bf blender / OS X - 2.40 RC1 (2005/11/29) RC BUILD

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

lukep
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 1:39 pm

bf blender / OS X - 2.40 RC1 (2005/11/29) RC BUILD

Post by lukep » Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:14 pm

Official test builds :

choose the build depending of your installed python version

these builds wont work on 10.3.8 and earlier

OS X 10.3.9

OS X 10.3.9 + python 2.4

NVIDIAs users : we are especially interested on wether those builds work for you. they include partial workaround to the drawing problem

edit : unstikyied
Last edited by lukep on Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

scuozz
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 3:49 am

Test build doesn't work

Post by scuozz » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:10 pm

The interface of Blender doesn't work on Mac osx 10.4.3 on Mac G5 Dual processor Nvidia Geforce fx 5200.
The previous releases in the testing build forum were working well.
ciao :shock:

MasterChief54924
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:57 am

Post by MasterChief54924 » Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:00 am

I had no problems on an iMac G5 running 10.3.9 with an Nvidia FX 5200 64 megs of ram.

hammerhead74000
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:29 am
Location: USA

UI Unresponsive

Post by hammerhead74000 » Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:47 am

I just downloaded the package above (the non-python-2.4 one) and can confirm that on my Mac it has an issue. When it is first launched, the entire UI inside the main blender window is completely unresponsive (however, the Mac OS menubar did work, and I was able to quit the app with the mouse; I didn't have to force-quit it). However, if you resize the main window, the UI starts working again - the menus (blender generated, not the OS menus), widgets, etc start to respond to mouse clicks.

No regression was attempted. No other feature-testing has been attempted yet.

OS X 10.4.3, with all patches/updates as of 11.30.2005
867Mhz G4 "Quicksilver", 1.5GB Ram, 80GB HDD, with ~40GB free

From System Profiler:

Machine Name: Power Mac G4
Machine Model: PowerMac3,5
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 867 MHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 256 KB
L3 Cache (per CPU): 2 MB
Memory: 1.5 GB
Bus Speed: 133 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.2.4f1

NVIDIA GeForce2 MX:

Chipset Model: GeForce2 MX
Type: Display
Bus: AGP
Slot: SLOT-1
VRAM (Total): 32 MB
Vendor: nVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0110
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: 1055
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1600 x 1200 @ 85 Hz
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Not Supported
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Supported

TroutMaskReplica
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:13 am

Post by TroutMaskReplica » Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:46 pm

i don't know if this is useful for you to know or not, but the release candidate works properly on the two systems i've installed it on::

1) ibook G4 1ghz G4, 32 meg ATI video, Tiger 10.4.3

2) powermac G4 dual 1.25 ghz, 64 meg ATI video, Tiger 10.4.3

badcheese
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 6:41 pm

Post by badcheese » Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:05 am

NVIDIAs users : we are especially interested on wether those builds work for you. they include partial workaround to the drawing problem
This workaround makes things worse on my system (OS 10.4.3 + dual G5 + GeForce6800), as I noted in my last 3 posts in the bugtracker:
https://projects.blender.org/tracker/?f ... 9&atid=125
Thanks for your hard work anyway, Luke! Hopefully there is a fix soon from Apple, since it affects so many applications.

smick
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:05 pm

problem on mac 10.4

Post by smick » Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:22 pm

I want to point out a problem. I guess it's been mentioned, but when I run blender from this Mac, the icon clicks, but doesn't start

Hardware Overview:

Machine Name: Power Mac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac7,3
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Number Of CPUs: 2
CPU Speed: 2.3 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 6.5 GB
Bus Speed: 1.15 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.4f1
Serial Number: G851429XRU3

NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT DDL:

Chipset Model: GeForce 6800 GT
Type: Display
Bus: AGP
Slot: SLOT-1
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: nVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0045
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: 2120
Displays:
Cinema HD Display:
Display Type: LCD
Resolution: 1920 x 1200
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Supported
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Supported
Display:
Status: No display connected

osxrules
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 6:34 pm

Post by osxrules » Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:39 pm

I can't seem to get curves deforming the hair. It worked in one of the other releases. The other types of force fields aren't working either.

womanonfire
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:00 pm

Post by womanonfire » Sat Dec 03, 2005 9:50 pm

i confirm that it doesn't work on os x 10.4.3
how about a build for this os ?

osxrules
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 6:34 pm

Post by osxrules » Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:04 am

OK update on the hair problem. The deformers work OK except for a particular old mesh, where they have no effect. I have managed to work around it by appending my old data piece by piece to a new file. Maybe one of the CVS builds screwed up the mesh somehow.

wimek
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 3:49 pm

MacOS X 10.4.3 problem

Post by wimek » Sun Dec 18, 2005 3:57 pm

I know that the problem I encountered is known. However, resizing the window doesn't help in my case.

To satisfy my curiosity: do you think that this problem is going to be resolved soon? Or do we have to wait until Apple solves it? By the way what is causing it?

I'll be reading this forum and I'll be happy to test a new build! I'm afraid that's all I can do to help...

Greetings,
Wim


PowerMac G4 733
macOS X 10.4.3
1.12 GB RAM

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: UI Unresponsive

Post by solmax » Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:26 am

hammerhead74000 wrote:I just downloaded the package above (the non-python-2.4 one) and can confirm that on my Mac it has an issue. When it is first launched, the entire UI inside the main blender window is completely unresponsive (however, the Mac OS menubar did work, and I was able to quit the app with the mouse; I didn't have to force-quit it). However, if you resize the main window, the UI starts working again - the menus (blender generated, not the OS menus), widgets, etc start to respond to mouse clicks. ...
i've had similar problems on the same machine - it seems to be due to the low-end graphic card with low ram. i always had to run the desktop in 16bit-mode ("Thousands of colors") to make blender run properly. maybe reducing resolution also might help (if you want millions of colours).

marin

Bischofftep
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Richmond, VA
Contact:

New Version?

Post by Bischofftep » Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:47 pm

Heya:

Not sure when the final version of 2.40 is due out, but I know there's been a lot of bugfixes done since this RC was posted. Any chance of getting an updated build?

Many thanks,

-Bish

Bischofftep
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Richmond, VA
Contact:

New Build?

Post by Bischofftep » Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:49 pm

Heya!

Not knowing when the final 2.4 will be released, and knowing that a good bit of bug squashing has been going on, is there any chance of seeing a revised RC build?

Looking forward to final release but content to help debug until then,

-Bischofftep

bmud
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Contact:

Post by bmud » Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:38 pm

i realize that i'm pushing my luck, but my g/f has an ibook G3, and the appllication fails to even run... I'm an apple noob, so excuse me please.

Hardware Overview:
Machine Name: iBook
Machine Model: PowerBook4,3
CPU Type: PowerPC 750 (2.3)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 900 MHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 256 MB
Bus Speed: 100 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.6.4f1

ATI Mobility Radeon 7500:
Chipset Model: ATY,RageM7
Type: Display
Bus: AGP
Slot: ATI
VRAM (Total): 32 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x4c57
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-XXXXX-210

Post Reply