bf-Blender / Windows (2005/09/12) patch Fluid & Particle

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

bf-Blender / Windows (2005/09/12) patch Fluid & Particle

Post by lguillaume » Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:43 pm

Hello, new version with:
- Bullet Game Engine
- SoC Fluid patch
- New particle stuff

CVS
ton wrote:Bug fix #3033

Using "make parent armature with creating vertex groups" option gave
corrupted memory when one or more bones had the "Deform" option not set.
Was caused by old boneclass SKINNABLE variable. To end this confusement,
removed this define from code.

Note for future Armature tool coders; don't use this bonelooper
functionality. Operations in Object mode for armatures should use the
Pose Channels, which is a simple ListBase to go over. I have to recode
the 'create vertexgroups' still...

Bugfix #2996. Delete vertexgroup didn't update Outliner.

Bugfix #2999. Nkey buttons had a limit for input of 1000.0. That's not
much... made it 10 times larger, to match the max zoom level.

Nevertheless; on our ancient todo is that we once should give number
buttons 2 limits. One for the actual min/max values, and one for the best
sliding experience (matching zoom level or distance for example).

My first DerivedMesh code! :)

Bugfix #3002: Using 'calc weights from envelope' WKey in weightpaint mode
now uses the subsurfered vertex coordinates to calculate weights.
jiri wrote:- when marker is selected, then it's name is highlighted and name is moved
up. It can be useful, when you have many named markers in timeline.
- screenshot: Image
stiv wrote:patch #3011 ] update to curnurb.setFlagU doc, added set and get for Taper
Contributed by Toni Alatalo (antont).

Support for Taper Objects for Curves.
Code for curnurb.setFlagU() method not changed as per discussion on
bf-python mail list.

bugfix: [ #3009 ] possible memory leak in Mathutils

fixed by patch [ #3013 ] patch for memleak in vector
Submitted By: Ken Hughes (khughes)
jiri wrote:- timemarker name is moved up, when current frame equals to frame of timemarker
Downloads:
7zip (1.8MB)
zip (2.4MB]
Last edited by lguillaume on Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Mon Sep 12, 2005 6:22 pm

Hello, I can't compile without yafray, and why? Do you have any problem with Yafray?

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Mon Sep 12, 2005 10:23 pm

Thanks for adding the patches, lguillaume. It sure makes your builds stand out :)
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

mfoxdogg
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:25 am
Location: Duri, Australia
Contact:

Post by mfoxdogg » Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:08 pm

Keep going guys your in a marathon right now (so many features so little time :D )
one question: :D
for just one release can you add the patch for the experimental GI and SSS
I would really like to test it but I can't Build my own Blender (I am Stupid :P :P )

Great Build
I reject reality and substitute my own!!

Bogey
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:07 pm
Location: UK

Post by Bogey » Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:55 pm

Hi lguillaume, thanks for telling me about the boolien
patch not being in the last build. I should have spotted
that.
The fluid sim keeps improving, and I like the progress
bar in the header. At first I thaught it had hung, looking at
the cursor.
Running the old jenga demo in the bullet engine, it seems to
me that the collisions are too energetic for the amount of
gravity. Of course this can be tweaked with damping, but
it seems too strong if this is the default.
Havent got round to cheaking softbodies, particles ect, ect.

cheers,

Bogey.

Bogey
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:07 pm
Location: UK

Post by Bogey » Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:19 pm

this is really a ps,
I have noticed while editing a mesh, after a split
operation, it draws the selected faces strangely/
differently, and smooting groups are not drawn
correctly until you leave edit mode.

Bogey.

pildanovak
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2002 9:32 am
Contact:

Post by pildanovak » Wed Sep 14, 2005 1:35 pm

Hi, the new particles are awesome. I needed to scatter some hair on a fly and i just painted it!

UglyMike
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:34 am

Post by UglyMike » Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:11 pm

Hey, Pildanovak

Show us!! :D

pildanovak
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2002 9:32 am
Contact:

Post by pildanovak » Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:50 am

this is not finished, but the basic workflow can be- setup static particles(wt a step so that there's only one at one place of the surface), then weight paint the group you need, make dupliverts of objects(hair in this case)
Image

thoro
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by thoro » Thu Sep 15, 2005 12:32 pm

pildanovak, that looks very good! I'd like to try the new particle stuff, too. Is there a description somewhere? I looked at the Info Center but wasn't able to find something...

poutsa
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Munich (Germany)

Post by poutsa » Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:37 pm

Hallo Thoro!

you can find this here about description Particles:

http://users.utu.fi/jhkarh/prog/bs_part1.html

also i believe there is a Problem in this Build with the Fluid Folder Browser!
You canot choose a Folder you Prefer to bake the Fluids !!!!!

Vassilios Boucer

lusque
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:53 am

Post by lusque » Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:10 pm

Hi, I think I found a bug. I was doing this mini-tut at the orange blog here:
http://orange.blender.org/blog/the-alte ... od#more-37
and after adding the hooks blender crashed!

To replicate do as follows and don't exit edit-mode until the end:
-add a plane
-select the upper 2 points
-extrude up 4 or 5 times
-select the lower 2 points and add a hook (CTRL-H) with a new empty
-do this with each horizontal lines of 2 vertices until you have done them all the way up
-exit edit-mode and Blender crashes

important: Blender crashes only if you extrude the vertices and add hooks without leaving edit-mode. If you extrude, exit and enter edit-mode, add the hooks, exit edit-mode, Blender keeps running nicely.

EDIT:
found another, a shortcut misbehaviour:

when you're in armature edit-mode if you press KEY-U as a result you go back by 1 undo step.
If you instead go to 3dviewheader>>Armature>>Undo Editing (shortcut: KEY-U) as a result Blender reloads the original data.

and another in editing mesh:

in edit-mode if you want to "reload original data" you can go to
3dHeaderMenu>>Mesh>>Undo History>>Undo All Changes (shortcut Ctrl-U)
But if you press Crtl-U in the 3d window you get a "Save User Defaults?"
Last edited by lusque on Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TorQ
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 2:03 am

Post by TorQ » Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:13 pm

Wow. The new loopcut tool is painfully slow. I sure hope this changes soon. Also what happened to the loopcut "smooth" option? I hope this comes back as well.

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Thu Sep 15, 2005 8:18 pm

TorQ wrote:Wow. The new loopcut tool is painfully slow. I sure hope this changes soon. Also what happened to the loopcut "smooth" option? I hope this comes back as well.
Hi, when you do a loopcut, if you press SKey you enable smooth :
Image

Post Reply