bf-Blender / Windows (05/10/03) + patch

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

bf-Blender / Windows (05/10/03) + patch

Post by lguillaume » Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:20 pm

Hello new compilation:

Patch
Particle form Janne Karhu: bug can be reported at https://projects.blender.org/tracker/in ... 9&atid=127
Wire Shade in Edit Mode from Eric Forsythe: bug can be reported at : https://projects.blender.org/tracker/in ... 9&atid=127
Key name and Pine status in 3dview object name from Johnny Matthews: bug can be reported at : https://projects.blender.org/tracker/in ... 9&atid=127
Vertex Color Baking from Martin Poirier: bug can be reported at : https://projects.blender.org/tracker/in ... 9&atid=127

CVS


guitargeek wrote:A little more cleanup of the loopcut code. Hoping to gain some speed, and letting qread() finish its work instead of breaking. I think this may have been causing trouble.
desoto wrote:This commit sets the info header on the preferences window and the
header prints on the 3d view header to be the same color as the menu text.
This ensures that you can read the text against the color of the header
just as long as the theme color for the menu text is also readable against
the header color. This should make dark themes much better.
ton wrote:Crash fix; rendering AO with envmap on didn't work.

Note that envmaps still render without raytracing.
zuster wrote:- add support for Python Buffer()s of type DOUBLE
theeth wrote:Fixing bones grab in "pose" transform. Bug #3030: http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?fu ... group_id=9

It didn't do initgrabz correctly.
theeth wrote:Transform MMB behavior correction, as mentionned in meeting.

MMB uses global axis, Ctrl-MMB uses user defined. (Alt-MMB cause conflict with the window manager on linux)

(for hotkeys, first press is global, second press is user defined)
ton wrote:Version 1.0 of IpoDrivers.

First note that this is new functionality, unfinished, and only for
testing and feedback purposes. I'll list below what works, and what will
need work still.

This text is also in cms: http://www.blender.org/cms/Ipo_Drivers.680.0.html

An IpoDriver is like an IpoCurve, but instead of a Bezier curve, it allows
to connect a property of other Objects as input for the "channel". For
example, IpoDrivers can be used to have a Shape Key being "driven" by
the rotation of a Bone. Or the RGB colors of a Material get driven by the
XYZ location of an Object.

Editing of Drivers happens in the IpoWindow. Here you can notice that the
channels (right hand window) now have an "active" channel indicator.
To add a Driver, you have to use the "Transform Properties" Panel (Nkey).
Here you can add or remove a Driver to the active channel, and use the
buttons to fill in what kind of relationship you want to establish.

Driver Objects

Note that any Ipo Channel can become driven now, but that only Object
transformation or Pose Bone transformation can be used to become a
Driver now.
At this moment, only the local transformation is taken into account.
For Objects that means the location/rotation/scale value without Parent
transform (as shown in "Transform Properties" Panel for Objects).
For Pose Bones it means that only the Pose transform (changes of rest
position) is Driver information (also as shown in Transform Property
Panel in Pose Mode).

Mapping of Drivers

When an Ipo Channel is "driven", the mapping is by default one-to-one.
It is only restricted by already built-in limits for Channels, like
for Material the "R" value can only range from 0.0 to 1.0.

Also note that when mapping rotations, the actual rotation values
in Ipos are scaled down with a factor 10.0. (180 degrees actually has
in the Ipo system a value of 18.0). This is an ancient year zero
convention in Blender... it is a bit hidden, because the ruler
(vertical as well as horizontal) displays the virtual values correctly.
Only the Properties panel shows the actual value.

When you draw an IpoCurve in a Driven channel, this curve will define
the mapping between the Driver output (horizontal) and Driven input
(vertical, as usual).
A nice new option to use is "Insert one-to-one curve" (press I-key,
or in pulldown menu). This will also zoom the display in exactly to
fill the window, allowing easy edit. If you use this option with
degrees, it will map 180 degree rotation to a range of 1.0 unit.

