compile on fedora core 1 ??

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
thermal_ice
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:15 pm

compile on fedora core 1 ??

Post by thermal_ice » Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:02 pm

still trying to do my first compile :oops:

has anyone done this with fedora??

and if you have would you mind giving a short mini tut :wink:

thanks

thermal

alien-xmp
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by alien-xmp » Fri Mar 05, 2004 2:10 am

Fedora Core shouldn't be a problem. I'm using RH9 + a few fedora packages. If you follow a RH9 howto you should be OK.

If it is not working, copy and paste the error message here and someone can give you specific instructions.

noselasd
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:08 pm

Re: compile on fedora core 1 ??

Post by noselasd » Mon Apr 05, 2004 6:26 pm

thermal_ice wrote:still trying to do my first compile :oops:

has anyone done this with fedora??

and if you have would you mind giving a short mini tut :wink:

thanks

thermal
Install the development tools(gcc, etc) and XFree86-devel (and possibly some others)
./configure --prefix=/usr
make
make install

Or just get the ready built rpm from www.fedora.us

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Re: compile on fedora core 1 ??

Post by jesterKing » Mon Apr 05, 2004 6:53 pm

noselasd wrote: ./configure --prefix=/usr
make
make install
if you intend to build cvs blender like that, you won't get very far. auto* has been removed from cvs.

/jesterKing

Mats78
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Post by Mats78 » Tue Apr 06, 2004 8:33 am

Install all libs blender needs, install python, install scons, checkout cvs, cd into blender dir, run 'scons' (possibly fiddle with the SConstruct script file).

It does it for me on Fedora Core 1 (I'm having other troubles, which I don't think have to do with the way I compile the sources). Using apt-get makes getting libs etc. easy.

regards,
mats

Michel
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:27 pm
Location: Somewhere below the rivers in Holland (but not Limburg)

Post by Michel » Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:12 am

Mats78 wrote:run 'scons' (possibly fiddle with the SConstruct script file).
Hi,

there should absolutely be no need to fiddle with the SConstruct script file at all. I know there are settings that users may need to adjust to get a correct build, but these settings are all available in the config.opts file which is generated the first time SCons is started. That's where the config.opts file is meant for.

With regards,
Michel
You can have one of two things: Progress or Progress Reports.

noselasd
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:08 pm

Re: compile on fedora core 1 ??

Post by noselasd » Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:28 am

jesterKing wrote:
noselasd wrote: ./configure --prefix=/usr
make
make install
if you intend to build cvs blender like that, you won't get very far. auto* has been removed from cvs.

/jesterKing
Why is the autotools support beeing removed ?

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Re: compile on fedora core 1 ??

Post by jesterKing » Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:46 am

noselasd wrote:Why is the autotools support beeing removed ?
http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Build_syst ... 0.html#206

/jesterKing

thermal_ice
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:15 pm

Post by thermal_ice » Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:58 pm

woot woot, got my first compile :D

using fedora core 1.9 / scons

worked great "out of the box"

cheers

Erufailon
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:48 am

Post by Erufailon » Wed Apr 07, 2004 6:41 pm

Ok, but did you compile ode, quicktime and fmod in? These I can't get working, no matter what I do. Is quicktime even supposed to work on linux? I mean there is no SDK on apple for linux (or I couldn't find one), and even though there are development library packages for quicktime, blender doesn't want to compile for me.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:03 pm

Erufailon wrote:ode, quicktime and fmod
ODE is not compiling now, since Solid is being put back. There are more code modifications needed to get physics engine choice back in again.

About the others I don't really know.

/jesterKing

sgefant
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:10 am

Post by sgefant » Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:22 pm

quicktime support only works on Windows and OS X.

Erufailon
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:48 am

Post by Erufailon » Wed Apr 07, 2004 8:00 pm

thanx.
And what am I supposed to do with fmod? The compiler doesn't seem to link against libfmod.so, and there is no option for it's location in SConstruct. So where does scons look for it? (Not that I so desperately need fmod, but I'm curious :) )

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Wed Apr 07, 2004 9:30 pm

Erufailon wrote:thanx.
And what am I supposed to do with fmod? The compiler doesn't seem to link against libfmod.so, and there is no option for it's location in SConstruct. So where does scons look for it? (Not that I so desperately need fmod, but I'm curious :) )
Use OpenAL :)

/jesterKing

Mats78
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Post by Mats78 » Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:18 am

there should absolutely be no need to fiddle with the SConstruct script file at all. I know there are settings that users may need to adjust to get a correct build, but these settings are all available in the config.opts file which is generated the first time SCons is started. That's where the config.opts file is meant for.
Oops.. ok I learned something here too. I never really did fiddle with that file (SConstruct), I just thought I should have ;).

Cheers,
Mats

Post Reply