Doo-Sabin Subdivision surfaces.

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

NateTG

Doo-Sabin Subdivision surfaces.

Post by NateTG »

Hey, I'm new to coding in blender (and fairly new at coding in general), so I decided to take on a little project to get myself aquianted with the code. I decided to try to implement Doo-Sabin subdivision surfaces. I have made some significant progress, but I am running into trouble on a few issues.

Although I can create 3 vertex faces with hypermesh_add_face, hypermesh_to_displistmesh seems to have a problem with them (I get an access violation here:

Code: Select all

static DispListMesh *hypermesh_to_displistmesh(HyperMesh *hme, short flag) {
mf->v1= (int) f->verts[0]->nmv;
mf->v2= (int) f->verts[1]->nmv;
mf->v3= (int) f->verts[2]->nmv;
mf->v4= (int) f->verts[3]->nmv;/*<--right here*/
Also, hypermesh_to_displistmesh seems to require that all hyperfaces point to an original editface (hyperface->orig) however, with Doo-Sabin, there are faces that are not directly descended from original faces. I got around this by pointing to the closest face, but I am not sure what the side effects of that are.

Finally, I am wondering if there is any order to the verts array in HyperFace. Am I guaranteed that vert 0 will not share an edge with vert 2? ie:

Code: Select all

0-----1
|     |
|     |
3-----2
Any insights would be most valuable.
thanks
\n

bjornmose

Post by bjornmose »

Looks like subdividing always calls
hypermesh_add_face(blah, blah, 4,blah);
to make sure all 4 pointers are valid.

geee what a hack.

/BM

NateTG

Post by NateTG »

yes, that is the problem. catmull clark always generate 4 sided polys. Doo-Sabin doesn't.

I was hesitant to change too much existing code, but i solved the problem like this, in hypermesh_to_displistmesh:

mf->v1= (int) f->verts[0]->nmv;
mf->v2= (int) f->verts[1]->nmv;
mf->v3= (int) f->verts[2]->nmv;
if (f->nverts==4) mf->v4= (int) f->verts[3]->nmv;