slow slow slow slow ... slow interface.

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

tetsuoii

slow slow slow slow ... slow interface.

Post by tetsuoii »

I downloaded Blender 2.25 and installed it on my reasonably fast pentium 133 with accelerated Mach64 gfx card under linux... Hey, I know my computer is not state of the art, but the pulldown menus in Blender are really beyond justification.

When I click the programs menu, the program spends one full second drawing two triangles(!) on which the menu/choices thereafter appears.

C'mon! It's a simple rectangle! *Being a coder myself* I know exactly what it takes to clear a rectangle on the screen! >>> It's a very *very* simple operation.

Having seen Blender in action on faster computers, and I know that Blender technology is cutting edge in many aspects. It is truly a shame that such a powerful modelling and animation package is marred with such abysmal interface lag.

I know you all running really nice fast computers, but please consider my view... The program guzzles 133 Million cycles per second doing absolutely nothing! Thats more than a million times more than necessary in order copy a rectangle! In 3D graphics optimizations are second to none, obviously being process intensive!

tetsuoii, just trying to help, that's all....

Pablosbrain

Post by Pablosbrain »

I have the same issue on a nice fast 1.5ghz system with a gig of ram and crappy video drivers.. the interface could be a lot faster...

theeth

Post by theeth »

You downloaded the dynamic or static version?

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

Pablosbrain

Post by Pablosbrain »

I'm on windows 2k.

theeth

Re: slow slow slow slow ... slow interface.

Post by theeth »

tetsuoii wrote:I downloaded Blender 2.25 and installed it on my reasonably fast pentium 133 with accelerated Mach64 gfx card under linux...
yes, but not him

Martin