bf-blender / Win32 (06/02/04)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

bf-blender / Win32 (06/02/04)

Post by Bellorum »

Had some time over, so here's a new build for y'all. Further tried to improve on the manipulator icons. Trying a replacement for the hand icon, but I'm not quite satisfied yet.

Image

Here's a newer version:
Image

Note: This work on the icons are for my own personal interest. Don't expect these in the official Blender builds.

Tweak and fullscreen enabled as per usual. Patched with Artificer's array modifier. Details on that one here:
http://mediawiki.blender.org/index.php/ ... ayModifier

Disclaimer from Ton:
I like to make a note that the removed "Fullscreen" windows option will cause OpenGL in Blender to not work properly. It was removed because the code was just too bad and quick hack.
I know the functionality is great and appreciated, but we have to wait for someone presenting us a more solid solition for it.
Selective reading from the changelogs:
Log:
Three features;

- Live scanline updates while rendering
Using a timer system, each second now the tiles that are being processed
are checked if they could use display.
To make this work pretty, I had to use the threaded 'tile processor' for
a single thread too, but that's now proven to be stable.

Also note that these updates draw per layer, including ztransp progress
separately from solid render.

- Recode of ztransp OSA
Until now (since blender 1.0) the ztransp part was fully rendered and
added on top of the solid part with alpha-over. This adding was done before
the solid part applied sub-pixel sample filtering, causing the ztransp
layer to be always too blurry.

Now the ztransp layer uses same sub=pixel filter, resulting in the same
AA level (and filter results) as the solid part. Quite noticable with hair
renders.

- Vector buffer support & preliminary vector-blur Node
Using the "Render Layer" panel "Vector" pass button, the motion vectors
per pixel are calculated and stored. Accessible via the Compositor.

The vector-blur node is horrible btw! It just uses the length of the
vector to apply a filter like with current (z)blur. I'm committing it anyway,
I'll experiment with it further, and who knows some surprise code shows up!
Log:
features & fixes:

- Enabled Groups to execute in Compositor. They were ignored still.
Note; inside of groups nothing is cached, so a change of a group input
will recalculate it fully. This is needed because groups are linked
data (instances use same internal nodes).

- Made Composit node "Viewer" display correctly input for images with
1/2/3/4 channels.

- Added pass rendering, tested now with only regular Materials. For
Material nodes this is quite more complex... since they cannot be
easily separated in passes (each Material does a full shade)
In this commit all pass render is disabled though, will continue work on
that later.
Sneak preview: http://www.blender.org/bf/rt.jpg (temporal image)

- What did remain is the 'Normal' pass output. Normal works very nice for
relighting effects. Use the "Normal Node" to define where more or less
light should be. (Use "Value Map" node to tweak influence of the
Normal node 'dot' output.)

- EVIL bug fix: I've spend almost a day finding it... when combining AO and
mirror render, the event queue was totally screwing up... two things not
related at all!
Found out error was in ray-mirror code, which was using partially
uninitialized 'ShadeInput' data to pass on to render code.

- Another fix; made sure that while thread render, the threads don't get
events, only the main program will do. Might fix issues reported by
people on linux/windows.
Log:
Three feats;

- RenderLayers with 'view layers' set, now also take visible lights into
account. Works just like for scene layer settings.

- On ESC from render, compositing (if set) is being skipped too

- While rendering with multiple RenderLayers it will end with a display
of the current RenderLayer (as in Scene buttons)
Log:
Redoing the blur filters for composit;

http://www.blender.org/bf/filters/

I found out current blur actually doesn't do gauss, but more did regular
quadratic. Now you can choose common filter types, but more specifically;

- set gamma on, to emphasize bright parts in blur more than darker parts
- use the bokeh option for (current circlular only) blur based on true
area filters (meaning, for each pixel it samples the entire surrounding).
This enables more effects, but is also much slower. Have to check on
optimization for this still... use with care!
Log:
Render feature request; when saving EXR files during anim render, it can
optionally save a jpg next to it, with compression as set in buttons.

This allows quick previews or download from farms.

