Give us the Intersect tool back!!! Please?

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Give us the Intersect tool back!!! Please?

Post by Apollux » Wed Mar 19, 2003 7:01 am

Some people say it was buggy and easily crashed the whole program

...Well it never crashed my computer and the results you get with the intersect tool are far better than the ones you get with the booleans when working on 'hand made' meshes (even closed ones).

Besides, the limitation of Booleans that they need to be applied on CLOSED meshes is... well, A BIG LIMITATION.

Why did you have to take the intersect away? Couldn't you just leave it there and that way everyone could use the tool that he likes the most?

Blender is supposed to be free, but it is forcing me (and you) to use booleans... :?: even when a simply intersect will do the job easier and better.

Just my $0.02

ilac
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 8:24 am

Post by ilac » Wed Mar 19, 2003 11:43 am

I found intersect quite useful and would like to see it back too, please! :?
thanks

Jim
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:21 pm

Post by Jim » Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:39 pm

yeah intersects were useful, and I miss them :cry:

hihabyte
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:28 pm

Bring back intersect!!!

Post by hihabyte » Sat Sep 20, 2003 1:37 pm

I'm new to blender so I never used it but I agree, bring back the intersect button! I had a problem and I posted it on Elysiun. Everyone said that you could solve it easily with intersect, but that intersect had been removed after version 2.25 :cry: . Also, when I browsed tutorial pages, I found lots of tuts on using intersect and it seemed really useful and easy. So I'd love intersect to return!
Some people prefer booleans, but it seems to me that intersect is easier to use, especially when you're only getting to know blenders functionality, like me; booleans are quite complex.
So I agree totally with appolux, why not giving users the choice? It can only improve the user-friendlyness and functionality of blender.
That way, people who think intersect is buggy, can stick to using booleans. If they don't push the intersectbutton their program won't crash. But the people that wànt to use intersect are happy too, then. :D

I hope you agree with me on this.
:arrow: Everybody who agrees, please put a little post here too, just to show your interest in bringing back intersect.
Maybe we'll see it back in future versions of blender? I hope so...
.: All the freAky peOple make the BeAty of the WoRld :.

fligh
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 11:28 pm
Location: US

Post by fligh » Mon Sep 22, 2003 7:36 am

I *need* the intersect tool, that's why I only use 2.23.

%<

ton
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:13 am
Contact:

Post by ton » Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:33 pm

Hi,

I hope you know the new 'boolean' tool?
Select 2 mesh objects (not in editmode) and press W.

-Ton-

BTW: I wrote the old interesect... over 10 years ago. it is code I also hardly understand anymore. Once you know its weird behaviour, you can work with it some, and it even gives better results than the BSP system used in the new boolean tool.
But having a crashing unrealiable option in Blender is not good...

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Tue Sep 23, 2003 1:28 am

anyway, I'm pretty sure the new knife tool will make pretty much everyone forget about Intersect.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

ilac
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 8:24 am

Post by ilac » Tue Sep 23, 2003 2:31 am

theeth wrote:anyway, I'm pretty sure the new knife tool will make pretty much everyone forget about Intersect.
ONLY when the knife tool can use a pre-determined shape as a cutter, will it really be able to replace the intersect tool! That's what Intersect did and till something else can do that it won't be forgotten! :cry:

Knife tool is brilliant though! :D So hopefully this will be the next step in its development. Seeing that it can do straight lines now, maybe someone will figure out a way to 'load'/'set' cutter shapes, eg circle. Maybe even extract a shape from an existing mesh! (Which is what intersect did!)

On a the plus side, Blender's quick loading and backward compatibility means Intersect is still within reach! With all the different compiles ,with beta tools, around at the moment its become almost second nature to save_close_fire up a different Blender version_and hit CTRLO! :wink:

Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Post by Apollux » Tue Sep 23, 2003 5:09 am

Hummm.... If you are not willing to re-integrate the Intersect tool, that again, is better than Boolean, as a temporary solution could you provide a script that does the same: One select 2 meshes, run the script, and the script does the actual intersect.

Since somebody did the ¨Rusty Knife¨ I pressume that doing a true Interset script is possible... I know less than 0 about Python (only how to run scripts) but I know there are a lot o Python gurus around. And if the code from 2.25 is still around then whoever that writes the ¨Intersector Script¨ would have a solid start point.

However, with or without an intersector script, I still would like to see the Intersect tool back into blender, it is just so convenient. :D

Post Reply