Page 1 of 1

Project Paint issues - Not working

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:53 am
by tushantin
Hello, I'm using Blender 2.54 - Windows (32bit) version, downloading the ZIP version (I favor portability) and am currently using it on 2 machines. I decided to testrun this version rather than 2.49 because, obviously, it looks awesome.

One thing that attracted me most was the Project Paint feature. But sadly each time I try that option on a cube (or any model) it gives me this error, even though I do find those files in that location.

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Of course the next logical step would be to change the render output to a different folder. The problem is that this error occurs even then.

Then I tried to save the .blend file. Now although the error does not occur, nothing happens besides screenshots being saved on the same folder as the .blend file (quite a lot of them in-fact). I try to change the "image editor" tab (User Preferences) to my desired image editor, but strangely it works with Photoshop 6.0 but not with CS4 or even GIMP for that matter. And even so the "Apply" button fails to project the proper edited file.

Some help would be appreciated.


On the side note, I recently installed LuxRender in the Scripts folder (I'm in dire need of a GPU renderer) but it says it won't work unless I install Python version the same as the one Blender 2.54 has been compiled in, and of course it hasn't worked since. Which Python version would I be required to install to get it working?

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:16 am
by Nikprodanov
File->User Preferences->Paths

Try changing your temp folder to somewhere else. The screenshot text cuts off so i can't say exactly what's wrong with the path though. The reproject feature saves PNG files there and opens them up with the image editor. I haven't been able to get it to run Paint Shop Pro though, so i had to open the PNG manually.

Also, try Python 3.1 and up.

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:29 am
by tushantin
Nikprodanov wrote:File->User Preferences->Paths

Try changing your temp folder to somewhere else. The screenshot text cuts off so i can't say exactly what's wrong with the path though. The reproject feature saves PNG files there and opens them up with the image editor. I haven't been able to get it to run Paint Shop Pro though, so i had to open the PNG manually.

Also, try Python 3.1 and up.
I tried changing the temp folder in the User Preferences, but the problem persists. Still the same error (besides the path mentioned). Of course, I don't have that problem once I save the project at a specific folder, but certain image editors still do not open upon clicking "quick edit". Even if they do, and even if I save the image, I still am unable to project the image onto the object, i.e., the Apply button does nothing.

P.S. thanks for the python version!

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:07 pm
by Nikprodanov
So what does the error say exactly? I also mentioned that my editor (Paint Shop Pro) refuses to open aswell. It works for some, not for others. But as i said, try opening the PNG file manually with your raster graphics editor and save from there. Make sure it's the right image too, because each time you press "Quick Edit" it makes a new file. You can press "Apply" multiple times though, and it will reapply any changes you made to that file. They're usually located in C:\tmp\ and the naming scheme is "project_edit_***.png" where *** is your object name. (example: project_edit_Cube.png)

Furthermore, once you press "Apply" you will notice that in the toolbar on the left, under the "Last Operator" section, a dropdown appears. It's possible that it didnt apply the right image, so you can select a different one from there.

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:30 pm
by tushantin
XD Actually I confirmed that before posting as well. I usually delete the previous images because Quick Edit creates a new snapshot (as it should in fact), and even if I don't I make sure I select the right image I edited. But the same problem; doesn't show up in either viewport not render. Also, if I don't save the .blend file the images are saved at C:/tmp/ that's true, but it still says that the image isn't found.

Are you able to apply the edited image to the object via a working editor that Blender recognizes? What build are you using, and what platform?

Another thing to note is that I'm unable to view textures in viewport. I mean it renders just fine, and I'm able to switch between Solid, Wireframe and Bounding Box, but for textures all I see is shadeless white in the viewport. Something wrong with OpenGL rendering? Here's the snapshot.

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:22 pm
by Nikprodanov
That is probably the reason you don't see anything...

1. Texturepaint works only with UV coordinates, so make sure your cube has been unwrapped first. Usually when you make a new texture for a material, you have to assign "Mapping" and "Influence" for it.

- For example, Mapping can be UV coordinates, Generated, Tangent, Reflection, Strand etc... Each of those has special uses, but to set a standard diffuse map, use UV coordinates.

- Influence determines what the map will affect. That can be Diffuse Color/Alpha/Intensity, specular color etc. and any combination of those. Again, for a basic diffuse map just select Color.

2. There is a difference between a "Texture" and an "Image". A texture is used only by the material and it determines the render output. A texture can use an image, but it can also be something autogenerated like "Clouds" or "Blend". What you see mapped to your object in the viewport can only be an image datablock, and it can be something completely different from the render result.

It works like this so that you can work on any image you want, regardless of what the material is. If the image you are working on in the viewport is the same image you assigned as a texture for the material, then the viewport and render result will be the same. On your screenshot the white cube means there is no image assigned to the cube in the viewport, but the autogenerated "Wave" texture is visible in the render result. (The reason it's purple is another story, but i can explain that later)

3. To assign an image to work on for the cube, first unwrap the cube (for more details on how to do that, look in the manual HERE). After you have some UV coordinates, go into the UV/Image editor and assign an image while in Edit Mode. You can select Image->New to make a blank new image, or Image->Open to browse for one. Now the image should appear in the viewport and you can texturepaint it however you want.

If nothing appears, make sure that the viewport shading mode is set to "Textured", or you can enable the "Textured Solid" checkbox in the right-side panel (Toggle it with the N key). "Textured Solid" enables textures in Solid mode too, to save you some hassle.

Update:
If you want to assign that image to use as a texture for your material, pick "Image" instead of "Wave" from the texture's dropdown list. Then, next to "New" and "Open", click the little image icon to browse ID data and pick your image from there. Now it should appear when rendering too. Images are stored as "ID Data" so that they can be accessed from anywhere. ID data can also be "packed" inside the .blend file itself, so that when you open it, all textures etc. are included and you dont have to bring all the external files with you.

Hope this was a good explanation.