Page 1 of 2

bf-Blender / Windows (2005/09/25) patch Particle

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:05 am
by lguillaume
Hello, new compilation with last particle Patch (bug found by Luis corrected)
ton wrote:Bugfix #3075

Wave Effect (and build etc) was being converted while the code later on
was reading existing modifiers (and unlinking the converted data).
ton wrote:Bugfix #3085

When you move the mouse, while dragging numbers in buttons (or sliding),
and release it over another button, the release event was passed on to that
button. It happened with Radiosity buttons for example.

Reason; buttons with return event 0 are passing on events to other buttons.
This is needed for LABEL or ROUNDBOX buttons, to prevent them blocking
events when there's another button inside.

Made sure all these number/slider buttons returning B_NOP now.
ton wrote:Bugfix #3089

PoseMode rotate now also supports "Around individual Centers" for rotating.
ton wrote:Bug report #3092

Excluded the 3D cursor from being clipped with the new ALT+B clipping.

Also added a refresh for the object that gets (Pkey) separated in mesh
editmode, might solve issue reported by Campbell.
ton wrote:Bugfix #2948

For using the Fkey (add face) editmesh tool:
prevented triangles being made that are partially a quad face already.

Tools in editmode don't like such situations (tria->quad for example), also
subsurf hates it. :)
ton wrote:Bugfix #2746

In Surface editmode, solid draw mode, curves are drawn in wire now
(where in invisible). Its a simple fix, it shouldn't give issues with
the Nurbana work. :)
n_t wrote:- merged latest version of fluid solver
(fixed shadowed variables warnings, removed cfgparser.hpp,
added cfgparser.h, removed debugging output)
- added support for env. var BLENDER_ELBEEMDEBUG to enable
debugging output again
- fixed missing triangle display (marching cubes produced v3=0 triangles)
- fixed geometry init bug (nearest intersection check
for intersecting objects was messed up)
- changed position of derived mesh creation in DerivedMesh.c
(for some reason the useDeform code is necessary, without it or
with useDeform=0 nothing is displayed)
- 3dviews now update every 2 seconds to show simulation progress
- note: mesh_strip_loose_faces(me); in ./source/blender/blenkernel/intern/mesh.c:937
not necessary anymore?
ton wrote:Bug fix #3094

Playback of sequencer sound crashed in combination with dupliverted
Objects. (confirmed in osx only btw).

Found out there's old not-needed code in the update_for_newframe() call,
that was intended to do updates for Manipulators (calling countall()).
In countall(), the entire duplilists were generated over, just for
counting the totals.

First step was removing the countall from update_for_newframe, and added
a count_duplilist() call which doesn't generate the full duplilist. That
made Blender not crashing anymore, but gives "Error totblock", without
printing the block names even...

The weird thing also was that the crash showed severe memory corruption in
the malloc library, when combining audio scrubbing (SDL) and duplilists.

I now suspect there's a remaining issue with DerivedMesh, but for that I
need help from Daniel.
ton wrote:Old error... on ctrl+clicking new bones, the envelope bone distances were
not correctly flushed for connected bones.
jiri wrote:- one line bug fix: when user changed position of keys in Ipo Curve Editor,
then position of keys weren't redrawn in Timeline
ton wrote:Made WeightPaint use shaded mode. This thanks to the preparations as done
by daniel before. :)
Note; the shaded display uses smooth normals by default, because thats how
the derived mesh works!

Daniel; I've changed the G_WEIGHTPAINT hack in derivedmesh code... no idea
how this could work even. Still ugly though.
ton wrote:Made sure in vpaint, wpaint and tpaint the "draw extra wire" shows identical
as for non-paint drawmodes. I guess this exception was from period before
we had subsurfed paint drawing... right daniel?
ton wrote:Created a new sub-context ("tab") for all physics related button panels.
There we can find now Particles, Fields & deflectors, Soft Body and Fluids.
This also as preparation for more work on the particle side (becomes two
panels).

Also renamed panels, and made sure the name "Soft Body" is spelled every-
where the same!

It uses an icon as was designed long ago already. Needs some thinking...
ton wrote:bugfix #3100
Hrms... previous commit here to make sure faces are not added 'double',
caused a part in removedoubles not to work well, removing too many
faces. Solved it more proper now.
ton wrote:Bug fix #3098

Grmble... and now the feature ALT+J 'join triangles' broke. :)
Also found out the Fkey option didn't work anymore on 2 triangles (makes 1
quad too). Luckily we got people testing eh!
theeth wrote:Various Transform bugfixes.

- Trackball rotate was missing the NoConstraints flag
- Zooming didn't recalculate the 2D center correctly
- Zooming in transform was sending event to the 3D window even when working on UVs. (disabled when working on UVs for now, will need to send events to a 2D window handler eventually)
- In camera mode, when the selection was exactly on the camera, initgrabz was barfing, fallback to 1.0 now, which gives ok results.
guitargeek wrote:A fix for edgeslide non-prop mode sticking at 0%.
ton wrote:New!
Hooks now support vertex groups. With weight painting it looks very
interesting. Almost z-painting! :) Try a sphere with all vertices in a
group, hook it, and scale empty in object mode a bit.
Image
(Which gives the idea to make a Displace Modifier working with normals and
vertexgroups..)

Works as follows now; in Mesh editmode, when no vertices are selected, it
tries to assign on CTRL+H command the active Vertex Group. (Menu is getting
to long now... need to think over). Only works when vertices are assigned
to a Vertex Group, this to calculate the Hook center.
Downloads:

7zip (1901kB)
zip (2509kB)

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:53 pm
by thoro
Thanks for this build - just in time. I'm animating like hell to get something for this year's Art Festival :D.

