CAD

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

VirtualDarKness
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:51 pm

Post by VirtualDarKness »

Good news!

blender.it has released BlenderCAD, the result of the work made by the BlenderCAD team.

This pre-release is here to show that the project is active and to show what we've done since now. More documentation and features will follow. Now our first target is to extend the developement team also to non-italian developers.. I've already write some lines to Ton about this so.. stay tuned :-)

Hoping that you'll enjoy it.. here is the first release:

click here for download

bye,
Giovanni.
http://www.blender.it - You'd better to use Firefox instead of IE! ;)

tuinbels
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 4:19 pm

Post by tuinbels »

This looks very promising :D

I already have a feature request:

when i want to draw a circle, i cannot set the number of verts. Would it be very hard to implement that?

i tried adding something like the following to parser.py:

Code: Select all

elif len(WordList)==4:
    newObj = Circle3D(3 arguments)
and the third being the number of verts, as defined in primitives.py,
but when i typed: circle 0,0,0 2, 10
it returned: UnboundLocalError: new variable 'newObj' referenced before assignment

Manuel
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Manuel »

No problem...this feature will be activate in the alpha release :)

bleber
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 9:35 pm

Post by bleber »

good start!!!

I hope that blendercat have a future

VirtualDarKness
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:51 pm

Post by VirtualDarKness »

Talking about BlenderCAD's future.. now we're on http://projects.blender.org/projects/blendercad/ too!

That means that now you can submit bugs and feature requests or join the project as a developer!

bye,
Giovanni.
http://www.blender.it - You'd better to use Firefox instead of IE! ;)

bleber
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 9:35 pm

Post by bleber »

Image


well, the proces is make the circle, join, amd make the faces manually in the edit mode.

My question is... are there a easy and kuicli way to make the faces betwen the circles?
or these need a new feature for make faces without enter in the edit mode.

Manuel
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Manuel »

Before all...incredible works...thanks to test the pre-alpha, and thanks for feedback.

The feature you want is a sort of loft. It's a work to do in the next releases.

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! »

Have you ever seen Sketch-up ? It has a tool that you just select a face and pull and it draws a new extrudtion, plus you can draw a shape on the model and then do th extrudtion thing again. This is all with out doing any menus and clicking any buttons, so it is very fast and clean with no lag time. It would help so much in blender for ever fatser modeling and would leed to some creative endevous.

Free demo, and even videos http://www.sketchup.com/

Manuel
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Manuel »

Money_YaY! wrote:Have you ever seen Sketch-up ?

Free demo, and even videos http://www.sketchup.com/
Mhh no bad...we take a look on it.

knoxer
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:56 pm

Post by knoxer »

Awesome news. I'm glad to see some people are pursuing this idea! I can't wait to see where this goes.

Money_YaY, Sketch-up is good for quick modeling, but it's not really a CAD application. CAD is all about PRECISION!

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! »

knoxer wrote:Awesome news. I'm glad to see some people are pursuing this idea! I can't wait to see where this goes.

Money_YaY, Sketch-up is good for quick modeling, but it's not really a CAD application. CAD is all about PRECISION!
It does have PRECISION it is an architechs tool, it was created by architechs for architechs, But I do understand that what you mean is what should be. An exact scale model for mass reproduction of solid parts and materials. I only posted the idea as that is what sketch up does to a point, but it does it with flair and speed like blender.

carlinhos77
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:05 pm

Post by carlinhos77 »

GrimDude wrote:In Autodesk's Mechanical Desktop you create objects by drawing a rough sketch in 2D, and then 'constraining' the object to the desired dimensions (fixing lines to parallel states, equating states between features, etc.) and THEN commit to extrusion, lofting, or sweeping to create the 3D base.
Jim, I understand what you mean by "unintuitive," however I don't think Blender is intended to be a CAD system (nor should it be). A push in that direction could take it back toward commercialism.
I would like a BlenderCAD, at least a Blender with more CADlike functions! What are you afraid, when you speak about the danger of "commercialism". I think, in the GNU/GPL licence everything is very clear. And if more professionalism leads to a broader acceptance - also in the commercial world - then I don´t see a problem.

carlinhos77
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:05 pm

Post by carlinhos77 »

[quote="Money_YaY!"]Have you ever seen Sketch-up ?

I've tried the demo-version and found the functions of SketchUp quite poor. And the software costs about 500 €.
Maybe some comfort and functions like the measuring are nice and would be a good idea for integrating in blender.

Khiraly
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:18 am

Post by Khiraly »

Hi!

I'm ready to create some basic mesh(in Blender units) where can I look at some standards, and image?
Primary Im interested to doors, tables, and so on.

rubicon
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 2:13 pm

Post by rubicon »

Hi, the first impression was a very good one.

But now i have some comment:
As long as bCAD isn't that ready, what about putting some (real useful) snap-features in the regular Version?
Like in most CAD-Progs, if a solid is highlited and you move the mouse over it, the keypoints (corners of a cube, center of a circle etc.) get highlited so you can just click if you're near a keypoint and the cursor will be placed there?

Keep on the good work,
rubicon

Post Reply