bf-blender / Linux x86 2.40RC1 (2005/11/27) RC BUILD

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

djcapelis
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:24 am
Location: Ca, US

bf-blender / Linux x86 2.40RC1 (2005/11/27) RC BUILD

Post by djcapelis » Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:41 pm

These are the official builds for x86 Linux for Blender 2.40RC1.

(EDITED NOTE: This RC version crashes when combining hair strands with mirror or transparent raytracing, this bug is fixed! -Ton-)

Please test these builds and report any issues with them.

For Systems with Python 2.4: Hardware Accelerated (Dynamic) - Software GL (Static)
For Systems with Python 2.3: Hardware Accelerated (Dynamic) - Software GL (Static)

Enjoy, have fun, and above all, report bugs! Everytime you leave a bug unreported, someone on the dev team dies a little bit more inside, save the developers, report bugs.
Last edited by djcapelis on Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Burre
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:00 am

Post by Burre » Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:10 pm

Will this be the "beta" or just a regular test build? Any win-builds available?

djcapelis
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:24 am
Location: Ca, US

Post by djcapelis » Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:15 pm

This is the first release candidate of the 2.40 series, builds for the other platforms will be on their way shortly.

Ongnissim
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:25 am

Post by Ongnissim » Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:32 am

Sorry, I will probably post this in the Bug Tracker, but I need to know if anyone else experiences a crash when they try to use raytraced shadows with TransShad on for a particle material. I have recreated this, and TransShad works on non-particle objects, and the particles render without transShad with a raytraced lamp, but not with transShad AND a raytraced lamp. Has anyone else had this problem? I used the Python 2.4 Build above.

Hold on Tight,
Ongnissim

OTO
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:51 pm
Contact:

Post by OTO » Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:32 am

Hello and thank you for the Linux build
Go for thard testing
Bye

shadowman99
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:14 am

Post by shadowman99 » Tue Nov 29, 2005 1:03 am

Ongnissim wrote:... I need to know if anyone else experiences a crash when they try to use raytraced shadows with TransShad on for a particle material. ... I used the Python 2.4 Build above.
I have had the same problem.

Ongnissim
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:25 am

Post by Ongnissim » Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:04 am

So when willa new binary be out; in the final release? Also, will the final release have the FFMPEG codec choices?

Hold on Tight,
Ongnissim

brianglass
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:37 pm

face and edge loop selection

Post by brianglass » Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:48 pm

I noticed there is not face or edge loop selection for some reason. Is this a new "feature," or is it simply missing from this test build and will be added back later?

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip » Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:28 pm

loop selection is now modal, alt rmb will select a edge loop, vert loop or face oop depending on which mode you are in.

LetterRip

OTO
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:51 pm
Contact:

Post by OTO » Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:21 pm

Shift-Alt I guess?!

kxs
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Poland

Post by kxs » Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:37 pm

Maybe there should be a shortcut next to Space->Render->Anim?

And by the way, what does Space->Render->Passepartout do? I thought that it maybe turns camer`s passepartout on and off but it doesn`t :?

kxs
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Poland

Post by kxs » Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:54 am

In Camera View the G->X/Y/Z shortcuts doesn`t work. Only when I hit X/Y/Z for the second time, camera moves on the local axis.

Waand
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Re: bf-blender / Linux x86 2.40RC1 (2005/11/27) RC BUILD

Post by Waand » Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:50 pm

djcapelis wrote:These are the official builds for x86 Linux for Blender 2.40RC1.

Please test these builds and report any issues with them.
Hi,
I'm not quite sure if it is a bug, but blender 2.40rc1 (both static and dynamic) version crashes during start-up (segmentation fault):
jadarkstar:~/blender-2.40rc1-linux-glibc232-py23-i386$ gdb blender
GNU gdb 5.3
Copyright 2002 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
GDB is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License, and you are
welcome to change it and/or distribute copies of it under certain conditions.
Type "show copying" to see the conditions.
There is absolutely no warranty for GDB. Type "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i386-slackware-linux"...(no debugging symbols found)...
(gdb) run
Starting program: /home/ja/blender-2.40rc1-linux-glibc232-py23-i386/blender
(no debugging symbols found)...[New Thread 16384 (LWP 9698)]
Using Python version 2.3

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 16384 (LWP 9698)]
0x084f6d74 in FTCharToGlyphIndexMap::find(unsigned long) ()
(gdb) bt
#0 0x084f6d74 in FTCharToGlyphIndexMap::find(unsigned long) ()
#1 0x084f59b9 in FTGlyphContainer::Glyph(unsigned) const ()
#2 0x084f47f3 in FTFont::CheckGlyph(unsigned) ()
#3 0x084f4657 in FTFont::Advance(wchar_t const*) ()
#4 0x084f3964 in FTF_TTFont::GetStringWidth(char*, unsigned) ()
#5 0x084f2be1 in FTF_GetStringWidth ()
#6 0x08202baa in BIF_GetStringWidth ()
#7 0x081a8a65 in ui_check_but ()
#8 0x081aa059 in uiDefIconTextBut ()
#9 0x0816b982 in buts_buttons ()
#10 0x0814b643 in scrarea_do_headdraw ()
#11 0x0814bad0 in scrarea_queue_redraw ()
#12 0x0814ccd4 in do_screenhandlers ()
#13 0x0814d075 in screenmain ()
#14 0x0811f4a6 in main ()
#15 0x40326d06 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6
(gdb)

As I said... i'm not sure if it is a bug, but so far all previous version of blender works fine on my system:
OS: Linux - kernel 2.6.11.10
Graphics: NVidia GForce 4 MX 440

what do you think about it??

brianglass
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:37 pm

face or loop selection

Post by brianglass » Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:25 pm

It would be good to have the loop and face selection stuff in the Select menu. If it is there people can figure out the new shortcut keys on their own.

OTO
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:51 pm
Contact:

Post by OTO » Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:36 pm

Well, once again

Enter edit mode.
Ctrl-Tab and choose the desired mode : vertices, edges, faces
Shift-Alt-RMB to select a loop or to add another ones ( place the cursor near the desired border direction)
Bye

Post Reply