Page 2 of 2

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:07 am
by kidb
nam wrote:is the link not working? hmm, i'll try again...or is there another link i can use? unless someone can email it to me...that'd be great too...thanks guys zn182@yahoo.com
try now.

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:40 am
by nam
thx a bunch...

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:11 pm
by nemyax
Currently, when bones are driven by IK, they change their roll. This should not happen.

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:30 pm
by blendix
nemyax wrote:Currently, when bones are driven by IK, they change their roll. This should not happen.
Please explain more, -- I don't get the problem. Having the bone roll can help reach the target. If you want to disable rolling you can do this with "Lock Y Rot". Or is it that the behavior changed from how it was before, doing unexpected rolling for no good reason? I can't seem to reproduce that.

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:08 pm
by nemyax
blendix,
I'll try to explain using examples. In the following blend file, the position of the IK goal is animated. By frame 51, Bone and Bone.001 have got twisted relative to one another. If a mesh were bound to those bones instead of the crude boxes, it would end up looking screwed up. Imagine a knee that shifts to the side when you lift your foot sideways.
http://home.ripway.com/2004-12/215971/u ... flaw.blend
The following is a Maya screenshot with an identical setup. The unnecessary extra twist doesn't occur. The boxes stay in the same "plane".
http://home.ripway.com/2004-12/215971/u ... orrect.JPG
This is not Maya fanboyism on my part. Any other 3d animation software is capable of IK chain twist control, and so should Blender. Without easy twist/swivel angle/solver plane control, IK is a joke.
I'm sorry if I've given too little detail or haven't put it clearly. I'll elaborate more if you like.

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:31 pm
by blendix
nemyax wrote:blendix,
I'll try to explain using examples. In the following blend file, the position of the IK goal is animated. By frame 51, Bone and Bone.001 have got twisted relative to one another. If a mesh were bound to those bones instead of the crude boxes, it would end up looking screwed up. Imagine a knee that shifts to the side when you lift your foot sideways.
If you enabled "Lock X Rot" or "Lock Z Rot", you can prevent the knee from bending sideways.
nemyax wrote:http://home.ripway.com/2004-12/215971/u ... flaw.blend
The following is a Maya screenshot with an identical setup. The unnecessary extra twist doesn't occur. The boxes stay in the same "plane".
http://home.ripway.com/2004-12/215971/u ... orrect.JPG
This is not Maya fanboyism on my part. Any other 3d animation software is capable of IK chain twist control, and so should Blender. Without easy twist/swivel angle/solver plane control, IK is a joke.
I'm sorry if I've given too little detail or haven't put it clearly. I'll elaborate more if you like.
You are talking about the rotating plane solver in Maya. As I understand it's basically a 2d solver with manual twist control. You can emulate this in blender by setting all but the root to have only 1 DoF, and then control the rotation of the root bone. Example file:
http://users.pandora.be/blendix/IK_twist.blend

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:05 pm
by nemyax
Thanks for clarification. That's very handy.

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:42 am
by nam
i was trying out the ik solver, and it seems that it's not updating properly. like i made an ik chain, and lets say i move it around, the ik solver, and then i would not want to accept the changes i made, so i left click it, and the ik solver goes back to the original spot, but the ik chain, stays changed, until u move the ik thing again...

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 6:09 pm
by modron
crash when i tried to move an ik solver bone when rest position was enabled.
<edit> knife cursor appears for weight paint.

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:34 pm
by lguillaume
modron wrote: <edit> knife cursor appears for weight paint.
For the cursor, this is normal. Normally later, the cursor will be a pencil

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 5:25 pm
by shadowdragon
When I try and start blender I get an error saying I'm missing gnu_gettext.dll
I've done over and hour of google searching trying to find the file with no such luck. It seems I need this file for almost every new test build that's availible. Is there somewhere I can get it?

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 5:50 pm
by lusque
>shadowdragon

gnu_gettext.dll should be in your blender installation directory, try searching there or download this:

http://blendertestbuilds.de/index.php?d ... 050724.zip

extract and copy the dll in your blender dir.

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:54 pm
by modron
image sequences are loading backwards in the sequencer for some reason.