2.42 Optimized for Windows Pack

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

2.42 Optimized for Windows Pack

Post by mchs3d » Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:38 am

Phew! I just released 6 downloads available at http://www.graphicall.org containing optimized versions of Blender 2.42 for Windows. Three are .zip archives and three are their respective automated installers, like the kind you download off of download.blender.org. The SSE and SSE2 builds require that your CPU support the version of SSE in the build, or the build won't run. These are not meant to be testing builds, but rather to be production-stable yet optimized versions of the 2.42 release.


-- DOWNLOAD SECTION --

-- INSTALLERS --

-- Blender 2.42 Optimized (Installer)
-- Blender 2.42 Optimized with SSE (Installer)
-- Blender 2.42 Optimized with SSE2 (Installer)

-- .ZIP ARCHIVES --


-- Blender 2.42 Optimized (.zip)
-- Blender 2.42 Optimized with SSE (.zip)
-- Blender 2.42 Optimized with SSE2 (.zip)
"It is the eternal struggle between these two principles — right and wrong — throughout the world."
- Abraham Lincoln

Rave_Zero
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:15 pm

Post by Rave_Zero » Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:09 am

Thank you very much!

Auteuro
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 9:27 pm

Post by Auteuro » Wed Jul 19, 2006 3:27 am

Q: What's better than Blender?

A: Optimized Blender!!!

Thank you mchs3d :)

Kai Kostack
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:24 pm

Post by Kai Kostack » Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:48 pm

I don't know why, but with your build (SSE), I cannot save OpenEXR files. Instead, I'm getting always tga files. :?

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d » Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:43 pm

Hmmm... That's odd! Anyone else get that problem?
"It is the eternal struggle between these two principles — right and wrong — throughout the world."
- Abraham Lincoln

enzoblue
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:03 am

me too

Post by enzoblue » Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:29 pm

It adds a .tga extension to it yep. Save xxx.exr and it gets saved as xx.exr.tga

Isocles
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:20 am

Post by Isocles » Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:24 pm

Any chance of making a new set of these for 2.42a on XP/2k?

djfuego
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 11:30 am
Contact:

Good call

Post by djfuego » Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:34 pm

I second that request.

mpan3
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:16 pm

Post by mpan3 » Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:58 am

.

Not to hijack mchs3d's thread, but i have a few optimized build available on my site.
2.42a for AMD A64: A64 and semprons with SSE3
2.42a for AMD A64: All socket A64's, including A64 3000+ to X2 5600+ AND all semprons
2.42a for AMD Athlon XP: Athlon XP 1800+ to 3200+, Socket A Sempron and mobile Athlon
2.42a for AMD Athlon: Older Athlon "B" and "C"


2.42a for Intel Pentium 4: P4, Xeon, Core Solo/Duo, Pentium 5/6/7/8xx and certain Celerons (SSE1/2/3)
2.42a for Intel Pentium 4 (Northwood): Pentium 4 and certain Celerons (SSE1/2)
2.42a for Intel Pentium III: Pentium 3, older Celerons, Celeron-M, and Cenrino/Pentium-M



2.42a for All x86 Processors: Try this still highly optimized version if all of the above fails
USE these are your own risks! I have been told that the A64 version have some problems with Dual-core (NOT using both cpu). And Intel user will find that mine is not AS fast as mchs3d's, but the AMD build, especially the Athlon XP build, flies. 8)

Rave_Zero
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:15 pm

Post by Rave_Zero » Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:14 pm

Thanks, I'm gonna try the SSE3 build :)


EDIT:

Grass_Tutorial benchmark results (unchanged settings)

Official Build 2.42a => 3:16.96

AMD64 Build 2.42a => 3:00.02

AMD64 SSE3 Build 2.42a => 2:33.83

kosstheory
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:21 am

A64 SSE3 and Yafray

Post by kosstheory » Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:51 pm

mpan3,

I tried out the SSE3 version, and found that the 15% speed increase was about the same as the basic optimized A64 version posted by the thread starter.

However, rendering to Yafray using your SSE3 build causes blender to crash everytime.

Post Reply