Soc project: fluid / Linux (2005/08/13)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Soc project: fluid / Linux (2005/08/13)

Post by gabio » Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:32 pm

Ok I take the chance to post this build up. Remember folks This is really WIP.
Fluid in Blender:
Note on the current project:
http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... dAnimation

As of the "how does it works?":
# Create a new blender file, add a cube mesh at (0,0,0) and tag it as fluid simulation domain (tab next to softbodies).
# Add some other mesh in it (e.g. a sphere), and tag it as fluid in the fluidsim tab.
# Select the domain again, click the bake-button. Unless you saved the file otherwise, you should find a file untitlend.blend_fluidsim.cfg and another bobj.gz file in your current or home directory.
# Run ../build_dir/arch/elbeem-blender -b -f untitlend.blend_fluidsim.cfg. Now you'll get a lot of bobj files...
# Go back to Blender and enjoy smile !
# Some warnings: dont move/rotate the domain as of now, dont use intersecting object for fluid init, dont set the simulation resolution too high. I'm aware that there's still a lot of stuff to be fixed...
-------------------------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:32 pm

Hey Gabio,

Thanks a lot for this test-build!

Man....I'm gonna have fun now!!!
This is ONE happy saturday!

PS: What does the elbeem file do? It seem to work without running it afterwards.

I get a lot of bobj files without running this : Run ../build_dir/arch/elbeem-blender -b -f untitlend.blend_fluidsim.cfg.
files...I think the main program does this for you...

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:46 pm

Normally, in the actual CVS, the solver is intern at Blender no more extern solver look at http://projects.blender.org/pipermail/s ... 00155.html
Nils Thuerey wrote : - first rough integration of solver as library (modified bs_libs.py)

Perhaps I don't understand but I think is integrated.

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:29 pm

For now...everything seems to be limited to the bounding box....
..meaning...if I shape the box like a round cup...the animation will still come out as a box
even if the subsurf has been flattened (modifier applied..and vaporized)

I made a small test movie:

http://www.hamsterking.com/blender/3d/tghfluidtest.avi (2 mb mjpeg avi file)
rendertime: less than 5 minutes with yafray - 140 frames.

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Sun Aug 14, 2005 12:29 am

yes but what about the bake time?
Seriously this can kill you cpu, ram and swap in less than 3sec!

If you get a message: killed in the console. It's because you ask too much.

For the elbeem file, it's an extern simulator, even if it's integrated in. It may be usefull (Cluster?).

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Sun Aug 14, 2005 12:48 am

The baking time for the example above was only 4 minutes.

ps: currently rendering this one.... it took 30 minutes to bake 125 frames
with a resolution of 100.

Image

Will be uploaded when the animation has finished.
It has object collision too....

*Edit*

and here it is:

http://www.hamsterking.com/blender/3d/splaaaash.avi

Koba
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 9:48 am

Post by Koba » Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:34 pm

Hiya!

I've been having fun testing this build. I'll be adding notes to this post as I go.

Firstly I would like to say that this is so much fun. I've done a couple of simulations already.

Anyway, the first "bug" I have found is is I set the domain resolution high (say 400), Blender crashes. I'm currently trying to find the highest res before a crash occurs.

One other thing I don't understand is:
# Run ../build_dir/arch/elbeem-blender -b -f untitlend.blend_fluidsim.cfg. Now you'll get a lot of bobj files...
What am I suppose to run? It just works! (I just check the console to find out when the sim is finished)

Koba

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:07 pm

JoOngle: well, cool anim though it looked a bit too oily and anim was lagin a bit.. no?

Koba:
Look like you don't need to run it now. old version needed to though.

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:18 am

gabio wrote:JoOngle: well, cool anim though it looked a bit too oily and anim was lagin a bit.. no?
hehehe...yes :)
Not like we have a lot of options to fiddle with yet...now is it? ;)
Since you obviously have access to the SoC files...please do post another
CVS fluid when it's updated - I'm nearly breaking down with excitement over
this.

...And erhm...yes, the CPU could in fact get killed as you say, nothing before
I've witnessed have ever crashed my Slackware Linux box...but I stand corrected!
BAM! Computer went down with a boom, and I mean BOOM!
The whole screen got garbled (you know..classic pixels everywhere garbled)
and no button...not even the powerbutton would work, so yes...I do belive my
CPU got overheated for once....for real.... Never though I'd see the day...but
some day's gotta be the first.

Oh well...works fine the next day (still rendering fluids) ;)

n_t
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:07 pm

Post by n_t » Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:06 pm

JoOngle: nice animation! cool to see you (and the others) got it to work... I hope to have it compile with MSVC as well soon.

As for the fluid domain, it might be clearer to just display the bounding box that is really used for simulation once it's activated.

Koba: resolution 400 is pretty big, you probably dont have enough memory for this... 250^3 already requires a few GB. i'll try to add a check that takes the amount of available memory into account.

kidb
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Soc project: fluid / Linux (2005/08/13)

Post by kidb » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:20 am

gabio wrote:Ok I take the chance to post this build up. Remember folks This is really WIP.
Fluid in Blender:
For linux_x86_64
Download page

chimera
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 11:41 am
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Post by chimera » Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:16 pm

is the cvs branch enabled for anonymous users yet?

n_t
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:07 pm

new version (05-08-18)

Post by n_t » Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:58 am

hello, i've also put up a build of the new version,
for linux: http://www10.informatik.uni-erlangen.de ... 818.tar.gz
and for win32 (using mingw):
http://www10.informatik.uni-erlangen.de ... 8win32.zip

and this is an introductory tutorial:
http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... dTutorial1

perhaps someone can try to compile a mac osx version :) ?

chimera - i think the anonymous cvs access to the soc branch is still locked... no idea why

ColeZero
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Germany

Post by ColeZero » Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:32 pm

I have made a small video using the fluid feature.
it took me only a few minutes to calculate and to render.
ok there no materials on the mesh, but i love this fluid feature, i hope this will be in Blender 2.38...
The Video codec is DivX

Click here to watch Fluid

ColeZero
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Germany

Post by ColeZero » Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:40 pm

Maybe you should add a "Clear Bake" button to clear the bake.
Because there is a bug. If i create a scene using your fluid feature, and after a while i decide to create a new scene with the same output-folder, the fluid-programm seems to be "confused". Sometimes the "Domain" Mesh will be animated, instead of the "Fluid"-mesh, if i don't delete the old bake.

Post Reply