bf-Blender / Linux (2005/09/26)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-Blender / Linux (2005/09/26)

Post by gabio » Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:49 pm

Time for an update.
Sorry for this long post.
This is the default build, including game engine, sumo.
Bullet still don't compile, don't have time to check.
Done with glib 2.3.5 and python 2.4
-----------------------
Relevant feature:
-bugfixes
-Roland Hess' Floor Constraint patch:
-realtime boleans modifier
-bpy: new module: Blender.Key, Allowing EVENT spacehandlers to call the file selector,
-T3 port: having a "mini gimp" in image editor
-bpy: upport for Taper Objects for Curves.
-Added hotkeys for rendering animation (Ctrl F12) and playing back animation (Ctrl F11)
-the famous Unicode Font support!
-Fluid simulation in Blender!
-Added 'Radial' blend texture type
-RVK (relative vertex keys) work for Curve objects
-Option to play sequence strips (Movie, Image, Scene) in reverse.
-Made WeightPaint use shaded mode.
-UI change: Created a new sub-context ("tab") for all physics related button panels.
-Hooks now support vertex groups.
-Cleanup and new features for vertex keys.

Commit:
-ton
Log:
Three armature fixes (yes, i'm in studio orange!)

- on adding armatures, the "use vertexgroup" and "use envelope" options
are now on.
- fixed ancient bug; on duplicate bone in editmode, it popped to the
origin of armature, if parent bone was not selected and current bone not
connected.
- subdivide bones now follows the Mirror edit option too

-theeth
Log:
Roland Hess' Floor Constraint patch: https://projects.blender.org/tracker/?f ... 9&atid=127

Minor modifications to simplify the code in evaluate_constraint.

The "Stick" feature will need more work as it gives bad results when skipping frames, jumping around on the timeline and when going backward in time.

Suggestion: Would be nice if it could use the local space too, not just global space planes.

-guitargeek
Log:
This patch adds:

Add Intersect Modifier
Add Union Modifier
Add Difference Modifier

to the W key menu

Select 2 mesh object and press W. Then select a modifier entry. The active mesh selection will get a boolean modifier of the type selected with the inactive selection as target.

-ton
Log:
Fix for weight painting errors, as reported by Bassam.

- Undo/Redo didn't work
- Crash on using weightpaint with Armature-modifier (instead of parent).

Note: checking if an object is being deformed cannot be simply done with
checking for a parent anymore... for this a call in modifier.c has been
added; modifiers_isDeformedByArmature(Object *). It even returns the
Armature object pointer.

Log:
Added icons for outliner display of Modifiers. Used ones as provided by
Eckhard Jaeger on forums. http://download.blender.org/demo/test/rt9.jpg

Notes;
- made new Armature icon, based on looks of Action icon. Using a Bone icon
for everything was too confusing
- made softbody icon softer... it looked like a water drop, something that
would be better for Fluid stuff later :)
- the Modifier icon itself (wrench) looks a bit too much like a tool... but
its a clear icon that stands out.

-guitargeek
Log:
Removing Auto-Fgon feature till it can be a little better implemented and integrated

-ianwill
Log:
BPython:

- Pontus Lidman contributed a new module: Blender.Key + access to key objects from NMesh, Lattice and Curve + docs (thanks and sorry for taking so long to check/commit the patch!)

- Allowing EVENT spacehandlers to call the file selector (scriptlinks in general are not allowed, but this special case should be able to). Requested by Paolo Colombo (thanks!)

- tiny doc update (Ken Hughes pointed an error in the space handlers example)

I didn't have time to update the Key module to follow the current bpython design, will do that later and also test it better than I did.

-ton
Log:
Fix for armature deform: if there's a vertexgroup on a vertex, but not with
bone assigned to the group (like for softbody) the envelope-deform was not
applied.

Log:
Fix: when using in WeightPaint the Wkey option for the first time (no
vertex groups yet on Mesh), the undobuffer for Wpaint got corrupt.

