Page 1 of 1

Ipaq!

Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:52 pm
by nemesis
Having a newer version of blender for the Ipaq would be GREAT!! Not only the one NaN made was older, but it also didn't work well on my Ipaq 3830. The program was upside down, and only for the display. The touch screen was right side up. VERY strange. This is something that I would really like happening.

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2002 3:22 pm
by ton
We don't have permission to release the the code for the port.
It was based at 2.04 (that code will be released!) because the later versions of Blender, with the new engine, are far too heavy to run at the ipaq.

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2002 5:30 pm
by nemesis
so will there be some patches for blender for the Ipaq then? Having this upside down display problem fixed would be really nice.

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 6:32 pm
by nemesis
*bump*

Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 1:55 pm
by ton
Your question simply cannot be answered!

Wait a while for us to setup all services here. A 2.04 code release will become available, and when sufficient people are interested in it, we can host an ipaq port project.

The Ipaq port is Popular!

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2002 1:37 am
by raleighs
If you take a look at this page:
http://www.pablosbrain.com/blender3d/index204.php

Can can clearly see that the Ipaq Port is the 2nd most popular download!

File/Version/Link Downloads
Blender 2.04 - Beos 4.5 i386 - 82
Blender 2.04 - FreeBSD 3.4 i386 - 56
Blender 2.04 - FreeBSD 3.4 i386 Static - 46
Blender 2.04 - iPaq - 752
Blender 2.04 - Irix 6.2 Mips - 52
Blender 2.04 - Irix 6.5 Mips - 56
Blender 2.04 - Linux glibc 2.1.1 PowerPC Static - 46
Blender 2.04 - Linux glibc 2.1.2 i386 - 88
Blender 2.04 - Linux glibc 2.1.2 Static i386 - 57
Blender 2.04 - Linux glibc 2.1.3 Alpha - 39
Blender 2.04 - Solaris 2.6 Sparc - 40
Blender 2.04 - Windows [ZIP] - 911

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 4:14 am
by arangel
Ton, for what model of the iPaq was the port made? In what model does it behave best?

Thanks,

Rangel

Thoughts on mobile 3D

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:35 pm
by arangel
If one (or a team) could revise and compile the code to any recent model palm top (WinCE, Palm OS, Linux Familiar distro...), it would be great!
Let´s imagine that people on the Bender community would shop for a palm top, and a particular brand could run Blender. I bet that "Blender heads" like me would buy that right away.
:wink: That particular brand might even sponsor the process of coding/compiling. It would be of its interest too, maybe branding a model as "3D model", for being able to run Blender.
Not to mention the marketing Blender could gain as being so light that can run on a 400Mhz, 64MB palm...
If we check out we´ll see that portable "thingies" with phone and games, like the Nokia NGage are coming strong to the market. Blender should have a share of that market.
How much effort (developer, $) it would have to be put to have a new Blender for a palm top?

Alexandre Rangel

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 5:52 pm
by forcefield
Does this sum it up for you?
ton wrote:We don't have permission to release the the code for the port.
It was based at 2.04 (that code will be released!) because the later versions of Blender, with the new engine, are far too heavy to run at the ipaq.
The game engine is the issue (right?) and I don't think anyone wants to be using Blender on a 320x320 screen to model anything. Maybe once the game engine stuff is OK they (or you) could code a pocketPC stand-alone player for blender games.

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 6:04 pm
by arangel
I´m afraid I can´t code... But I would like to model on a handheld device.
And since Ton made that post, handheld got better processors.

Rangel

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 6:27 pm
by forcefield
But Blender itself has gotten MUCH bigger. When the 2.04 Ipaq version came out GameBlender was the latest. Since then we've gotten ray tracing and all of that. Also the game engine that Blender 2.04 used was/is not open source and can't be released. There is a new game engine, but I don't know where that is in capabilities or development.

Are you serious that you want to model with Blender on a hand held? Too small for me, I'd rather better multi-screen support and set up dual 19 inch displays.

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:17 pm
by arangel
I love to work on a couple of 19 inches monitors too, but one can´t go around with then in the pocket...

Rangel

Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 1:52 pm
by arangel
Ton just sent me an e-mail... The port was made to work on the Compaq iPaq 3630.

Rangel

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 12:12 pm
by arangel
I bought an used iPAQ 3670 and got Blender working on it! Great!
Thanks all you guys for the input

Rangel