Blender crash when animating to ffmpeg. ( portage amd64)

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Ric95
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Blender crash when animating to ffmpeg. ( portage amd64)

Post by Ric95 »

Using Sabayon linux 4 -64 bit, genkernel; AMD64 optimised ( otherwise generic) Blender 2.48a r3
Cflags = "-O2 -march=native -pipe"
ffmpeg was also recompiled, and everything else runs smooth, including mpg4 videos.
As soon as I try to animate to any ffmpeg format Blender crashes.
Terminal shows:

Code: Select all

ric@localhost ~ $ blender
Compiled with Python version 2.5.2.
Checking for installed Python... got it!
Starting output to /home/ric/Blender Stuff/Test Images/0001_0250.dvd(ffmpeg)...
  Using type=1, codec=2, audio_codec=86016,
  video_bitrate=6000, audio_bitrate=128,
  gop_size=15, multiplex=0, autosplit=0
  render width=720, render height=576
[dvd @ 0x14b11e0]Aspect ratio mismatch between encoder and muxer layer
Output #0, dvd, to '/home/ric/Blender Stuff/Test Images/0001_0250.dvd':
    Stream #0.0: Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 720x576 [PAR 1:1 DAR 5:4], q=2-31, 6000 kb/s, 25.00 tb(c)
Writing frame 1, render width=720, render height=576
[mpeg2video @ 0x14b2400]rc buffer underflow
Video Frame PTS: 0
Floating point exception
ric@localhost ~ $ 
Is this worth reporting as a bug ?, or am I missing something?
Last edited by Ric95 on Sun Mar 15, 2009 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

To me it looks like a FFMPEG crash, try checking their forums/bug trackers too?

/Nathan

Ric95
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Post by Ric95 »

To me it looks like a FFMPEG crash, try checking their forums/bug trackers too?
Thanks for the idea jesterking. I will look into that, but it seems odd that everything else works ffmpeg just fine, even dvd::rip.
Since Blender worked with a generic build, I suspect Blender may be using a cpu instruction in a way that causes a buffer failure.
Here is the error log from var/log/messages .

Code: Select all

Mar 15 19:00:31 localhost [106907.207646] blender[25743] trap divide error ip:7f0738b1aab2 sp:7fff42ff0a20 error:0 in libavformat.so.52.25.0[7f0738afa000+9b000]
In the meantime, I'll try recompiling with use = "divx mpeg4" , and see if it can use those separatly from ffmpeg.

*edit*
Google found other people having the same problem with ffmpeg on other applications. I would still be greatfull if someone here had a workaround, but it seems I'll have to look at that end, just as jesterking suspected ;)
Building it without optimizations doesn't , it still crashes.
The prebuilt available here works. I'll look at how its compiled.

Ric95
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Post by Ric95 »

It seems I need to recompile it with ffmpeg staticly included.
Okay, I'm looking at the ebuild from Gentoo :
http://members.shaw.ca/pamric/Blender%20ebuild
Can I add 'ffmpeg' to the use line?

Code: Select all

#IUSE="jpeg mozilla png sdl static truetype"
IUSE="blender-game ffmpeg jpeg nls openal openexr openmp
	player png quicktime verse" 
Or do I need to edit 'static into this:

Code: Select all

	if use ffmpeg ; then
#		cd "${S}"/extern
#		rm -rf ffmpeg libmp3lame x264
		cat <<- EOF >> "${S}"/user-config.py
		BF_FFMPEG="/usr"
		BF_FFMPEG_LIB="avformat avcodec swscale avutil"
		EOF
What would be the best way to compile this with ffmpeg static, but still have hardware acceleration and other stuff from the OS ?

Post Reply