-intrr
Log:
New feature for edgeslide: Holding SHIFT now slows down movement by factor
10 (like transform()) and allows for fine-tuning the loop with hairy
reference edges.

-bjornmose
Log:
having a "mini gimp" in image editor
{ hope it does not break builds .. mscv6 .. scons works fine here }

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #3033

Using "make parent armature with creating vertex groups" option gave
corrupted memory when one or more bones had the "Deform" option not set.
Was caused by old boneclass SKINNABLE variable. To end this confusement,
removed this define from code.

Note for future Armature tool coders; don't use this bonelooper
functionality. Operations in Object mode for armatures should use the
Pose Channels, which is a simple ListBase to go over. I have to recode
the 'create vertexgroups' still...

Log:
Bugfix #2996. Delete vertexgroup didn't update Outliner.

Log:
Bugfix #2999. Nkey buttons had a limit for input of 1000.0. That's not
much... made it 10 times larger, to match the max zoom level.

Nevertheless; on our ancient todo is that we once should give number
buttons 2 limits. One for the actual min/max values, and one for the best
sliding experience (matching zoom level or distance for example).

Log:
My first DerivedMesh code! :)

Bugfix #3002: Using 'calc weights from envelope' WKey in weightpaint mode
now uses the subsurfered vertex coordinates to calculate weights.

-jiri
Log:
- when marker is selected, then it's name is highlighted and name is moved
up. It can be useful, when you have many named markers in timeline.
- screenshot: Image

-stiv
Log:
patch #3011 ] update to curnurb.setFlagU doc, added set and get for Taper
Contributed by Toni Alatalo (antont).

Support for Taper Objects for Curves.
Code for curnurb.setFlagU() method not changed as per discussion on
bf-python mail list.

Log:
bugfix: [ #3009 ] possible memory leak in Mathutils

fixed by patch [ #3013 ] patch for memleak in vector
Submitted By: Ken Hughes (khughes)

-jiri
Log:
- timemarker name is moved up, when current frame equals to frame of timemarker

-ton
Log:
Checked some regression files (2.37) and found issues with correct backward
conversion of data still. Remains a painful issue to get things converted
and in same time prevent things from calculated twice. :)

Anyhoo, issue was that old files with armatures in hidden layers went wrong

Log:
Bugfix #3040, the new 'roundbox' button disabled copy/paste values in
buttons. You could notice that for Constraint and Modifier panels.

Log:
Bug fix #3026

Pulldown Mode select (3d header) failed to enter posemode in editmode,
but only when posemode was already set for armature

-guitargeek
Log:
Fix for bug #3024

In non-prop mode for edgeslide, loop would not return to proper position after cancel.

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #3042

Button "text on curve" did not remake DAG dependencies, so editing the
curve gave no updates in text.

Log:
Small fixes;

- "make track" in posemode only worked for objects, so disabled it for now
- in weightpaint, "Clear rotation/location" worked on armature-pose, as well
as on object. Was confusing... disabled clearing object in weightpaint.

Log:
Exclude only-shadow lamps to be rendered when the main render option
"shadow" is off.
Bugfix 3018

-bjornmose
Log:
bug fix:
UV paint tool did not work with swapped mouse buttons in user prefs.

-broken
Log:
* Added hotkeys for rendering animation (Ctrl F12) and playing back
animation (Ctrl F11) similar to rendering a still with F12 and showing it in
the buffer with F11.

-bjornmose
og:
KEYC pops up 'paint tool'
was always there .. but noone but me knew

-intrr
Log:
On behalf of Mika Saari, the famous Unicode Font support!

Further information is available here:

http://wiki.blender.org/bin/view.pl/Ble ... codeFont3D

Shortlist of features:

- Unicode character support for Font3D
- UI to select characters from Unicode character list
- UI to select Unicode table areas
- Optimized character loading (Load only those characters which are used
in font object)

Please test extensively if it breaks anything, try also loading/saving
files, packing fonts, etc.

The official text regression file in the regression suite should be a
good start.

