.jpg)

in 3D view OK, on engine view inverse
in 3D view inverse (normals outside), on engine view OK.
my (bad) solution are two side on.

sorry, bad english.

pentium IV 2.4 Ghz 256 MB video SIS 651 integrated

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:08 am
by gaiamuse
gaiamuse wrote:About the Audio Editor: I cannot get sound to play in this CVS version or even version 2.36.

gaiamuse
I searched Elysium and discovered that the audio file needs to be in the Sequencer when using the audio editor.

Timeline and Sequencer: Is anyone planning to get the timeline to play the audio when viewing scenes/files in the Sequencer for this release? Is this a bug or is this something planned for later?

Again thanks coders!

gaiamuse

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:35 am
by Trepido
the tooltip of the widgets on the header is still "click CRTL cycles".

I know the discussion is over, but I really don't understand why you all prefer crtl+alt+r instead of crtl

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 am
by Bellorum
Trepido wrote:the tooltip of the widgets on the header is still "click CRTL cycles".

I know the discussion is over, but I really don't understand why you all prefer crtl+alt+r instead of crtl
I don't. I have big reaching hands, and I still feel like I'm going to break something. Someone (Delta I think?) suggested using shift+ctrl+r/s/g instead, and that definitely seems ore sensible. I'm glad we have the option of ctrl+space, though - that works good enough. Cycling is still a bad option, though.