Page 1 of 1

rendering issue

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:47 pm
by danny3dhorror
This is my first post so Hello blender heads, I have been playing with blender for about a month now and I love it so now you guys have a user in south africa am I the only one.

Ok down to business I am busy with "the essential blender" im doing the mesh tutorial in chapter 4 modeling the pillar I follow the instructions on switching on the Ambient Occlusion and when I render the model comes out with black spots on it

any help will be appreciated

Re: rendering issue

Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:51 am
by m.ardito
danny3dhorror wrote: switching on the Ambient Occlusion and when I render the model comes out with black spots on it
what you mean with "black spots"? if they are "small black dots" they are probably a result of AO low sampling: see this page:

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manua ... _Occlusion

Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:56 pm
by BrianEnigma
I realize that this is an old thread, but it was the best one that describes what I'm getting for output. I'm a blender newbie (as well as a newbie to this forum) and am following the Essential Blender tutorials. Specifically, I am now at the one with pillars supporting a roadway: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2 ... :_Hands_on

The final render for the pillar in this example looks nice and solid, shiny, almost plastic-like, as seen here: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/File:MMT2.40.png

I followed all of the render instructions, starting with the default world settings, then going to World, enabling Ambient Occlusion, and bumping the samples up to 7, but my render looks nowhere near as clean:

http://netninja.com/junk/pillar.png

As you can see, mine is a lot more grainy and even shows different kinds of graininess along the top triangle faces (which should all lay on the same plane and really shouldn't look that different).

Did I miss something? Are the document defaults different now from what they were when the tutorial was written? Any help would be appreciated.

Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:45 pm
by BrianEnigma
I think I may have just answered my own question (and danny3dhorror's original question) through trial and error.

I had to go into the Scene Render settings (F10) and uncheck "Shad" ("Enables shadow calculation"). This removed the graininess in the render and gave me something that looks a LOT closer to the image in the wiki-book. It looks like this setting doesn't play well with Ambient Occlusion?

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:40 am
by Model Citizen
BrianEnigma wrote:I think I may have just answered my own question (and danny3dhorror's original question) through trial and error.

I had to go into the Scene Render settings (F10) and uncheck "Shad" ("Enables shadow calculation"). This removed the graininess in the render and gave me something that looks a LOT closer to the image in the wiki-book. It looks like this setting doesn't play well with Ambient Occlusion?
I think I'm having the same problem, could you explain to me where the "Shad" checkbox is? I tried pressing f10 and nothing happened.