Writing plugins for Blender

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

sakky

Writing plugins for Blender

Post by sakky »

What's up? I'm new to this program and these forums. I never used Blender before at all. I've played around with it for a bit; it seams okay. I'm use to LightWave, that's the problem.

I'm currently working on a little game. I've made my own 3D file format for it too. It's pretty simple, nothing really to complex. It's just that LightWave is a pain in the ass to write plug ins for. It's got some really stupid crap and work around for just doing the most simple things. For instance, file io routines. You have to start, yes start the write process and then you have like 20 write routines that write specific data making it harder then hell to write you own custom data. then you have to stop the write routine. Any ways, LightWave's complexity has finally pissed me off!

So I looked for a more simpler program to let me do what I want. I need to be able to create content quick and easy. I also need to be able to write plug ins for that program that will write to my custom file formats.

So, I chose Blender. A lot of my friends told me it would be my best bet. So how do I write plug ins for Blender? I've downloaded Python, but I'd rather use C/C++. This is because I do not know how Python handles file IO, not do I know if it will write the information in the same size. I've think I've read something that Python could wrap C. IF this is true, then Blender is truly the program I need because I can write a ton of shit for it in C and wrap it in Python.

Any ways, if any o you have helpful advice, please please give lend my your knowledge. :)

SirDude

Post by SirDude »

Well for blender you have two options.

Write a python script to import/export your fileformat. I would recomend
this method because its the easiest/fastest. Just look at some of the