Thanks to mikasaari for this very useful addition!

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #3036
Particle emittor parented to Bone in armature didnt update correct.

-intrr
Log:
Fix the "Text to 3D Font" options in the text editor.

Note: The "Insert Text" button pretty much replaces this, together with
the fact that editing 3d text is now much more powerful than the
usual text editor ;-)

-ton
Log:
Small fixes, based on bugreports;

- Toolbox item for shaded mode had wrong hotkey
- Added countall() for select menu stuff (in 3d header, groupmenu)
That way the stats in infoheader are updated.
- Tooltip was wrong for X-axis mirror mode Armatures

-lukep
Log:
initial commit of the fluid simulator.
Ton reviewed and gave his blessing.
Zr, can you have a look ?

see :
http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?fu ... group_id=9

for initial comments.

N_T : the solver itself (elbeem) needs some works to get rid of
warnings

-intrr
Log:
Disabling underlining for text objects with "TextOnCurve", because it can
never work correctly with it, the way it is currently implemented.

The selection won't draw correctly either with TextOnCurve, and this is
really asking a bit much..

What to do...

-ton
Log:
Bugfix #2971

Alpha error in unified render, causing mist and non-ztransp alpha and 'env'
materials not to render correct.

-desoto
Log:
Added 'Radial' blend texture type for created colored radial gradients
like that you might find on a CD. Special thanks to use Phlip in
#blenderchat for help on the math. Thanks Philp!

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #3070
<blush>Missing "2*" caused AO tables to be only initialized half</blush>
Result was bad AO quality in render, and unpredictable brightness. This bug
happened in previous commit, when fixing random table issues.

Log:
Made EditMode armature border-selecting smarter.
Rule now is:
- If there's points in the border, only the points get selected (and an
entire Bone when both points are in border)
- If no points in the border, the tip gets selected for connected Bones,
the entire Bone gets selected for non-connected Bones.

OK OOPz, check this! :)

Log:
Bug fix #3052

Syntax highlight in Text Window crashed with lines > 2000 chars. I now just
skip the highlighting code for these cases, it remains a bit weak code...

Log:
Bug fix #3044

Undid Daniels' commit (version 1.42) for this file, which claimed to fix
"free baked softbody". Result was that baked softbodies couldn't be read
from a file (always were freed).

I tested the free bake, and it works properly. Daniel: your move!

Log:
Bugfix #3041

Missing updates for Textured objects in 3d window, using copy buttons.

-jiri
Log:
- name of marker is printed only when strlen(marker->name) is bigger then
zero
- bug fix (feature request): name of marker isn't pushed out of window,
when timeline window isn't very high (thanks Matt for bug report)

-ton
Log:
Orange request; get RVK (relative vertex keys) work for Curve objects.
Sir yes sir!

-intrr
Log:
Courtesy of Shaul Kedem:

Option to play sequence strips (Movie, Image, Scene) in reverse.
New toggle in the NKEY buttons for sequence strips.

Thanks Shaul!

-jiri
Log:
- interactive joining of two screen areas
- user can interactively select, what screen are will be "kept alive" and
what will be destroyed
- screenshot:

Image

-ton
Log:
Bugfix #3077

Radiosity didn't add edges block, on "Replace Meshes". Caused wireframe
not to draw, but also crashes like for join().

Also: added patch that sets the drawflags in edges derived from the
ones set in faces. This ensures the conversion to be done correct.

TODO: this edges call also used in other areas in code, that has to be
catched and done differently.

-ton
Log:
Bugfix #3075

Wave Effect (and build etc) was being converted while the code later on
was reading existing modifiers (and unlinking the converted data).

-antont
Log:
the missing menu selection for the newly added Curve RVKs

-ton
Log:
Bugfix #3085

When you move the mouse, while dragging numbers in buttons (or sliding),
and release it over another button, the release event was passed on to that
button. It happened with Radiosity buttons for example.

