Output formats

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Jacks_Depression
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:53 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Output formats

Post by Jacks_Depression » Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:48 am

An interesting question has recently came to mind and I have been hoping you can put my doubts to rest.

There are a lot of output formats for blender. I plan to sell models and sadly. .blend is not a format that the site sells. I need to make sure I sell a high quality product. Since I don't have all the products that are associated with these output formats....

Can I be 100% sure that what it displays for blender will be displayed for any other product in their respective format?
- Bryan

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by z3r0_d » Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:35 pm

only if you're talking about the mesh alone, and not the associated materials

Jacks_Depression
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:53 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Post by Jacks_Depression » Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:42 pm

Would that be acceptable? You think anyone would complain is I put the materials in a seprate folder?
- Bryan

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by z3r0_d » Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:09 pm

I was trying to make the point that the associated materials will NEVER transfer exactly to another format....

UV coordinates should export fine, and if you provide textures the user should be able to figure that out in whatever application they import in...

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip » Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:11 pm

There are also free tools that can load the various formats so you can preview whether the results are acceptable...

LetterRip

Jacks_Depression
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:53 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Post by Jacks_Depression » Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:47 pm

Act like you talking to someone who has no idea what UV coordinates are... In fact, don't act. :)

I'm tring to make an image (textue) to show all the letters and numbers on a kayboard... Do people who buy modles be able to figure out how to put this texture back on? I'm sure all programs add textures diffrently.

In fact... I'll post what I am doing...
- Bryan

Jacks_Depression
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:53 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Post by Jacks_Depression » Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:54 pm

This is the texture I am using to map out where everything will go. http://storage.bja888.com/3D/testmap.jpg

This is the result... http://storage.bja888.com/3D/keymap-sample.jpg

This is as far as I have gotten with the new texture... http://storage.bja888.com/3D/keymap.jpg

This is the result of that texture being used... http://storage.bja888.com/3D/oops.jpg

The texture has been rotated 90 degrees by blender and then mirrored vertically. What is the client's program just lays it on flat... they will have a hard time getting everything to line up again...
- Bryan

Post Reply