Units in Blender

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Stevebol
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:57 am

Units in Blender

Post by Stevebol » Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:23 am

Hi,
I'm brand new to Blender so this is a noob question.What is a good unit of measurement to use in Blender?To be more precise,when using the trial version of XSI it was suggested to use an image of a human figure representing 5 feet-6 inches in height or an image of a 3 foot yard stick to be used as a reference in your scene,to give some kind of perspective when modeling.I suppose this relates to creating a "game" environment.
In otherwords what does one cube on the default screen at start-up represent?
By the way,Blender is no doubt tricky at first but I think it will be worth the effort.

Thanks,
Steve

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:17 am

I think it depends on what you are going to create.
It's generaly best to have your whole scene on the grid. That way the lamps (shadow buffer, clip start/end) cameras and the textures etc. need not much adjustment to be correct. So if you are going to build a city then one grid might be one building or one block. But if you are going to build a vein then one grid is one bloodcell.

Anyway,... this is a developers site and the experienced blender users are at http://www.blenderartists.com

Timothy
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 3:20 pm
Contact:

Post by Timothy » Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:24 pm


Stevebol
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:57 am

Post by Stevebol » Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:32 pm

Thanks. I didn't notice this was a developers site.

Post Reply