Button: next to the 'half' and 'zbuf' options for exr.
Download here:
http://www.graphicall.org/builds/builds ... show&id=86

And as usual - have fun! :)
Last edited by Bellorum on Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

Isocles
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:20 am

Post by Isocles »

Your icons really do look great! Expecially your move and scale icons. The rotate one looks great, but I don't know if it implies "rotation" right off the bat to anyone who isn't already familiar with what the blender rotation widget looks/works like. It kind of reminds me of an icon used to create a circle or pie shape. That being said, it is still certainly a nice enhancement and adds some more polish to the interface. It's a toughy. Your rotation icon is simple and clean and consistent with the others and I'm not sure how you can improve on that. Hmmm... I'm starting to change my tune.

The widget button is just a tiny bit busy considering you don't have much room to work. Would it make sense to make your icon for the widget look just like the "move" widget instead of all three? Thats the first one new users see, and the one most commonly activated(IMO). You could tilt it and show all 3 axes.

Anyway, I'd love to see them incorporate your icons into 2.42!

Iso

P.S. Thanks for the build!

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum »

@Isocles:
Thanks for the input!
Isocles wrote:Your icons really do look great! Expecially your move and scale icons. The rotate one looks great, but I don't know if it implies "rotation" right off the bat to anyone who isn't already familiar with what the blender rotation widget looks/works like. It kind of reminds me of an icon used to create a circle or pie shape.
Hmm. I think I already have an idea for an alternative. However, the tiny space for icons make some design choices difficult.
It's a toughy. Your rotation icon is simple and clean and consistent with the others and I'm not sure how you can improve on that. Hmmm... I'm starting to change my tune.
Well, I think that in context with the other icons, people should understand it's not a pie chart.
Isocles wrote:The widget button is just a tiny bit busy considering you don't have much room to work. Would it make sense to make your icon for the widget look just like the "move" widget instead of all three? Thats the first one new users see, and the one most commonly activated(IMO). You could tilt it and show all 3 axes.
Indeed, there is not much space to work with. I'll give your idea a go.
Isocles wrote: Anyway, I'd love to see them incorporate your icons into 2.42!

Iso

P.S. Thanks for the build!
We'll see. Knowing the Blender dev crew, I'd need an airtight proposal to justify any change. However, since the UI finalization is coming up, maybe they will be inclined to at least consider it.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

Zsolt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:39 pm

Post by Zsolt »

To me the rotation icon looks like a clock, something that would open up a timeline, or some sort of time settings dialog, maybe the IPO window (or actions, or NLA), but I'd never think of rotation. Some sort of curved arrow would be better IMO.
The widget button: maybe a hand with outstretched fingers, sort of like a GRAB button in other programs?

Also: has something changed lately in the extra files? If not, could you upload a zip file containing only the blender.exe, for us on dialup, next time?

And thanks for the build(s)!

bullx
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 9:25 pm

Post by bullx »

i get some bad results using AO

on the same .blend file i get an overexposed-grey image instead of this:
http://www.idstudio.it/bullx/scena.png

the same thing seem to happen both on win and linux machines whit latest cvs.

disabling ao gives the same image on both 2.41 and current CVS, but enabling AO i get weird result whit this cvs.

thank you

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum »

Zsolt wrote:To me the rotation icon looks like a clock, something that would open up a timeline, or some sort of time settings dialog, maybe the IPO window (or actions, or NLA), but I'd never think of rotation. Some sort of curved arrow would be better IMO.
The widget button: maybe a hand with outstretched fingers, sort of like a GRAB button in other programs?
On the other hand, the current icons doesn't imply any movement action at all, but rather look like they're used for creating primitives. It is all in context, and that's how rotation looks when applied in the 3d-window. It's also a matter of making the icons as simple as possible. But I'm willing to examine alternatives. Biggest obstacle is really lack of space, but that doesn't excuse the current icons. :roll:
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

jimbob
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 am

blender crashe- nodes

Post by jimbob »

blender crashed while I was making a node material with ram shader however after closing the material preview this build worked :)

Post Reply