Page 1 of 1

Weight painting, but nothing happens

Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:44 pm
by Drugostrov
Hi, new user. I looked around for quite some time but couldn't find any answer to this question, but if it has been addressed before; please bear with me.
So, simply put, when I try to weight paint there's no paint coming out, so to speak. The blue hue doesn't change to red. I've checked that the armature is in Pose mode, I've followed the tutorial meticulously, yet no matter what setting I try for the brush, I'm just not painting. I've restarted Blender, even DLed another version of it, but no luck.
Anyone know what's causing this problem?

I.D.

Re: Weight painting, but nothing happens

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:00 am
by Stukfruit
What version of Blender are you using?

If it's 2.5, try a more recent version. There used to be a bug with weight painting that has been fixed in svn.

Re: Weight painting, but nothing happens

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:26 pm
by Drugostrov
Stukfruit wrote:What version of Blender are you using?

If it's 2.5, try a more recent version. There used to be a bug with weight painting that has been fixed in svn.
2.45 and 2.49b were the versions I tested. I just downloaded and tried the 2.5 version as well, and after the initial confusion at the interface changes, I deduced it did not work either. I'm running OS X 10.4.11, by the way, if that helps. Everything else seems to work fine, but when I try to weight paint, it's as if the mouse button is broken.

Weight PAinting

Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 9:56 pm
by loonatik503
I originally had this same issue. But I have found that if you have the "Tool Box" open than you can change a few settings and get it to work properly. These are under the "Brush" Tab. First thing is to make sure that weight is at 1.000. Change the "Strength" to 1.000 as well. Under the "Tool" Tab change it from "Mix" to "Add". Then under the "Stroke" Tab make sure everything is unchecked. This worked for me but I have yet to get it to work properly as it did in 2.49b. What I mean by that is when I am finished weight painting my object as it should. the bone still manipulates the entire object not what I weight painted.

Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:27 pm
by the_o
I've faced the same problem as Drugostrov under W7 Home x64 with Blender 2.49 both x32 and x64 versions. The solution came suddenly after two days of reinstalling video drivers, reading manual and watching tutorials again and again. Just changing the color depth of my video card from 16bits (I've always thought it's more than enough for me) to 32bits fixed the problem. Now the weight paint works perfectly.

Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:47 am
by philiphugo
I also have the same problem. I'm using Win 7 and Blender 2.49...Might try the_o's method. :lol:

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:29 pm
by Neopunk
I found out why the Weight Paint isn't working correctly.

Check if you forgot to add the Modifier "Armature" and if you got checked the Vert. Groups AND if you renamed the Field: "Ob: Armature".

I had the same problem until I found out to set the right Name for the Field "Ob:". If you renamed your Armature you have to rename it in the Modifier too. Same for the OB-Field.

After correcting those things it worked perfektly!