Feature Request - Wrapping Procedural Textures Radially

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Tindytim
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:23 pm

Feature Request - Wrapping Procedural Textures Radially

Post by Tindytim »

I have asked about this in multiple different forums, and gotten no answer. Since I cannot find any method do to this, I assume it's not possible at this point.

Currently, effects wrap around like so
Image

So a simple cloud effect looks like this
Image

The radial blend type wraps about like so
Image

Although it would be interesting to see all of the blend types changes to applicable settings for any procedural effect.

MadMesh
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by MadMesh »

From what I understand about the procedural textures is that they are "real 3D" as such they don't function with any of the mapping options like: Cube, Tube, Flat and Sphere.

I agree though that having 2D procedural textures would be nice, just a simple toggle button to switch between 3D and 2D procedurals. Just to clarify, by 2D procedurals I mean that the procedural textures behave similar to 2D bitmap textures.

Tindytim
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:23 pm

Post by Tindytim »

I don't think what you understand I'm getting at. Just look at the images. I'm trying to get a cloud effect (3D procedural effect) to wrap radially. It's current method isn't going to accomplish what I want it to do. I think radial wrapping would be a useful feature.

Post Reply