Reason; buttons with return event 0 are passing on events to other buttons.
This is needed for LABEL or ROUNDBOX buttons, to prevent them blocking
events when there's another button inside.

Made sure all these number/slider buttons returning B_NOP now.

Log:
Bugfix #3089

PoseMode rotate now also supports "Around individual Centers" for rotating.

Log:
Bug report #3092

Excluded the 3D cursor from being clipped with the new ALT+B clipping.

Also added a refresh for the object that gets (Pkey) separated in mesh
editmode, might solve issue reported by Campbell.

Log:
Bugfix #2948

For using the Fkey (add face) editmesh tool:
prevented triangles being made that are partially a quad face already.

Tools in editmode don't like such situations (tria->quad for example), also
subsurf hates it. :)

Log:
Bugfix #2746

In Surface editmode, solid draw mode, curves are drawn in wire now
(where in invisible). Its a simple fix, it shouldn't give issues with
the Nurbana work. :)

-n_t
Log:
- merged latest version of fluid solver
(fixed shadowed variables warnings, removed cfgparser.hpp,
added cfgparser.h, removed debugging output)
- added support for env. var BLENDER_ELBEEMDEBUG to enable
debugging output again
- fixed missing triangle display (marching cubes produced v3=0 triangles)
- fixed geometry init bug (nearest intersection check
for intersecting objects was messed up)
- changed position of derived mesh creation in DerivedMesh.c
(for some reason the useDeform code is necessary, without it or
with useDeform=0 nothing is displayed)
- 3dviews now update every 2 seconds to show simulation progress
- note: mesh_strip_loose_faces(me); in ./source/blender/blenkernel/intern/mesh.c:937
not necessary anymore?

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #3094

Playback of sequencer sound crashed in combination with dupliverted
Objects. (confirmed in osx only btw).

Found out there's old not-needed code in the update_for_newframe() call,
that was intended to do updates for Manipulators (calling countall()).
In countall(), the entire duplilists were generated over, just for
counting the totals.

First step was removing the countall from update_for_newframe, and added
a count_duplilist() call which doesn't generate the full duplilist. That
made Blender not crashing anymore, but gives "Error totblock", without
printing the block names even...

The weird thing also was that the crash showed severe memory corruption in
the malloc library, when combining audio scrubbing (SDL) and duplilists.

I now suspect there's a remaining issue with DerivedMesh, but for that I
need help from Daniel.

Log:
Old error... on ctrl+clicking new bones, the envelope bone distances were
not correctly flushed for connected bones.

-jiri
Log:
- one line bug fix: when user changed position of keys in Ipo Curve Editor,
then position of keys weren't redrawn in Timeline

-ton
Log:
Made WeightPaint use shaded mode. This thanks to the preparations as done
by daniel before. :)
Note; the shaded display uses smooth normals by default, because thats how
the derived mesh works!

Daniel; I've changed the G_WEIGHTPAINT hack in derivedmesh code... no idea
how this could work even. Still ugly though.

Log:
Created a new sub-context ("tab") for all physics related button panels.
There we can find now Particles, Fields & deflectors, Soft Body and Fluids.
This also as preparation for more work on the particle side (becomes two
panels).

Also renamed panels, and made sure the name "Soft Body" is spelled every-
where the same!

It uses an icon as was designed long ago already. Needs some thinking...

-stiv
Log:
Patch #3099 - bugfix for #3097.
a little tweak for arg parsing.

Contributed by Ken Hughes. Thanks!

-ton
Log:
bugfix #3100
Hrms... previous commit here to make sure faces are not added 'double',
caused a part in removedoubles not to work well, removing too many
faces. Solved it more proper now.

Log:
Bug fix #3098

Grmble... and now the feature ALT+J 'join triangles' broke. :)
Also found out the Fkey option didn't work anymore on 2 triangles (makes 1
quad too). Luckily we got people testing eh!

-theeth
Log:
Various Transform bugfixes.