Live updates

Since the Drivers are integrated in the Ipo system, they will always
be updated whenever an Ipo is evaluated. This happens at least on
frame changes.
For interactive feedback, updates while transforming objects were
added in these cases:

- Driven Object Ipos, by other Objects or Pose Bones
- Driven Shape Key Ipos, by other Objects or Pose Bones

You can also insert Drivers on Action Ipos, but these are only evaluated
on frame change now.

Todo

- Drivers can also get a text button, allowing a 1 line Python script
to be executed.
- Make UI for it a bit less hidden... maybe with visualization in 3D?
- Allowing global transform coordinates as Driver too.

Issues

- renaming Bones won't rename drivers
- (file) appending the Ipo won't append the linked driver Objects
ton wrote:Driver fix; entering a non-existant object name in driver Panel crashed.
ton wrote:Ipowindow header: Curve menu crashed when no curve was created yet.
ton wrote:Bug fix; action editor, inserting mesh keys crashed. Referencing ipo stuff.

(yes, studio orange is testing :)
guitargeek wrote:bug #2909

header is redrawn at the end of loopcut to fix part 2 of the bug , my previous commit fixed the first half of it :)
ton wrote:Bugfix #3046

When using 3d window "unlocked" (own layer and own camera possible), the
dependency updates didn't work, these were only using Scene layers.

Changed the dependency graph call DAG_scene_flush_update()
to accept an argument for all visible layers in a Screen.
ton wrote:Bugfix #3138

Editbuttons "Centre" options didn't correctly use depgraph for linked data.
ton wrote:Bugfix #3133

- Rendering an image with Border didn't check for sizes smaller than 1
pixel yet.

Related to this code I found 2 other fixes:

- Themecolor set for drawing in Render Window was not restored correctly,
sometimes causing into wrong Panel (transparency) drawing.

- When rendering an image with Gauss, it now renders by default 1 pixel
extra, which gets stripped. This eliminates the "ugly" darker border
in images.
(Yes, let's make Mr. PixelCounter Goralczyk happy! :)
ton wrote:IpoWindow, Action curve update.

When no Ipo existed yet for an Action Channel (Bone), you could not add
curves with CTRL+click or Drivers. This was due to antique action code
state... it's still messy, no time for big cleanup here yet. At least
this works now. :)

(Also: removed test prints of previous commit)
ton wrote:New! Edit mode curve now draws solid extrusions, bevelcurves and tapers.

Fix: when unlinking an Action from Armature, the ipo window still allowed
adding drivers, causing crashes.
antont wrote:added getting names of shapes/KeyBlocks to bpy api so mikasaari can continue with his lipsync script (where names of phonemes are as names of shapes/keyblocks).
ton wrote:Adding Drivers in Actions now update live as well.


The main change is that an Action now always updates Poses on transform,
unless you are editing the Pose itself. Please test!
broken wrote:* Added copying curve resolution settings to the copy attributes (ctrl c) menu
ton wrote:NLA window:
Insert a NLA strip makes it size 100 frames if the actual action is smaller
than 2 frames, otherwise you cannot even select it :)
khughes wrote:Added new BPython thin mesh module
Downloads:
7zip (1910KB)
zip (2519KB)
Last edited by lguillaume on Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Tue Oct 04, 2005 4:55 am

ding dong!
We are the 20051003!

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo » Tue Oct 04, 2005 5:45 am

Thanks for all the patches!

Wire shade and subsurf applied to the editing cage = instant crash
:-) Hosting for your test builds:
GraphicAll.org

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:06 am

gabio wrote:ding dong!
We are the 20051003!
Merci.

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:00 pm

ZanQdo wrote:Thanks for all the patches!

Wire shade and subsurf applied to the editing cage = instant crash
Bug send in the patch tracker

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo » Tue Oct 04, 2005 4:08 pm

Thanks, this patch rocks, Ill just not use subsurf applied by the moment :D
:-) Hosting for your test builds:
GraphicAll.org

crsrma
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:47 pm

Post by crsrma » Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:40 pm

No Ashikhmin shader patch? It goes so nicely with the new static particle stuff, though. :wink:

Just curious; are these patches still not in the normal cvs repository? Some of them seem to have been in limbo for some time now, however, you seem quite successful in making them get along in your compiles.

