idea: sculpt function in editmode

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

@ndy

idea: sculpt function in editmode

Post by @ndy »

sculpt function

just had some idea which would - in my opinion - improve and speed up the modeling process in blender. 8)
this is basically a shortcut around PETmode > select vertex > move along the normal.
it's a bit similar to sculpting in zbrush.

this is what the blender user does:
- enter editmode with tab
- start sculpt function [with another shortcut key... what about k?]
- the cursor transforms into a circle [like border select #2]
- by pressing LMB the vertices in the circle move along the face normals in negative direction [push] and with alt+LMB positive [pull]... somehow... but maybe they should move in the zbuffer direction according to the camera? [could be more useful]

i try to explain how it should work internal in blender. i'm no coding expert though so forgive me if it's too rough or even wrong. :(
- starting the sculpt function calls the PETmode
- the closest vertex to the middle of the circle selection becomes the selected vertex, the moving operation goes along its normal values
- the normal scaling [that thing started with alt+s] is being called.
- pressing LMB causes the active vertex to be moved, the other vertices in the circle are moved relative to the active vertex and the circle radius.

i'm sorry, this sounds really weird, well... it's a very rough idea. if it wasnt clear i'll try to explain it further.
as i said, moving along normals could be replaced with moving in zbuffer direction [but i dont know if that exists :-?]

well... what do you think?

.andy

hannibar

Post by hannibar »

sounds a bit like displacement mapping, only without displacement map.

niket

Post by niket »

It is not like displacement map it is differ from that in terms of modeling speed (And flexibility) we achive from proper use of this.

matt_e