- Trackball rotate was missing the NoConstraints flag
- Zooming didn't recalculate the 2D center correctly
- Zooming in transform was sending event to the 3D window even when working on UVs. (disabled when working on UVs for now, will need to send events to a 2D window handler eventually)
- In camera mode, when the selection was exactly on the camera, initgrabz was barfing, fallback to 1.0 now, which gives ok results.

-guitargeek
Log:
A fix for edgeslide non-prop mode sticking at 0%.

-ton
Log:
New!
Hooks now support vertex groups. With weight painting it looks very
interesting. Almost z-painting! :) Try a sphere with all vertices in a
group, hook it, and scale empty in object mode a bit.
Image
(Which gives the idea to make a Displace Modifier working with normals and
vertexgroups..)

Works as follows now; in Mesh editmode, when no vertices are selected, it
tries to assign on CTRL+H command the active Vertex Group. (Menu is getting
to long now... need to think over). Only works when vertices are assigned
to a Vertex Group, this to calculate the Hook center.

-ascotan
Log:
Theeth's mathutils patch
- adds intersections for lines
- triangle area
- tracking quaternion from vector
- some helpful normal calculators

-ton
Log:
Cleanup and new features for vertex keys.

User doc: http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Shape_Keys.678.0.html

- The mixed use of "Vertex Key","Key" or "RVK" in Blender was a bit
confusing. Also a 'vertex key' assumes keys per vertex, which actually is
only a single key for the entire shape. The discussions on blender.org
forums all mentioned "Shape" or "Blend Shapes", which I think is an OK
name for a "Vertex Key" in the UI. :)

- Most work was code spaghetti cleanup. Doing shape-keys now nicely goes
via the depgraph and DerivedMesh. That then allows to have different
shapes per object, with the new "Pin" feature.
Objects now define what Shape is shown (ob->shapenr)

- Added a Shape Panel in the Edit buttons with the various options

- Fixed a lot of issues in the IpoWindow, with drawing the channels.
For example, deleting a key-line there caused the entire Relative option to
go wrong, same for moving the lines up/down.
Changing key-line order now reflects in order of channels. The active
Shape is drawn more clear now too.

- Noticed it doesnt work yet for curves/lattice. Need modifier advise!

-pidhash
Log:
adding sort files in fileselect window by extensions

-ton
Log:
Action editor: drag with LMB did three redraws... causing slowdown. Bug
since 2.0 it seems.

Log:
Maintenance commit;

- *Giant* speedup for LMB frame-dragging in ipo/action/nla windows. It was
calling a routine that accessed frontbuffer drawing.... a very old patch
for SGIs even! :)
- Prepared code for support of unlimited Shape keys
- Curve objects didnt draw correct for selection-outline option

------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

OTO
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:51 pm
Contact:

Post by OTO » Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:52 pm

woaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
A Gabio build at least
thanks thanks ( me bending like a miserable thing that I am) :)

Starting to testing all those fantastic new features

djfuego
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 11:30 am
Contact:

Wow!

Post by djfuego » Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:07 pm

:shock: This is a maffiss update.. I ditched my mandrake.. grrr :( Will wait for Win Build.. Man.. those hooks rule :D

OTO
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:51 pm
Contact:

Post by OTO » Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:32 pm

It's me again

just to say that Blender becames really complex...maybe a new manual?
And Ton? Did this man sleeps...sometimes?

olivs
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by olivs » Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:01 pm

Knowing that Gabio's build was tailored for python2.4, I urged to install it, because since I changed my computer (AMD Turion64, Mandriva LE 2005 x86_64) I couldn't install a 2.3 python (even by compiling it myself; in fact I get the very same troubles as below). But unfortunately, I seem to be unable to work with Blender and python2.4.