Much thanks.

Toon_Scheur
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 6:20 pm

Post by Toon_Scheur » Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:22 pm

It would be totaly insane (and to much to ask too I think) if Blackmage's distributed raytrace patch could be added too. :P

djfuego
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 11:30 am
Contact:

Woohoo!

Post by djfuego » Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:22 pm

Next version of Blender is going to be the best yet! Oh it's good innit! I like the look of the new fluids and particle systems. AWESOME! 8)

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:23 pm

Toon_Scheur wrote:It would be totaly insane (and to much to ask too I think) if Blackmage's distributed raytrace patch could be added too. :P
It impossible in the current CVS too many change in the source, if there is a patch for the current CVS, send me the link but for now impossible without a lot of work, and I'm not a coder

madcello
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 10:51 pm

Post by madcello » Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:46 am

Wire shade is a big help!
Have no knowledge to talk about the rest.

I think it's better for the Wire shade to pick the color in witch the selected and unselected objects are and apply the "degrade". If you have the WS active and press "A", half of the objects doesn't look selected. Another thing is with zoom "and WS active", the 3d view doesn't redraw very well, looks like dashed lines.

Another thing, i'm seeing the edges in an f-gon, and dont want to, is this an option?

Thank you ! :D

poutsa
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Munich (Germany)

Post by poutsa » Wed Oct 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Insert Text not Vissible!!(in Edit mode)!

also some bug if you V- Paint Group and Hooked you see Rosa Colour Mesh sometimes..in Open GL!?
The same......
if you use New File you see in your New Scene (Starting Scene) The Cube is Rosa Colour again!!!!!!



Vassilios Boucer

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:14 am

poutsa wrote:Insert Text not Vissible!!(in Edit mode)!

also some bug if you V- Paint Group and Hooked you see Rosa Colour Mesh sometimes..in Open GL!?
The same......
if you use New File you see in your New Scene (Starting Scene) The Cube is Rosa Colour again!!!!!!



Vassilios Boucer
Hello, for the first, I make a bug report for you, for the second, can you send me image or blend file, I try but I don't have the same problem.

Thanks to testing.

poutsa
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Munich (Germany)

Post by poutsa » Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:43 pm

Hallo Iguillaume!

About the second Problem "Rosa Colour Mesh in Open GL"!
Follow this Steps to see it:
Select the Cube from Starting Scene!
Enter Edit Mode and Select all Vertices
Then Go to Editing Buttons F9 and add a New Vetex Group (group) and press Assign!
Then Exit from Edit Mode and go to Weight Paint mode
Then go back to Object mode and you see the Cube is Rosa Colour in Open GL Draw mode!!
After this go to File Menue and and choose NEW ...erase All so you see the New Starting Scene the Cube is Rosa Colour again in Open GL mode!

Is this a Bug or Normal!!!!????????????

Vassilios Boucer

lguillaume
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:25 pm

Post by lguillaume » Thu Oct 06, 2005 3:25 pm

poutsa wrote:Hallo Iguillaume!

About the second Problem "Rosa Colour Mesh in Open GL"!
Follow this Steps to see it:
Select the Cube from Starting Scene!
Enter Edit Mode and Select all Vertices
Then Go to Editing Buttons F9 and add a New Vetex Group (group) and press Assign!
Then Exit from Edit Mode and go to Weight Paint mode
Then go back to Object mode and you see the Cube is Rosa Colour in Open GL Draw mode!!
After this go to File Menue and and choose NEW ...erase All so you see the New Starting Scene the Cube is Rosa Colour again in Open GL mode!

Is this a Bug or Normal!!!!????????????

Vassilios Boucer
Bug posted at https://projects.blender.org/tracker/?f ... 9&atid=125

Post Reply