"PoseMode rotate now also supports "Around individual Centers" for rotating." - that's a great help!

By the way, my workflow shows that I frequently use the [C] key in the Action Editor (center View to current frame), couldn't this also become a hotkey in the Ipo Curve Editor? This would be very helpful, it's a pain to scroll to the current frame.

It would also be great if there was a funcionality in the Action Editor to hide channels with [H] and unhide them with [ALT] + [H] or/and sort them (up/down) or bundle them in folders. And it would be cool if you could use [ALT] + [C] to center view to current frame AND channel/bone.

I'm amazed, Blender is really flourishing... thanks to all the developers.

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:16 pm
by Toon_Scheur
About Alt+J. My experience is that it never worked correctly (I know... put it in the bug tracker). Most of the time it refuses to join 2 triangles, I have to delete the triangle faces manualy, then select the 4 vertices and then F key.

Also it would be neat if it has the same functionality as Lightwave, that is being able to convert 2 quads that looks like they were 2 triangles to 1 quad. This often happens after a spin edge.

Code: Select all

  
                      .     
                    / |\ 
                  /   |  \
               ./     .    \.
                \     |   /
                  \   | /
                    \ .   
Two Quads sharing two edges

This would really help out to clean up and control mesh topology. :)

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 5:24 pm
by Koba
Nice build.

I especially like the weight painting feature using Hooks. I think I may use it as an alternative to dispacemetn mapping.

That said, could anyone kindly tell me if it possibly to use an image to set the weights instead of painting it all within Blender?

Thank you.

Koba

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:56 pm
by Zsolt
Thanks for the build, and all the cool new features, once again!

Two things though:
- The view clipping with Alt-B disables selection, I can't select anything with the right mouse button.
- I don't know what I'm doing wrong with the hooks: I add a sphere, assign all vertices to a vertex group, assign this to a hook. Then no matter how I weight-paint, all of the vertices move with the empty the same amount. Is there some special way to assign the vertex group? I didn't see anything in the Modifiers menu.

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:11 pm
by lguillaume
Zsolt wrote: - I don't know what I'm doing wrong with the hooks: I add a sphere, assign all vertices to a vertex group, assign this to a hook. Then no matter how I weight-paint, all of the vertices move with the empty the same amount. Is there some special way to assign the vertex group? I didn't see anything in the Modifiers menu.
Hi, what do you want to do? You want to try the new function, if yes ton said :
Works as follows now; in Mesh editmode, when no vertices are selected, it tries to assign on CTRL+H command the active Vertex Group. (Menu is getting
to long now... need to think over). Only works when vertices are assigned
to a Vertex Group, this to calculate the Hook center.
My explain :
With a sphere, weightpaint it, if you don't know how you can weightpaint, in the 3d view header, we have a dropdown menu where there is Object mode, Edit mode, ... go in this menu and choose weight paint.
When you finish your weightpainting, go to edit mode and with no vertices selected press Ctrl+HKey and create an empty
After this you can scale the empty tu push or pull vertices.

If this not your problem sorry, I'm not english and I try to do the best to understand all thing on the forum.

For your select problem with clipping, I try and don't have problem, can you explain more what you do, or post screenshot or blendfile in the state of the problem.

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:59 pm
by cekuhnen
hi

i tested the new boolean modifier and i was a bit surprised to see that the created mesh was quite complex again compared to the boolean calculations which were developed by Marc Freixas. did his code not make it into the cvs?

claas

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:18 am
by lguillaume
the SoC project is not yet in BF, perhaps next week :wink:

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 2:02 pm
by solmax
the fluid simulator doesn't seem to take into account animated obstacles. i tried pouring fluid out of a bottle y turning it upside-down, but the fluid behaved as the bottle was standing still. ..anyways great, i didn't expect the have a fluid simulator before late 2006.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 2:30 pm
by lguillaume
solmax wrote:the fluid simulator doesn't seem to take into account animated obstacles. i tried pouring fluid out of a bottle y turning it upside-down, but the fluid behaved as the bottle was standing still. ..anyways great, i didn't expect the have a fluid simulator before late 2006.
For moment obstacles can't be animated, we all wait for animated obstacle.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:34 pm
by kakapo
i have a question about the new ik system:

i think i read somewhere that the new ik system supports automatic creation of an ik target? (so that you don't have to create an helper bone or an empty manually)

how can i use this feature? (if it exists)

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:33 pm
by hellmoon666
http://www.blender.org/cms/Inverse_Kine ... 663.0.html

so "to enable IK solving, select the tip of the chain and press CTRL+I"

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 6:42 pm
by kakapo
hellmoon666 wrote:so "to enable IK solving, select the tip of the chain and press CTRL+I"
thanks! i didn't use ctrl+i but the [add contraint] button. this is a nice shortcut!

however i thought that this feature would create some kind of special bone which looks similar to an empty and is part of the armature? wouldn't that be advantageous because the ik target could be a part of actions then?

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:09 pm
by Toon_Scheur
The radial blend type kicks ass. But how about animating them? Just like a real CD, the colors changes depending on the viewing angle. I tried ramp shading coupled to energy, rotating the disc, but all that doesn't give the right animation a was looking for. Is this possible through another workaround, or is that something that has to be build in for this?

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:43 pm
by ElBarto
Again, the new version will have very nice features but the GUI needs smoothness.

Here is my proposal for the fluid panel:
Image