Page 2 of 4

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:35 pm
by macouno
simonharvey wrote:Please excuse my ignorance but what does:
ton wrote:schrijfplaatje
mean?
Litterally it means "writepicture" which isn't a correct dutch word either... I'd say it was a function name for "writing a picture file"

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:15 am
by cekuhnen
i cannot run the app, can you screen shot of the new vector motion blur?

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:52 am
by Koba
Absolutely love the array modifier.

No success with the Mblur though...

Koba

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:13 am
by Bellorum
Array modifier rocks! There's also a page on mediawiki for it, here:
http://mediawiki.blender.org/index.php/ ... ayModifier
I've wanted this in Blender since day one. :)

...

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:10 pm
by orö
hmmm,

can anyone tell me how vector MBlur works?

Thanks
Oliver

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:43 pm
by rakhi
It works!!

Here is screenshot how it works :wink: http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/2181/vblur8va.jpg

Great work :D

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:35 pm
by ZanQdo
Yeah arrays are so usefull, this model is made of just 4 real faces:

http://www.3developer.com/temp/array.jpg

Edit: made a motion blurr test but it's does't work quite rigth (whole object gets blurred no matter what direction is it traveling), it's still very wip:

Code: Select all

(Ton Roosendaal) 2006/01/31 22:49:05 CET

 Log:
 Three features;

 - Live scanline updates while rendering
 Using a timer system, each second now the tiles that are being processed
 are checked if they could use display.
 To make this work pretty, I had to use the threaded 'tile processor' for
 a single thread too, but that's now proven to be stable.

 Also note that these updates draw per layer, including ztransp progress
 separately from solid render.

 - Recode of ztransp OSA
 Until now (since blender 1.0) the ztransp part was fully rendered and
 added on top of the solid part with alpha-over. This adding was done before
 the solid part applied sub-pixel sample filtering, causing the ztransp
 layer to be always too blurry.

 Now the ztransp layer uses same sub=pixel filter, resulting in the same
 AA level (and filter results) as the solid part. Quite noticable with hair
 renders.

 - Vector buffer support & preliminary vector-blur Node
 Using the "Render Layer" panel "Vector" pass button, the motion vectors
 per pixel are calculated and stored. Accessible via the Compositor.

 The vector-blur node is horrible btw! It just uses the length of the
 vector to apply a filter like with current (z)blur. I'm committing it anyway,
 I'll experiment with it further, and who knows some surprise code shows up!

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:58 pm
by cekuhnen
here is a nice link to vector blur:

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwav ... _blur.html

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:11 pm
by Koba
Ok, some notes about Mblur...(having enabled the "vec" pass)

It is nice that it takes camera motion into account as expected. It seems to me that the blur as it stands is rather excessive and completely uniform - excessive in the sense you shouldn't actually notice it is there unless you freeze-frame and uniform in the sense it doesn't just blur in the direction of motion as it should.

Secondly, if you have an object moving behind a static object, the blur goes through the static foreground object - this is to be expected as a post process and could be fixed by layering the final image. However, "AlphaOver" doesn't make much sense to me - I expected it to allow me to layer objects based on alpha. It seems to do something different.

EDIT: Just saw the above post (made while typing this) - I hope ton improves the vectorblur node to be more realistic so we can all start making nice animations :D


Koba

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:20 pm
by solmax
works fine here (XP, GF 5200). pretty amazing what is coming towards us - render passes, node based render trees...

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:48 pm
by cekuhnen
how do you render in passes? i did not figure that out.

i am not sure if ton can imrpove the v blur. as far as i know it just has its downfall.

also i followed the node setup for the vblur but blender doesnt render it for me. the only thing it does is not to crash ;)

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 4:49 am
by ZanQdo
Of course there are ways to make an exelent motion blurr, other apps make it really well, ton saids he's on it.

the rendering passes are not working in this build but in cvs:

http://www.blender.org/bf/rt.jpg

I'll do a new build soon when this gets a litle more mature, after all I use them for real work, I don't want to have troubles with very wip stuff :?

...

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:33 am
by orö
...ahh OK this is on what i've searched for!



Oliver

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:23 am
by enzoblue
Quick Vector Mblur tute for us noobs that wanna play with it:

Add a UV Sphere. Hit "I" and select Loc. Advance to anim frame 2, move the UVsphere a bit and hit I and Loc again. Have your camera pointed to the second position.

Go to the Render buttions, go to the Render Layers tab and hit the vec button. Now render your scene with F12, making sure you're rendering the last frame, in our case frame two.

Now split your top view. On the left, change the view to Node Editor, on the right change it to UV/Image.

Hit the Composite Nodes pic button in the Node Editor, then hit Use Nodes. Disconnect the cable going from the render to the viewer by dragging it away.

Use SHift A and add a composite, then Vector blur window. Drag a line from the yellow Image circle of the Render Result window to the Vector blur, then drag two Image cables from the Vector Blur, one to the viewer and one to the composite. Then drag a blue line from Speed to Vec.

Look at Rakhi's post above for a pic of what it should look like.

On the right in UV/Image window, click the Up/down arrow button and go to Compositor. It's probably black, to update it, just drag off the Speed/Vec cable and put it back on again.

Now it should look blurry in the Composite window and life should be good.

...

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:12 am
by orö
YES!!!!

Thanks VERY MUCH for the TUT!!! this is on what i've looking for! The shiftA combi was my missing link!

Thanks Oliver