Weight painting, but nothing happens

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Drugostrov
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:37 pm

Weight painting, but nothing happens

Post by Drugostrov » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:44 pm

Hi, new user. I looked around for quite some time but couldn't find any answer to this question, but if it has been addressed before; please bear with me.
So, simply put, when I try to weight paint there's no paint coming out, so to speak. The blue hue doesn't change to red. I've checked that the armature is in Pose mode, I've followed the tutorial meticulously, yet no matter what setting I try for the brush, I'm just not painting. I've restarted Blender, even DLed another version of it, but no luck.
Anyone know what's causing this problem?

I.D.

Stukfruit
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 8:56 am

Re: Weight painting, but nothing happens

Post by Stukfruit » Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:00 am

What version of Blender are you using?

If it's 2.5, try a more recent version. There used to be a bug with weight painting that has been fixed in svn.

Drugostrov
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Weight painting, but nothing happens

Post by Drugostrov » Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:26 pm

Stukfruit wrote:What version of Blender are you using?

If it's 2.5, try a more recent version. There used to be a bug with weight painting that has been fixed in svn.
2.45 and 2.49b were the versions I tested. I just downloaded and tried the 2.5 version as well, and after the initial confusion at the interface changes, I deduced it did not work either. I'm running OS X 10.4.11, by the way, if that helps. Everything else seems to work fine, but when I try to weight paint, it's as if the mouse button is broken.

loonatik503
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 9:49 pm

Weight PAinting

Post by loonatik503 » Mon May 03, 2010 9:56 pm

I originally had this same issue. But I have found that if you have the "Tool Box" open than you can change a few settings and get it to work properly. These are under the "Brush" Tab. First thing is to make sure that weight is at 1.000. Change the "Strength" to 1.000 as well. Under the "Tool" Tab change it from "Mix" to "Add". Then under the "Stroke" Tab make sure everything is unchecked. This worked for me but I have yet to get it to work properly as it did in 2.49b. What I mean by that is when I am finished weight painting my object as it should. the bone still manipulates the entire object not what I weight painted.

the_o
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 8:10 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by the_o » Mon May 31, 2010 8:27 pm

I've faced the same problem as Drugostrov under W7 Home x64 with Blender 2.49 both x32 and x64 versions. The solution came suddenly after two days of reinstalling video drivers, reading manual and watching tutorials again and again. Just changing the color depth of my video card from 16bits (I've always thought it's more than enough for me) to 32bits fixed the problem. Now the weight paint works perfectly.

philiphugo
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:29 am

Post by philiphugo » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:47 am

I also have the same problem. I'm using Win 7 and Blender 2.49...Might try the_o's method. :lol:

Neopunk
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:04 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Neopunk » Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:29 pm

I found out why the Weight Paint isn't working correctly.

Check if you forgot to add the Modifier "Armature" and if you got checked the Vert. Groups AND if you renamed the Field: "Ob: Armature".

I had the same problem until I found out to set the right Name for the Field "Ob:". If you renamed your Armature you have to rename it in the Modifier too. Same for the OB-Field.

After correcting those things it worked perfektly!

Post Reply