Trouble with Blender Documentation (gingerbread man

Blender documentation projects, tutorials, translation, learning & teaching Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

JurneyAhed

Trouble with Blender Documentation (gingerbread man

Post by JurneyAhed »

(concerning http://www.blender.org/modules/document ... .F.S68.017 , and Figure 18. Slimming Gus using constrained scaling.)

The tutorial mentions that pressing S will allow me to change Gus's (gingerbread man :P) width. However, when I press S and move the mouse, it also changes his height (the documentation specifically says that the height will not change).

What am I doing wrong here?

Also, this is my first time using any 3D program, so I know no technical knowledge, and am just starting out.

Also, how can I use the MMB? What keyboard shortcut simulates the MMB?

Thanks

(I'm using Windows)

Blender seems great so far, guys! Great work!!

hypereyes

Post by hypereyes »

1) You need to constrain your scaling to a particular axis (which one will depend on which view you originally added your objects to).
For example, in any view hit 'S' and then press any of X,Y,orZ. You should see a set of axes appear that represents your object's local orientation. Determine which axis represents the 'width' for your object. Hit 'Esc' to exit the operation, then hit 'S' again, followed by the axis letter representing your object's width. This will constrain the scale to that axis only.

2) Alt + LeftMouseButton should emulate the MMB. Make sure you have Emulate 3 button on - make a window the User Preferences window (or drag down on the panel at the top of the app). Select View & Controls, make sure Emulate 3 Button is on.

Good Luck!

Brian

JurneyAhed

Post by JurneyAhed »

Yeah, that worked (it was the Z-axis)! Thanks!

:D

But..I'm stuck again :lol:
It's the next step of the guide
http://www.blender.org/modules/document ... x1460.html

I says click RMB to move the camera. However, when I click RMB, nothing happens.