Page 3 of 6

Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 7:59 pm
by teachtech
Thanks Statik! Once I post part 3 (which I think I'll do tomorrow evening) I'll change my posting to link over to yours. I'm getting a lot of feedback on it and it is much appreciated. Thanks to all :D

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:21 pm
by Statik
Found one spelling error, Page 19, 2nd paragraph, 4th line, first word. Shouldn't that be points, not ponts?

Statik

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 5:27 pm
by teachtech
OOPS! Must have missed that one- Thanks for finding it. :D

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 1:41 pm
by teachtech
OK- Part 3 is up on the site. I have been getting a lot of feedback since the posting on the home page. For all 3 parts, go to Statik's site or to DotBlend's site for a more compressed version of all 3: http://members.home.nl/dotblend/download.htm

Thanks to all in the community for making Blender as successful as it is!

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:52 pm
by Statik
Uploaded the third part now.

I may link the full version as well, just for consistancies sake. :P

If there are any other tutorials that need some mirroring, don't hesitate to meantion them to me.

Statik

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 5:39 pm
by teachtech
Thanks Statik. That's it for now. I eventually want to make one for AutoCAD someday for use in my classes because I'm not happy with what I currently have, but I've been saying that for years. Maybe this will be the summer I write one. I also imagine that I will need to do an update on the Blender tutorial. Things keep changing so fast with the program, but for the good! :D

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 5:44 pm
by Statik
Actually, I wasn't confining myself to your tutorial, but was offering for other tutorials that are Blender related, and on low-bandwidth servers. The main tutorials are on fast servers already, but I like to help out the little guy when I can, cause I'm a little guy too. :)

Statik

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:00 pm
by teachtech
That's actually good to hear. We need a common source for stuff like this. I bet you can fill up your server pretty fast when this word gets out!

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:16 pm
by Statik
well, I think the blender site should be the main source for large tutorials, but the fan type stuff will need a home too. Hopefully we can get some mirrors together, and maybe I'll list them

We'll see what the needs are. I also have the option oif making a sub-domain (blender.statikonline.com) which might make more sense if things get more official.

Statik

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 2:43 am
by Statik
One other note TeachTech.

I'm working through the tutorial, becuase my 2.3 manual hasn't arrived yet, and I've hit a possible area where more clarification is required. On page 22, in the discussion of Boolean operations, I couldn't make any of the shapes for quite some time. I couldn't figure out what was wrong until I started deleting shapes to start over. There were my shapes!
So, after some experimentation, I discovered that to properly do a boolean, in my situation at least, I first create the two shapes, then I select the two shapes, in precedence order, press W and chose my operation. THEN I hit delete and delete the still selected original shapes. What is left then is the new shape. So a boolean operation creates a new shape from the two shapes. It does not modify the orignal shapes!

Can you please clarify if I've learned this correctly, or if I'm totally missing something.

Statik

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 8:40 am
by eek
yes. the explanation of boolean operations didn't work for me either. I still haven't gotten it to work either. When I hit any of the 3 choices it says error:please choose 2 mesh surfaces. im not in edit mode like it said and i have them both selected with TAB.

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:20 pm
by Statik
I'm not sure I'm following what you're saying eek. To do the boolean operation, you must be in object mode (no points visible, just the lines). If there are any pink objects, hit 'A' to makes sure that none are selected. Next, pick the first object by using the RMB. Now, hold shift and use RMB to click the second object. Now hit 'W' and do your boolean. Then hit 'Del' to erase the initial two objects and reveal the new object.

Statik

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 6:02 pm
by eek
i think i'm close, but i can't select two objects. im out of edit mode, and none are pink. when i right click one object both get selected. im not sure why.

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 6:27 pm
by Statik
Both are getting selected because you still had the first object selected when you added the second. That made the two join as one object. Before you create your second object, make sure that no objects are currently selected. See pages 15 and 16 about this.

Statik

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:12 pm
by eek
awesomeness! thanks a ton. it worked for me when i didnt have it slected. stupid mistake. i forget things it said on other pages though which is why it didnt work.