Page 2 of 3

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:26 am
by NateTG
Re: Elbarto

The new knife tool can also no longer be used to quickly make edgeloops that are consistent with current geometry. (If this is unclear, I can give an example). For me, this is a MAJOR disadvantage. I don't know how this could be resolved... I am assuming that the new knife tool works similar to the new edge-based subdivide. Maybe an "knife (No triangles)" tool?




\n

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:05 am
by poutsa
Thanks for this Build Gabio!!!

So now there is free Place in the FX Panel for Fluid Simulation,Ocean Simulator,Explode Fx!
Sorry Fluids has a seperate Panel like Particles!!!
see here Workflow:
http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... dAnimation

Wave and Build fx´s moved to Modifiers!!
Is the Explode Fx when( its Real one Day) placed into Modifiers or in the Fx Panel???

"DubliVerts for Metaballs" is this removed for ever or comes back?

Vassilios Cagiaoglou Boucer

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:23 am
by Bellorum
ElBarto wrote: And i got a modelling problem with the reworked Knife tool. Normally i modell this way:
Image
Plane> Subdivide> Knife Middpoints> Scale> Extrude
But this is impossible now.
I absolutely agree, and I've complained about it at least one time before, and have not gotten an answer. I'm sure the new algorithm is useful for something (otherwise it wouldn't have been coded) but it hurts edgeloop flow and creates far too many triangles. an 'old style-knife mode would be most beneficial.
I also don't understand why edgeslide should default to precision-mode. It's annoying as hell. :?

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:54 pm
by Z-Pixel
While working on my animation project, I found something strange, too:

Image

When I tried to apply an armature to my mesh (with option create from closest bone), blender crashed somehow. I tried this with a simple cube and found out that there's apparently trouble when using this option in connection with the subsurf modifier. Without subsurf, everything's working fine. When applying subsurf after creating the vertexgroups from closest bone, everything's fine too. Only when I applied the armature to a mesh with subsurf, blender crashed.

Maybe the differences between the subsurf-created vertices and the original vertices are ignored when the vertices are assigned to the bones? (don't really know much about the code)

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:16 pm
by LeeQid
Can anybody please tell me what happened to shift+r in this version?

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:53 pm
by tommy
Bellorum wrote:
ElBarto wrote: And i got a modelling problem with the reworked Knife tool. Normally i modell this way:
Image
Plane> Subdivide> Knife Middpoints> Scale> Extrude
But this is impossible now.
I absolutely agree, and I've complained about it at least one time before, and have not gotten an answer. I'm sure the new algorithm is useful for something (otherwise it wouldn't have been coded) but it hurts edgeloop flow and creates far too many triangles. an 'old style-knife mode would be most beneficial.
I also don't understand why edgeslide should default to precision-mode. It's annoying as hell. :?
Yep, I have to say i second (or third?) that. The current code is certainly useful, but the old-style edge-cutting mechanism can sometimes create much better mesh-flow. Perhaps both methods should be available under different names, such as "simple" edge-cut and "advanced" edge-cut or something similar.

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:09 pm
by SamAdam
in subsurf modifier, incremental requires edges, but i can move mouse out of pupbox and not make edges, and incremental will still be checked.

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:54 am
by crsrma
This may sound evil, but would it be possible to use numerical input while actively using the manipulator? Like, maybe it could override mouse input once numbers are typed & mimic the standard GRS stuff temporarily.

I find myself trying to do so for some reason, usually when ctrl/shift constraints aren't quite precise enough, sometimes just out of habit. It just seems a bit silly to go around changing grid spacing because of some nurnies, wrinkles, etc.

BTW, it's a bit difficult to escape out of the loopcut tool right now, with the RMB atleast; before you start a cut & still have the initial purple highlight.

Thanks again for the build & all the new featureseses.

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:55 am
by Bellorum
Doh! Accidentally hit reply :)

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:45 am
by Bellorum
Bellorum wrote:
ElBarto wrote: And i got a modelling problem with the reworked Knife tool. Normally i modell this way:
Image
Plane> Subdivide> Knife Middpoints> Scale> Extrude
But this is impossible now.
I absolutely agree, and I've complained about it at least one time before. It hurts edgeloop flow and creates far too many triangles. an 'old style-knife mode would be most beneficial.
Edit: I replied before even trying the new build before :oops: Edgeslide works perfectly new. And the new subdivide stuff is great. Only problem I have is the knife-results..

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:51 pm
by Matthe
to all coders: nice work ;) I really appreciate your hard work

but I've to agree with ElBarto, tommy and Bellorum, the new knife tool (Midpoints) is a little bit strange compared to the old method

another issue for me is that "optimal"-wireframe does not work in edit mode, would be great to get working in edit mode

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:54 pm
by -efbie-
yep, if i use optimal, and modify the mesh, i get a segfault.
cube > optimal > Extrude a face > segfault.

and yep, having a subsurf compliant subdivide would be cool :)
(as an option, toggle, modifier key, anything :) )

Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:01 pm
by henti
When i try to select linked bones with L (in armature edit mode), blender almost always crashes.

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:09 am
by kxs
I can`t run new linux build. I get this message:

Code: Select all

./blender: error while loading shared libraries: libpng.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:22 am
by -efbie-
you need to install libpng 3