Page 1 of 1

Blender viewport background image issues

Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:11 am
by TheOriginal
Blender for me has always been a frustration.
I am trying to perform the simplest of tasks in order to learn the program. When I finally get to placing the image on the viewport, the image is displayed in all the viewports. When I change one it changes all of them.

What am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?

Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:11 am
by Fire Angel
I'm puzzled by this because I use background images for modelling, and I use a side view in one port, a front view in another etc. How are you adding the image to the view?

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:52 am
by TheOriginal
Double post sorry!

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:53 am
by TheOriginal
I click View -> background image -> use background image -> load, and find my picture. Once I've found it I right click it (which highlights it in blue) then click the select image button. I think I've just figured it out, I tried left clicking then clicking the select image button and the image appeared on my view port. Well it didn't work, I got it on the screen but it still in each viewport.

Could it have something to do with my video card and OS? I have a direct x 10 video card, and windows Vista.

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:04 am
by Fire Angel
If you call up the "view properties" panel in each window, you should be able to select a separate image for each of your windows. Once you have one loaded in the window you want it in, open up the same panel in another window. Beside the filename, just to the left of it, there's a tiny folder icon; click that and it will allow you to load another image for that window.

Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 2:10 am
by TheOriginal
I tried that but nothing different happened! I'm at wits end. What do you mean by "window"?