Page 1 of 1

Units in Blender

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:23 am
by Stevebol
Hi,
I'm brand new to Blender so this is a noob question.What is a good unit of measurement to use in Blender?To be more precise,when using the trial version of XSI it was suggested to use an image of a human figure representing 5 feet-6 inches in height or an image of a 3 foot yard stick to be used as a reference in your scene,to give some kind of perspective when modeling.I suppose this relates to creating a "game" environment.
In otherwords what does one cube on the default screen at start-up represent?
By the way,Blender is no doubt tricky at first but I think it will be worth the effort.

Thanks,
Steve

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:17 am
by joeri
I think it depends on what you are going to create.
It's generaly best to have your whole scene on the grid. That way the lamps (shadow buffer, clip start/end) cameras and the textures etc. need not much adjustment to be correct. So if you are going to build a city then one grid might be one building or one block. But if you are going to build a vein then one grid is one bloodcell.

Anyway,... this is a developers site and the experienced blender users are at http://www.blenderartists.com

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:24 pm
by Timothy

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:32 pm
by Stevebol
Thanks. I didn't notice this was a developers site.