Page 1 of 2

bf-blender windows (2005-12-03)+Optimization+Caronte's patch

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 7:36 pm
by Caronte
Hi, I'm a newbye compiling Blender and using Cygwin, so test it at your own risk ;)

Download Blender (windows & optimized for new processors) more speed
Download Blender (windows & all processors)
Download patch only

Hacks: (2005-12-03) 8)
- New build optimized for new processors (most for Athlon-XP, but Pentium-IV works too) more sssspeed!!.

Hacks: (2005-12-03) 8)
- Big update! doubled the thumbnails size in the SELECT IMAGE window.
Now, you can see a lot better the texture you want to load.

Hacks: (2005-12-01) 8)
- Udpated with Python 2.4 and latest code from bjornmose (10X faster softbodies).

Hacks: (2005-11-27) 8)
- Removed level "11" of OSA and added level "1". Good to fast previews where no-osa no looks good (i.e.: textures).

Hacks: (2005-11-26) 8)
- Now you can do a progressive render (like with the script of Mariano Hidalgo a.k.a uselessdreamer) if you select [DispView] (nice for fast feedback) also work with Yafray using XML button.

Hacks: (2005-11-24) 8)
- Now the render percentages go up to 400% (nice to close-up border renders)
- Now the AO Energy slider can be increased up to 10. (nice for dark world textures).

Enjoy! :wink:

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:28 am
by Caronte
New Hack:
- Now you can do a progressive render (like with the script of Mariano Hidalgo a.k.a uselessdreamer) if you select [DispView]

Enjoy 8)

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:05 am
by Money_YaY!
0_o NEAT! Small request ... Could you provide a patch so i could try and build an osx version of it ?

Also a better place for it might be the seq window, that way it can do constant render passes, while the user keeps editing the scene, and they can leave the room for a sec and some back to a nice clean render even if they for got the hit the render button.... Would be great for setting up lights and stuff

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:26 am
by Koba
Amazing.

I only bumped into the progressive render script recently and I liked it. Never would I have imagined that I would see it in binary form so fast. Great work!

What I am wondering is how much longer does a progressive render take over a normal one? Is each pass a seperate render or does the algorithm retain useful information from one pass to the next?

I suppose I could go find a benchmark scene and answer those questions myself.

Koba

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:29 pm
by Caronte
Money_YaY! wrote:0_o NEAT! Small request ... Could you provide a patch so i could try and build an osx version of it ?
I see how to do it and tell you ;)

Koba, the progressive render is the same as the script, (separate renders) y haven't time to code more complicated things, I only do these builds to increasse my own productivity, but I share it because someone can find it usefull.

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 6:38 pm
by Caronte
Ok. I don't know if it's well done, because it's my first patch so test it ;)

How to apply these patchs?

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 9:41 pm
by jedrzej_s
Caronte -> This experimental build is GREAT !!! Will this progressive render be in 2.40 ??? This will be so cool !!!

P.S. Progressive render work with YafRay 0.0.8-2 !!!!!!!!! This is very useful for rendering with YafRay !!!!!!!!!!

THX for GOOD WORK !

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:46 pm
by LetterRip
i doubt it will be in 2.40 we are in feature freeze right now, so it is late in the game, the only thing that is supposed to go in are fixes, and the scripts. (Core coders get some leeway).

LetterRip

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:26 pm
by Caronte
I think Blender needs a "real" progressive render and need don't frezze the interface while rendering.
This way we could have a powerfull realtime window preview to tweak (like in XSI).

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 4:08 am
by LetterRip
Caronte,

I'm sure Ton is probably giving it strong consideration, he has just started his renderer rewrite work, and it is unclear what all he will be able to accomplish over the time period he has allocated.

LetterRip

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:48 pm
by Caronte
Hacks: (2005-11-27) 8)
- Removed level "11" of OSA and added level "1". Good to fast previews where no-osa no looks good (i.e.: textures). (level "11" rare used).

Updated links on the first post.

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:29 pm
by LetterRip
If you click the OSA button it disables OSA.

LetterRip

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:38 pm
by Caronte
LetterRip wrote:If you click the OSA button it disables OSA.

LetterRip
I know it :lol: but textures looks very bad. My way, you can do a bit of OSA and keep the rendertime low.

Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:32 am
by kidb
Quick and dirty and untested build for x86_64 on:
http://blendertestbuilds.de/index.php?d ... /20051128/

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:36 pm
by phrangkk
any chance someone could do a build using python 2.4?

I don't have any older versions of blender installed and would love to try this out!