I tried this build from Gabio, and went through the usual:
[olivier@icare ~]$ python
Python 2.4 (#2, Feb 13 2005, 22:08:03)
[GCC 3.4.3 (Mandrakelinux 10.1 3.4.3-3mdk)] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import sys
>>> print sys.path
['', '/usr/lib/python24.zip', '/usr/lib64/python2.4', '/usr/lib64/python2.4/plat-linux2', '/usr/lib64/python2.4/lib-tk', '/usr/lib64/python2.4/lib-dynload', '/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages']
I pasted the following line at the end of my .bashrc file (in my home directory):
export PYTHONPATH=/usr/lib/python24.zip:/usr/lib64/python2.4:/usr/lib64/python2.4/plat-linux2:/usr/lib64/python2.4/lib-tk:/usr/lib64/python2.4/lib-dynload
but when launching this build of Blender, I get:
Using Python version 2.4
Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
Could not find platform dependent libraries <exec_prefix>
Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
No installed Python found.
Only built-in modules are available. Some scripts may not run.
Continuing happily.
Of course, issueing a 'env' command shows the python path as taken into account.

Any help is welcome!

Please note that I understand this is developer's forum, but I got no help from elysiun :(

Cheers,
olivS

kidb
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by kidb » Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:05 am

olivs wrote:Knowing that Gabio's build was tailored for python2.4
Build for i386.
olivs wrote: I urged to install it, because since I changed my computer (AMD Turion64, Mandriva LE 2005 x86_64)
You are running an x86_64 system?
There are testbuilds for x86_64 :
http://blendertestbuilds.de/index.php?d ... /20050928/

olivs
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Post by olivs » Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:12 am

kidb wrote:You are running an x86_64 system?
There are testbuilds for x86_64 :
http://blendertestbuilds.de/index.php?d ... /20050928/
ohhh... thank you so much, kidb! I hope it will save my day, but unfortunately I'll have to wait this evening to get back to my home computer and test this build! :)))

Thanks again! :)
olivS

Pinucset
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:27 pm

Post by Pinucset » Wed Sep 28, 2005 2:19 pm

I think theres a bug, make a fluid simulation.

Cube = Domain
Icosphere into the cube = Fluid

BAKE

Put the mouse cursor at the button windows and push alt+a, the animation doesnt play at the 3d windows, but if you put the cursor mouse at the 3d windows you can see the animation.

If somebody can add this bug at the bug tracker I have a little of work, reply there if you have added it at the bug tracker.

Anyway tomorrow maybe I can add this :)

Please reply.

Bye!
You can add me at pinucset@gmail.com on Gmail/Jabber (this adress is not contempled in the profile).

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:51 pm

Pinucset wrote:I think theres a bug, make a fluid simulation.

Cube = Domain
Icosphere into the cube = Fluid

BAKE

Put the mouse cursor at the button windows and push alt+a, the animation doesnt play at the 3d windows, but if you put the cursor mouse at the 3d windows you can see the animation.

If somebody can add this bug at the bug tracker I have a little of work, reply there if you have added it at the bug tracker.

Anyway tomorrow maybe I can add this :)

Please reply.

Bye!
It's not a bug, when you press Alt+A, Blender look the window you are when you push this button so when you are in view3D, it play animation in the view3D and when you are in button it plays the animation in the button screen. To play animation in all area press ALt+Shift+A

Pinucset
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:27 pm

Post by Pinucset » Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:46 pm

lguillaume wrote:
Pinucset wrote:I think theres a bug, make a fluid simulation.

Cube = Domain
Icosphere into the cube = Fluid

BAKE

Put the mouse cursor at the button windows and push alt+a, the animation doesnt play at the 3d windows, but if you put the cursor mouse at the 3d windows you can see the animation.

If somebody can add this bug at the bug tracker I have a little of work, reply there if you have added it at the bug tracker.

Anyway tomorrow maybe I can add this :)

Please reply.

Bye!
It's not a bug, when you press Alt+A, Blender look the window you are when you push this button so when you are in view3D, it play animation in the view3D and when you are in button it plays the animation in the button screen. To play animation in all area press ALt+Shift+A
Oh, sorry, I thought that was a bug...

Sorry, thanks!
You can add me at pinucset@gmail.com on Gmail/Jabber (this adress is not contempled in the profile).

Post Reply