Blender on Fedora Core 2

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

hdixon
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 3:57 pm

Blender on Fedora Core 2

Post by hdixon » Thu May 13, 2004 6:13 pm

Just came across the blender app a couple days ago and was wondering if anyone has built it from source on FC2 yet and, if so, what were the snags.


Thx

Huw

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten » Thu May 13, 2004 7:35 pm

FC2 or Fedora Core 2 hasn't been released yet so far I know...

but I got no problem with my FC1 install... (got dualboot XP/FC1)

...

thermal_ice
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:15 pm

Post by thermal_ice » Thu May 13, 2004 9:04 pm

fc 1.9

no problems / built with scons

fc 2.0 should be out in a couple of days :D

cheers

Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Post by Apollux » Sun May 16, 2004 3:23 pm

That couple of days, is measured in calendar days or in RH days?

(if you have been fallowing the Fedora thing from the beggining you know what I mean).

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten » Sun May 16, 2004 4:22 pm

Apollux wrote:That couple of days, is measured in calendar days or in RH days?

(if you have been fallowing the Fedora thing from the beggining you know what I mean).
reading from #fedora channel it says 18th of May...

thermal_ice
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:15 pm

Post by thermal_ice » Sun May 16, 2004 7:20 pm

Apollux wrote
That couple of days, is measured in calendar days or in RH days?

from webster's dictionary

couple -->> an indefinite small number :D :D

cheers

enablerbr
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 3:55 am

FC2 final - building problem or just me being newb?

Post by enablerbr » Wed May 26, 2004 4:16 am

i downloaded the blender-2.33a.tar.gz source file.
extracted it to /home/enablerbr3/
opened up a terminal as user. "cd" into /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/
typed scons and let it do it's thing.

when it finished i ended up with a /home/enablerbr3/build/linux2/ folder with the following folders extern, intern, lin, source. and the following files makesdna, scons-signatures.
yet there was no blender file. when i looked in /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/ the blender execute file was in there.

i'm a newbie to using scons and followed the INSTALL instructions. so did i do something wrong or is that how it was supposed to turn out. i'm also a newbie to linux aswell.
oh the blender execute did work but not all the inport/export plugins showed up. so do i still need to do something else with the /home/enablerbr3/build/linux/ folder or the /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/ folder?

thermal_ice
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:15 pm

Post by thermal_ice » Wed May 26, 2004 7:33 am

ok heres how I do it on Fedora Core 2

1. on the left you will see CVS

2. make a directory called blender and follow the instructions to download the latest cvs

( you do this from a shell, when you are root)

put in the first line, press enter, when it asks you for a password press enter again

put in the second line and change "modulename" to blender (watch your spelling :D )

3. now I assume you have scons installed

4. navigate to /code /blender

5. type in scons and hit enter

6. after awhile, you will have a fresh new blender exec in /code/blender

hope that helps

:D

thermal_ice
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:15 pm

Post by thermal_ice » Wed May 26, 2004 7:42 am

ooops sorry

4. should be /blender/blender

the first being whatever you named you directory

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Re: FC2 final - building problem or just me being newb?

Post by jesterKing » Wed May 26, 2004 8:21 am

enablerbr wrote:i downloaded the blender-2.33a.tar.gz source file.
extracted it to /home/enablerbr3/
opened up a terminal as user. "cd" into /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/
typed scons and let it do it's thing.

when it finished i ended up with a /home/enablerbr3/build/linux2/ folder with the following folders extern, intern, lin, source. and the following files makesdna, scons-signatures.
yet there was no blender file. when i looked in /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/ the blender execute file was in there.

i'm a newbie to using scons and followed the INSTALL instructions. so did i do something wrong or is that how it was supposed to turn out. i'm also a newbie to linux aswell.
oh the blender execute did work but not all the inport/export plugins showed up. so do i still need to do something else with the /home/enablerbr3/build/linux/ folder or the /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/ folder?
This is exactly what you should expect. Consider yourself passed for the SCons exam ;)

You have to copy the blender binary into the /home/enablerbr3/blender-2.33a/bin/ directory. This dir contains all you need.

/jesterKing

enablerbr
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 3:55 am

Post by enablerbr » Wed May 26, 2004 2:52 pm

thanks for the feedback. i knew the standard compiles didn't work. so thats the reason for trying the source myself and compiling. :)

Phreakster001
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:18 pm

Post by Phreakster001 » Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:13 pm

hey im also running off FC2 but im having some problems. Im new to Linux and so far this and Wine are the only Apps I can't install. I unzipped Blender-2.33a.tar.gz to /home/devon/ and typed in the terminal as root cd blender-2.33a/. I then typed scons like enablebr did before but it said bash: scons: command not found. So I went to the directory and found SConstruct and typed it in the command console and it said Permission denied I tried it as devon (not root) and it said the same thing. Am i doing this wrong? I am used to just typing

Code: Select all

./configure
make
make install

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:46 pm

but it said bash: scons: command not found.
Likely this is because
1) You installed scons into the default /usr/local dir.
2) you are running as root who typically does not have /usr/local/bin in PATH.

You do not need to be root to build blender, only to install stuff into system directories.

You did install scons, yes?

Phreakster001
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:18 pm

Post by Phreakster001 » Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am

stiv wrote:
but it said bash: scons: command not found.
Likely this is because
1) You installed scons into the default /usr/local dir.
2) you are running as root who typically does not have /usr/local/bin in PATH.

You do not need to be root to build blender, only to install stuff into system directories.

You did install scons, yes?
Oh you have to install a seperate package....i didn't know that....where can i get this 'scons'?

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:14 am

Phreakster001 wrote:I am used to just typing

Code: Select all

./configure
make
make install
autoconf et al. has been discontinued since the fourth of January, 2004.

/jesterKing

Post Reply