About feature requests

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

VDark
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:36 pm

Post by VDark »

Something quick and easy.

It would be very nice if the transform window in the object mode had another button beside the link scale that was called 'Make Identify' or something similar that would set the current size of the object.

If I place a cube down and I type in the bounding box scale that I want it to be 40x50x60 in size, I could then click the identity button to make that the actual scale of the object, and not the size of the object with a scale modifier. So that 40x50x60 would be scale 1x1x1.

Kerrx
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:14 am

Post by Kerrx »

Please make it possible to use more than 16 materials per mesh. 1024 would be enough. Our modteam (from the "Gothic" game community) want to use Blender for editing game worlds which are files in the 3ds format. Creators of these 3ds files used 3DS Max and have made every game world as a huge mesh containing hundreds of materials. There is an importer that can import these 3ds files but it splits a single mesh to lots of meshes in extremely inconvenient way.

Forrest Gimp
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:21 pm

Toolbox: Add Standart-Group(s)

Post by Forrest Gimp »

Hi

Situation as it is: You have designed something you use all the time, let's say a piece of security fence. It's fully mapped and textured, it consists of two or three meshes.

Now, it could be that you need this particular fence in all sorts of scenes and all sorts of .blend files. I know I can use shift/F1 each time I need it in a new scene to append the thing, but wouldn't it be really useful to have a faster way to insert such a regularly used group, which doesn't involve keyboard-shortcutting and browsing?

My idea would be this: an added option in the object-panel (F7) which allows you to store some 10 or so groups in a sort of "quick-library" which is accessible through the toolbox/add-menu. You can then add your favourite meshes (including materials), cameras (already bound to paths) or just anything else you want really fast without appending or recreating it.

ygs
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:09 am

Bezier curves: Taper/Bevel objects suggesstions (to make the

Post by ygs »

Hello,

I was trying to model with Bezier and taper/bevel options
and seems Blender needs some small improvements to bring it to
the next level as model application

Here is what I'm suggesting.

I think it would be extremely helpful if user could add 2 TaperOb for one main curve. This will help to align curve form in second dimention.

Also it would be awesome to have two Stick options for Side 1 and Side 2 of the main curve for each TaperOb. This will
allow user to stick one of the side of the main curve and keep it plain.

Having multiple BevelOb for one curve will be super helpful too.

I'm sure this will bring Blender to the next level for architect, furniture and other designers

Here is a picture I tried to draw showing my thoughts. Combining these features and allowing to align main curve under
bezier toolset will save a lot of modeller's time

http://img300.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... onsns4.jpg

Thank,
Yuri

kursadk

Post by kursadk »

There is no feature request section in the bug database. Is it ok if I post a feature request in the bug section?

On the other hand I really do not see any point of having a bug section without feature requests embeded. So who decides the features if the users cannot post what they need?

I doubt posting feature request in the forums is a good idea.



thanks

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv »

Is it ok if I post a feature request in the bug section?
No. A missing or wanted feature is not a bug.

kursadk

Post by kursadk »

well, sure. But it looks like there is no a streamlined feature request database. I do not see forum posting as a way of pushing for features or discussing drawbacks of features.

The reason I would like to be able to post on a feature request database is that I want to be able to discuss usability and implementation of certain tools with the developer in a more focused environment. A forum is more like a public place and trying to stay focused on the issue is harder and distractive. And most of the feature request posted on public forums are lost, never implemented, thus millions of man hour is lost(regarding all the softwares on the planet). I am not implying on Blender, this is a general problem with any kind of software on the market. I am experienced enough to know this because I myself spent countless hours trying to bring an issue in a forum about a problem with a tool in some softwares and either never answered or never implemented. So yes I would not post any discussion regarding fallbacks of some tools inside Blender in a vague forum platform due to the fact that we have limited lives and we should use our time productively.

Anyways I would like to see some improvemements on sculpting toolset. Now you would call this a feature request or a bug is a personal debate probably.







stiv wrote:
Is it ok if I post a feature request in the bug section?
No. A missing or wanted feature is not a bug.

IPBurbank
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:22 am

VSE feature request

Post by IPBurbank »

I have stated my request here:
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthr ... ost1255887

Basically I am looking for a multi cam-type feature in blender.

mziskandar
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:55 am

Post by mziskandar »

Hi..

I am running on XP. It's will be very useful if we can just cut images/copy from somewhere (eg: Photoshop, Paint, etc.) and directly paste it on the UV/Image editor..

Thank you..

Azrael
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Stouffville, Ontario -- Canada
Contact:

Post by Azrael »

Join Weight Paint and Pose Mode

Weight paint should be a Toggle in Pose Mode. I find I am switching from pose mode because of rigging and constraining then popping back into weight paint mode to set bone weights, only not being able to select the skeleton and assign weights to it because I wasn't in "Pose mode". When I click on the skeleton it switches to object mode. This is horrible and I think Weight Paint being a toggle for Pose Mode would fix that.

BlindSight
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:59 pm

Post by BlindSight »

Better Lip/Speech sync

Would be great if blender feautred a real lip/speech sync feature where you just create the different mouth shapes and then you can run in the audio and blender would automatically create the lip sync

mziskandar
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:55 am

Post by mziskandar »

Just a small request..

How about an image thumbnail/preview button when selecting/browsing textures/image file.

Thank you.
Visit my Realtime 3D Projects http://digitalspine.blogspot.com

zingbat
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 12:36 am

Post by zingbat »

Improved logic bricks system to be more OO method friendly.

http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14213

ciprianvilau
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:43 pm

Post by ciprianvilau »

I would like an UP OBJECT for the "track to" constraint

currently the up object is the world

superlung
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Sorry if I'm not getting it...

Post by superlung »

...but where does a non-developer submit a feature request?

Thanks!

Post Reply